Fiction logo

listen to the wind

She woke up after almost 3 hours

By testPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

It took about three hours for her to wake up. When I woke up, I tidied up a little, and another five minutes passed. During this time, I crossed my arms and gazed at the thick cloud that was floating on the horizon, and saw it changing shape and moving eastward.

After a while, when I turned, she had pulled the towel over her lap, wrapped her body, and stared at me like a tree, while suppressing the lingering smell of whisky in her stomach.

"Who... are you?"

"Do not you remember? "

She just shook her head.

I lit a cigarette and pulled one to persuade her, but she ignored me.

"explain! "

"Where to start?"

"From the beginning! "

I don't know where my head is or what to say to get her to figure it out. Maybe a perfect start, maybe a loss. I thought about it for ten minutes and said:

"It was hot, but I had a good time today. Swim in the pool all afternoon, slept in the house for a while, then finished dinner. It was past eight. Then drove out. I parked on the road by the sea, it sounded like Tape recorder, see the ocean. This kind of thing happens all the time.

"Half an hour later, I suddenly want to meet me. I want to see Haizhi people for a long time. The more people I see, the weirder. Therefore, I plan to go to a jazz bar. To good friends. But those people weren't here. So poured it myself and drank three beers an hour."

Having said that, I silently knocked the incense ash into the ashtray.

"By the way, have you seen The Cat on the Hot Tin Roof?"

She didn't respond, looked at the ceiling, wrapped in a towel, as if she had caught a mermaid princess ashore.

I continued:

"In other words, whenever I'm drinking alone, and thinking about it, my head quickly clicks and lights up. It's not possible at all. There was no sound. So after a while , I was disturbed and called the man's house and tried to pull him out for a drink. The lady picked up the phone. It's unbelievable that the kid doesn't have this kind of behavior. No matter how drunk you bring 50 women into the house, no matter how drunk they are , they will all answer their own calls. Got it?

"Pretending to be wrong, I apologized. I was a little unhappy when I put it down, and I don't know why. I drank another beer, but it was uncomfortable. Naturally, I felt a little silly, but it didn't work. I drank the beer and gave it to Jay Chou Called, paid the bill, prepared to go home and read the article in advance, and fell asleep after listening to the conclusion of the baseball game. Jay asked me to wash my face. He trusted me to drink a case of beer and washed my face before driving. No way, I went to the bathroom to wash my face I'm not going to wash my face, frankly. Just a show. Most bathrooms don't have water, there is a puddle of water, and I don't bother to come in. To my surprise, I fell on the floor last night without water. .”

She sighed and closed her eyes.

"Did you get off the bus?"

"I held you, took you out of the bathroom, and asked the guests in the room if they knew you. But I didn't know anyone. After that, Jay and I took care of your wounds. "

"Wound?"

"When I fell, my head hit it. It's more expensive than the injury."

She nodded, reached out from the rag, and gently pressed the wound with her fingertips.

"I can discuss with Jay what to do. The conclusion is that I will drive you home. Put down your handbag and you will see a rich variety of foreskins, keys and business cards sent to you. I will use yours. Money paid. Drag you here according to the detailed address on the card, open the door and help to have a relationship. That's it. The receipt is in the wallet."

She took a deep breath.

"Why stay?"

"Why didn't you subside immediately after you sent me back?"

“I had a friend who died of acute alcohol poisoning. After a swig of whisky, I said goodbye, went home refreshed, brushed my teeth, put on my nightgown, and went to bed. But in the morning, it got cold and passed away .. the funeral mood is very high.”

'. So you've been watching over me all night? "

"I wanted to go home around 4, but I fell asleep. I wanted to wake up in the morning and go home, but I gave up. "

"Why?"

"I think at least it should be because of what happened to you."

"I am anxious! "

Her words hurt. She shrank her neck and ignored it, looking at the sky.

"I... what did you say?"

"bits and pieces. "

"What's the matter?"

"Huh, but forgot. No big deal."

She closed her eyes and made a muffled sound in her throat.

"Where's the name card?"

"In the handbag."

"see it? "

"is not it? "

"Why?"

"No need to look!" I replied, not interested.

There was something in her tone that made me uneasy. But, in addition, she brought me tenderness and nostalgia. If we met under normal circumstances, I think we might have a good time.

But in fact, I don't remember going through a girl under normal circumstances.

"What time is it?" she asked.

I breathed a sigh of relief, stood up and saw the electronic alarm clock on the table, poured a glass of water, turned around and left to go home.

"It's nine o'clock."

She nodded weakly, stood up straight, leaned against the wall, and drank water in one breath.

"Did you drink a lot?"

"All right. If faith dies."

"Just one step away from death."

She took out the tobacco by the bed and lit it. She sighed, exhaled, and threw matchsticks at the harbor from the open window.

"pass. "

"How's it going?"

She took a breath and closed her eyes again. "Anything, please, don't ask me."

He opened the suit cabinet opposite the bed, hesitated a little, and handed him a blue sleeveless dress. She didn't even wear a bra, she slid in, pulled the zipper on her back, and sighed again.

"I have to leave."

"where are you going? "

"I'm going to work! "

She said in annoyance, and staggered to her feet from the bed. I still sat in front of the bed and watched her wash her face and comb her hair bewilderedly.

The house is very clean, but there is a helpless chill, and the mood is a little heavy at the moment.

About six tatami mats should be filled with affordable furniture, and there is only one person lying in the remaining space. She stood there combing her hair.

"What kind of job? "

"What's with you?"

correct.

After the smoke burned, I pretended to be deaf. With her back to me, she just looked at the bathroom mirror and followed the halo under her eyes with the tips of her fingers.

"What time is it?" she asked again.

"After ten o'clock."

"There's no time, then put on your clothes and go back to your house!" He said, and gradually sprayed the eau de toilette under his armpits. "Of course there is a house, right?"

I said "the same", still sitting on the edge of the bed in a t-shirt and looking out the window again.

"where are you going? "

"Around the port. How to say it?"

“Don’t be late for me to drive you. She clenched her hair in her hands, looked at me with one eye, and was about to cry.

If I could cry, I think my heart would be happy. But she didn't cry.

"Well, keep that in mind. I'm really drunk. So it's my responsibility if something unpleasant happens."

Saying that, she brushed the palm of her hand a few times with a brush for almost office work. I can quietly, waiting for her again.

"is not it? "

"Maybe. "

"But a man sleeping with a fainting girl... is worthless!"

"But I didn't do anything!"

She paused, as if to calm his excitement.

"Then why should I be naked?"

"You took it off yourself."

"don't trust me."

She threw the hairbrush beside the bed, and stuffed a few wallets, lip balm, headache medicine and other odds and ends in her handbag.

"Can you prove that you really did nothing?"

"Check it out for yourself."

"How to inquire?"

She seemed really angry.

"I swear."

"don't trust me."

"Only believe." I said, feeling very uncomfortable.

She said nothing, kicked me out the door, and locked the door herself.

Everyone quietly walked along the path by the river to the parking lot.

She walked suspiciously around the car as I wiped the windshield with a tissue, staring at the white-painted bull's head on the bonnet. The cow wore a big nose plug and smiled with a white rose in its mouth. Happy to be impolite.

"Did you draw it?"

"No, the original owner."

"Why draw a cow?"

what,--

She took two steps back, saw the bull's head painting, and was silent as if she regretted her small talk.

It's hot inside the car. She didn't say a word until she reached the harbour. She just tried wiping the rolling sweat with her hands, sucking—more than once, two or three times. When she saw the lipstick on the filter mouthpiece, she immediately stuffed it into the ashtray of the car body, and took out a piece of tobacco to set it on fire.

"Hey, what were you talking about last night?" she asked suddenly as she got out of the car.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

test

test ok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.