Fiction logo

Kryier Cross Lake

Wisps of Scotland

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Kryier Cross Lake
Photo by Gage Walker on Unsplash

An ambulance and police cars race past us on the leaf fallen road. My head was pressed against the glass of the car. I was focusing on the quiet falling of mist. It was falling just enough to give the world a creepy luster. Kind of reminded me of a scary camping movie. My name is Rain Fallon Wilder, my family just moved to a small town of Kryier, Scotland. It was a huge change in pace considering I lived in the city majority of my life. My father Kent was hellbent on going to Kryier Cross lake to camp. I was less than thrilled.

We pulled into the camping area and were met with flashing lights. An officer was standing by directing traffic. My father rolled down the window, "Good Morning Officer," He greeted him "Is everything alright?"

"'Fraid not, a teenager was found at the bottom of the lake here, we are combing to ensure there aren't more." the officer answered.

"Do you suspect foul play?" My father questioned.

"We are still unsure, we'll know more once an autopsy is preformed." He answered.

My father nodded in understanding and was directed toward the camp ground away from the scene of tragedy. Different idea's sped through my head. It could have been foul play but then again I'm sure this is a go to for high school parties. It was mid October so there was no way he went swimming sober. How odd it was, I didn't start school until the following Monday and same with my father he officially started his COO position the same Monday. This was his idea of doing a camping trip before we officially started our lives here. I sighed with contempt, is it even safe to stay out here?

My father pulled the car into the camping spot and we proceeded to unload the camping supplies. Before long the tent was pitched and a roaring fire was going in the fire pit. The rest of the day is spent talking about expectations for our new town and such. Around 10:30 my father decided to hit the hay and I opted to tend to the fire for a little longer.

Around midnight the fire had started to burn low, the night was almost eerie and a dangerous chill hung in the air. I got up to head to the tent when something out of the corner of my eye caught my attention. A small wisp of light my attention. I had read about wisps in fairy tales but never considered them to actually exist. You know that saying, curiosity killed the cat, well I'm that cat. I followed it deep into the woods under the star lit sky which settled an alluring fog over the shrubbery that seem to haze my mind. I don't know how far or deep I went following this little blue fire of a light but I ended up at the same lake we drove by.

The fog settled above the water swirling this way and that. It was magical as other wisps seemed to dance and sway with the fog over the lake. Before I realized it I had moved waist deep into the dark murky water. I looked down to see a smiling sweet face that looked creepily like me. My mind said to get out of there but my body was in a trance and refused to move. Blue ghostly hands reached up never breaking the water surface coaxing me to follow them deeper into the waters. I heard familiar calls of a mans voice but it was like I was under water. I couldn't quiet make up what was being said. The voice was a muffled panic, was it my fathers?

I was hit with an urgency to breath in, my lungs were burning for air. I opened to gasp only to be met with the muddy slimy tastes of water. There was no way I submerged myself in this lake. My body began fighting trying to find any possibility of air. I was disoriented as I plunged deeper into the water. The wisp seem too follow me down into the deep giving me just enough light to see the numerous skeletons and decaying bodies at the bottom. I screamed and tried to fight harder to get to the top. Just when my body started to shut down due to the loss of oxygen. I felt strong arms pulling me from the water. I felt the hard ground against my back but my body refused to breath. My lungs cried out for air as they preformed CPR.

I awoke to the sounds ambulance and sirens drawing near. It was painful to breath in and out. In the tree tops past the concerned faces that surrounded me was a creature of the myths. I have to be hallucinating this, as the creature smiled a terrifying sadistic smile. Was this how that boy ended up in the lake was he coaxed by the wisps and this creature of legend. A Limnatide or lake nymphs was what they were commonly know as. I thought they were a myth, there was no way no one could not see it. Blueish gray skin, moss like hair, yet eerily beautiful. I was hoisted into the ambulance but I couldn't help but look back to the tree the Nymph was in. It was no longer there though, how odd I thought, no way I just imagined this. This would be the last time I would ever go to Kryier Cross Lake.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.