Fiction logo

I won the British bake off

Death by Chocolate Cake

By Jan PortugalPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
8

It actually started around 1829 in London with the muffin man and how after baking his morning batch of muffins, on Drury Lane. He packed them in a basket and carried a brass bell to walk the streets in the poor neighborhoods. He announced his wares by ringing the bell. delivering his hot muffins to the eagerly waiting customers. It was a story that captivated Misty’s four year old imagination when she first heard it.

She grew up listening to that nursery rhyme and the first song she can remember learning was, “Do you know the muffin man, the muffin man…” she drove everyone crazy repeating it over and over, so no one was really surprised when she gravitated towards a career as a baker.

Her mum taught her how to bake when she was eight years old. So bringing her classmates freshly baked muffins was a highlight even her teacher looked forward to, She proudly thought of herself as the Muffin Maid. She also loved boiled sweets and found creative ways to incorporate them into her now famous cakes. She loved what she.did and her cakes were loved even by those who were staunch pie eaters.

She opened a modest shop in Hertfordshire, named The Muffin Maid and soon became the hit of the town. Her signature cake was of course her double chocolate cake using dark and milk chocolate with dairy cream flavored with raspberry syrup filling. Moist and indulgent was what the judge on the Baking Show said. It was in fact the showstopper that eventually helped her win the Star Baker And lead to winning the whole bake off contest.

She was in the kitchen taking her latest creation out of the oven when she heard the familiar brass tinkle announcing a customer.

“Mr. Corbert, how are you today“she chirped. “I’m fine, I’m fine” he groaned leaning more heavily on his walking stick than usual. Misty sensed he was troubled as well as in pain.

“Come over here and sit down by the window.” She motioned with her hand. “I’ll bring you some coffee and a slice of lemon cake, your favorite”

”Ah you’re a fine lass you are,“ patting her hand. “Did ya hear the news?” Giving it a little squeeze before letting go. “Maybe, why don’t you tell me again” she loved flirting with Mr Colbert, a man in his 80’s who still had a lot flirtatiousness left in him.

”Well Bob Moss is gonna ask Melinda Beth to marry him on her birthday Sunday. What d’ya make of that?” She frowned “Now you won’t be spreading gossip will ya? Is it supposed to be a secret?”

Corbert shrugged his shoulders sheepishly avoiding her eyes, and finished his coffee and cake. “He said as he got up to leave “Now don’t you be tellin‘ nobody I told you, I just suspected he’d already been in to order her birthday cake ‘s all.”

”OK now be off with you and stop telling folks about it alright?”

Back in the kitchen Misty was preparing the cooled cakes for frosting when the door opened and rang the bell again. She wiped her hands on a towel and went out to see who it was.

“Howdy Misty” said Bob “How are you this beautiful morning?” She grinned at his chipper greeting and gave him a warm hug. She and Bob were high school friends they dated for a while but he was too much like a brother to be serious so they remained good friends.

”I have some news” his flashing green eyes were sparking. “So tell me before you bust” She said. He took off his jacket and slung it over the back of a chair. He pulled her close, twirled her around and gave her another big hug. “You know I’ve been seeing Melinda Beth Johnson for a while now, yea, so I’ve decided to ask her to marry me,” whaddya think of that, huh Mis?”

Trying her best to act surprised she blurted out, “That’s wonderful, it’s about time too.” Bob was two years older than Misty who was now 27. Truthfully though as happy as she was for him she was a little sad that she hadn’t yet found herself a Bob, or Brian or Bill, it made her feel old. “It’s great Bob, I’m really happy for you.” She smoothed her apron and asked if he’d like something to eat or some coffee maybe?

He said “well I’m kind of in a hurry, I have some more errands and you were my most important one. I would like it if you made your special two toned chocolate cake for her birthday?”

She smiled big and proud and said “Of course, I’ll put some extra love into it”

“That’s fine he said but I would also like it if you could find a clever way to bake the engagement ring in it so when I cut the perfect slice for her she’ll find it.

Misty put her mind to work thinking of a way to do it and keep it artistic. The idea to encase the ring in one if her boiled sweets, maybe shaped into a clear red rose so the ring shown through. But big enough not to choke on if accidentally swallowed. “Ok I have it, you leave it to me, so you’ll need it in two days, what time is the party?” “Three o’clock at my place, you still have my address right? You’re coming of course.”

Surprised she stammered ”Uh..of course.” His excitement was contagious. “Oh yeah, there’s a friend of mine from Oxford coming, his name is Jerad Appleton, I really want you two to meet, he’s a ripping nice fellow, I told him all about you and he’s excited to meet you.” And before she could object he was out the door leaving the tinkling brass bell to declare he was gone.

I have a lot to think about she mused. Oh No, he forgot to leave the ring. Just then the door opened again “I forgot to give you the ring,” handing a red velvet ring box to her, and rushed out the door.

She spent all day Saturday working on her masterpiece, grating the dark Belgium chocolate, and combining the Crème fraîche with cream cheese and freshly made raspberry syrup, then added a touch of cherry heering to the mix. She also added a small spoonful of instant espresso coffee to the dark chocolate batter, just enough to not overwhelm the milk chocolate frosting. It was pure Alchemy.

The clear red boiled candy was poured into a small rose candy mold, just big enough to hold the ring but too big to accidentally swallow and choke her. When it was cool enough she dropped the two carat, French Cut Pavé Diamond Ring into the underside of the still warm candy. Perfect you could see it clearly sparkle, it was magical.

The cake was her most beautiful yet. She put it in the refrigerator to chill overnight, closed up shop and went home.

Bob arranged to pick it up the next day so he could put it in his own refrigerator, and present it to her after they had a late lunch. He was fixing wild caught salmon, asparagus, a butter and herb rice pilaf and green salad. Misty chimed in “That sounds lovely, my taste buds are doing a river dance on my tongue, I can hardly wait.

Three o’clock came and Misty showed up in her best boho outfit excited at the prospect of meeting Jared Appleton. She loved those Oxford Boys. Hmmm she thought to herself Misty Appleton, has a nice ring to it.

Bob answered the door to let her in, once inside, a large aggressive Black Russian Terrier rambunctiously jumped at her knocking her hard against the door. Misty, not a dog lover at all, felt under attack and screaming “get him off of me” convinced she was going to be chewed into bits. “JASPER down,” Melinda squealed and grabbed the nasty thing by the collar and pulled him off her. Misty, shaking, tried not to break out crying especially in front of a stranger. Rob apologized and asked Melinda to tie him up in the kitchen till after lunch. Melinda was calming Jasper telling him he was a bad dog and to settle down on her way to tie him up.

Bob’s house was very small as most houses in East Hertfordshire are. There was a small upstairs bedroom, and a tiny living room where Bob moved the kitchen table and chairs for their lunch. It looked absolutely delicious, “I’m starving” she said, putting that horrible incident out of her mind. Bob said “Jared’s train was late and he called from the station to say he’s on his way.”

Melinda Beth was a tall ravishing brunette, it was easy to see why Bob was smitten, in spite of her horrid taste in dogs. She spoke in a sultry soft voice. “I’m really sorry about Jasper, he was left at my house when my looser roommate stiffed me on the rent and left Jasper as payment. I had to bring him or he sherds everything in my apartment if I leave him alone.”

The doorbell rang, it was Jared Appleton, Misty turned full face from her seat at the table. If there ever was a Prince Charming for real he couldn’t have been more handsome. From the way he was looking at her you could tell it was mutual. She almost lifted her hand to be kissed but stopped before she embarrassed herself. “Sorry I’m late, this looks terrific.” he said grabbing Bob’s hand, thanks for asking me. He handed Melinda a bouquet of multicolored Marigolds and said “Happy Birthday, Mel.” Bending over to kiss her cheek. Thank you Jared, they’re beautiful. Where did you find so many varieties this late in the season? She put them in a vase and made them the center piece. It absolutely brightened the room.

Lunch was delicious and eagerly polished off in no time at all. The look of satisfaction was a happy sight for Bob who considered himself a budding chef. The chit chat during lunch was how Bob went on and on about what a wonderful baker I was and how much alike Jared and I were. “Bob tells me you won the British Bake off I was really impressed. “Yes, that was definitely a highlight, as a matter of fact I made the cake that catapulted me into winning the Bake Off, and ultimately opening my own shop.”

“I can’t wait to taste it” Bob stood up “well I’ll just go get it then, I set it on the counter to take the chill off. I’ll go get it.” Melinda got up I’ll help with the plates.” Clearing the dishes to make room. Misty looked over at Jared trying not to be obvious that she fancied him. He smiled and returned her gaze. The sound of dishes crashing to the floor and a scream from Melinda sent the couple to their feet and into the kitchen.

”What happened” Jared called out. Inside the kitchen, scattered all over the floor were the remnants of Misty’s perfect cake, no sign of the candy rose or engagement ring. Laying next to it was Jasper’s lifeless corpse. He had pulled the cake down from the counter and literally wolfed it down so fast he choked to death on the boiled sweet. A $2500 French cut pave diamond ring, that Melinda was completely unaware of stuck in it's throat. Jaspers death would require an autopsy to retrieve the ring. Bob decided to put off proposing for another day. It seems the mood had been broken.

Short Story
8

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.