Fiction logo

I have you with me in my year

You, with your infinite and profound heritage, have a unique taste of your own. The taste is not as gentle as a mother's love, but as intoxicating as the poppy. Soon after I came into the world, the journey of you and me kicked off ......

By Angela R BillipsPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
I have you with me in my year
Photo by Aniket Bhattacharya on Unsplash

  You, with your infinite and profound heritage, have a unique taste of your own. The taste is not as gentle as a mother's love, but as intoxicating as the poppy. Soon after I came into the world, the journey of you and me kicked off ......

  

  When I was a toddler and a teetotaller, I was already in contact with you. Mom and dad bought back tons of puzzles, sound letters, and rhymes, of all kinds. My mom and dad, who had hoped to expose me to phonics earlier, eventually cried and laughed after seeing me throwing pieces of puzzles all over the bed as toys. But no one knew that even though I was throwing them all over the bed and floor, an unknown seed had been planted in my young mind.

  

  After I went to kindergarten, my life with you was even more colorful. In class, we played phonics carousels and literacy games with our classmates. When I got home, I started to watch the animated version of the Four Great Books. But after all, I was still young, and my feelings after watching them were not as deep as they are now. I was just thinking about Pig Bajie, who was stupid, ugly, and lazy; about asking my parents to buy a "chicken feather duster" like Zhuge Liang's; about Lin Daiyu, who was so ladylike and gentle; about the "flower monk", who could dominate such a thick willow tree. . At that time, you, in my mind can only use the word "empty" to describe the two.

  

  It was not until a language class in the first grade that my true feelings for you burst forth. I raised my hand high in the air and tried to read aloud the new poem I had learned. The first line made me excited and I became more and more emotional. As I read, I felt like I was in the place where the grass, flowers, streams, and fish, the blue sky, white clouds, willow trees, and bridges were. In all the poems in the poem, there is nothing. After reading it, I was ecstatic. That time, I felt your presence. Teachers and classmates also gave me confidence with applause, encouraging me and my journey to continue.

  

  Now I still remember the summer vacation in the fourth grade, my mom and dad took me to Kaifeng, the ancient capital of the seven dynasties, and started our journey to Kaifeng for more than a month, and of course, you were always by my side. When I first arrived in Kaifeng, the architectural style there already touched my heart deeply: Chinese-style eaves, Chinese-style doors, and windows. Walking on the street, my little head never rested for a moment. In the clothing store, in addition to the clothes people often wear now, is a variety of styles of cheongsam; in the jewelry store, there are carved combs, hollow wooden vases, and a variety of bamboo chopsticks carved with poetry; into a teahouse, the door hung with shiny beaded curtains, hollow window pane, as if the root carving-like bench. Steeped a pot of Longjing, savoring, looking at the cup is spinning tea leaves, and remembered their various curiosity, and excitement in the day. I smiled, I think, this is where your charm lies.

  

  One day in sixth grade came to the Han Yuan monument forest, walking in the inscriptions, and could not help but think of a limerick:

  

  "Life bends and curves water, world affairs overlap mountains.

  

  The poems are so beautiful and strange that I have to take them seriously."

  

  When I read Lin Daiyu's "The flowers are gone and the sky is full of flowers, who has pity when the red fragrance is broken", I read out the poignancy, despair, and sorrow; when I read Du Fu's "When you are at the top of the mountain, you can see the mountains at a glance", I read out the grandeur, true feelings, and harmony; when I read Li Bai's "Born to be useful, a thousand gold scattered and come back", I read out the momentum, freshness. Sentimental. One is "like a pretty flower shining in the water at leisure, like a weak willow at action", one is "a poetic sage with a thousand years of history", one is "wine in a bottle, poetry under a hedge, will not be willing to finish this life".

  

  "Life is twisted and bent, world affairs are dreamy and fantasy clouds.

  

  The poetry is true and sincere, I have completed the whole tour."

  

  It was you who made me understand the true meaning of life.

  

  Now I have entered middle school, you are always with me, for so many years, how I want to say you a word: "Thank you!" You accompanied me to grow up and spent many boring times with me. You and I are like two ellipses, once in two very different spaces, I grew up and came into contact with you more and more. Being curious about you, I began to expand and eventually intersected with you in the same world. You already have a profound meaning to me, I do not know from which moment, I can no longer leave you.

  

  Time has passed, the years have passed slightly, and I am no longer an ignorant child. I understand that you, the culture of infinite depths and profundity, are not only my favorite but also the pride of our Chinese nation, the pride of Chinese civilization.

  

  Culture, thank you for spending these spring and autumn with me, I believe I will have the most fulfilling and meaningful time. You are the ray of sunshine that I won't let go of in my years!

 

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Angela R Billips

Reading is the best learning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.