Fiction logo

How libraries changed my life (and how they can change yours)

Do you know what you're missing by not going to libraries?

By steven harrisonPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

I looked around the library and couldn't help but feel a sense of nostalgia. The familiar scent of books mixed with the sound of turning pages and hushed whispers brought me back to my childhood. It was in a library like this one where my love for reading had begun.

As a child, I had been an avid reader. I spent every spare moment I had with my nose buried in a book. But as I got older, life got in the way, and I found myself with less and less time to read. It wasn't until a few years ago that I rediscovered my love for books.

It had been a particularly stressful day at work, and I needed a break. I remembered the library that was just a few blocks away and decided to pay it a visit. As soon as I stepped inside, I felt my worries melt away. It was like I had stepped into another world, a world where anything was possible.

I walked down the aisles, running my fingers over the spines of the books, and feeling a sense of excitement build up inside me. It was like I was a kid again, discovering the magic of books for the first time.

That day, I picked up a book and started reading. And before I knew it, hours had gone by. I was lost in the pages of the book, and I didn't want to leave.

Since that day, I've made it a habit to visit the library whenever I can. It's become my sanctuary, a place where I can escape from the world and get lost in the pages of a good book.

But it's not just about the books. Libraries play an essential role in our society. They provide access to information and resources for everyone, regardless of their background or financial situation. They offer a safe and welcoming space for people to gather, learn, and grow.

According to a recent study, libraries are perceived as positive and useful places by 77% of Americans. And it's not hard to see why. Libraries offer a wide range of services, from lending digital books to helping with homework and hosting cultural events.

As I looked around the library, I couldn't help but feel grateful for all that it had done for me. It had helped me rediscover my love for reading and had become a haven for me in times of stress and uncertainty.

I knew that there were others out there who could benefit from the library's services as well. And so, I made it my mission to spread the word about the library and all that it had to offer.

I started by telling my friends and family about my positive experience. And before I knew it, more and more people were visiting the library and discovering its magic for themselves.

I also decided to become a volunteer at the library, helping out with various events and programs. It was a small way for me to give back to the place that had given me so much.

And as I looked around the library once more, I couldn't help but feel proud of all that it had accomplished. It had changed my life, and I knew that it could change the lives of others as well.

So if you're reading this, I urge you to visit your local library. You never know what you might find there, or how it might change your life.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

steven harrison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.