Fiction logo

Hot Flashes

The "Change" with friends & Cannabis!

By Jacqueline GabriellePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Chapter 13 Hot Flash

Angela woke up at 3:30 in the morning. While she was in the kitchen, the scent of baking things was escaping the kitchen and drifting upstairs. Upstairs the aroma of cinnamon and coffee roused her guests. Jay and Jean dressed and headed downstairs to the kitchen. There they found homemade cinnamon buns, hot coffee, fresh fruit and bacon. They fixed their plates and joined Angela, who was sitting on the porch reading the newspapers.

“Mornin' ladies,” she said cheerfully. “Good morning to you,” they sang back in chorus. “This is a wonderful breakfast,” Jaye complimented, munching on a strip of bacon. “She loves anything with bacon,” added Jean, “it is delicious though.” “You all would enjoy anything you didn't have to cook,” chuckled Angela. “That may be true,” said Jaye, tearing her cinnamon bun in half, “but nobody can beat your breads and pastries.” “Cause I cook 'em with love,” stated Angela proudly. “Mmmm,” agreed Jean, taking a bite of her bun, “you can taste it.”

As the wimmin sat on the porch, exchanging sections of the newspaper in between licking frosting from their fingers. A maroon Jeep© parked in front of the fishing boy. A suntanned wommon, wearing a straw cowboy hat an dark Raybans© was behind the wheel. She opened the door of the vehicle, a pair of tanned and toned legs stretched out. The five foot ten wommon sauntered to the rear of the SUV and bent over the tailgate. Her muscular arms lifted out two baskets.

Jaye watched as the wommon came up to the porch. She was wearing cut off jeans, a multi-colored bathing suit top and sneakers. Her hair was pulled back into a ponytail underneath her hat, wisps of hair framing her face.

Jaye felt herself starting to get warm. “Hey Angela,” she started, “do you have any flax milk in the kitchen? I think I feel a hot flash coming on.” “Awww gurl, that ain't no hot flash. That's Daisy! Come on in Daisy,” welcomed Angela.

Chapter 14 Daisy

Daisy strode onto the porch, balanced on two shapely, long, tanned legs. The wimmin could not help but to watch in silence. “Daisy, this is Jaye Farmer and Jean Jones, two of my best friends from Orlando,” introduced Angela. “Ladies this is Daisy Darling.” “It was a cruel joke by my parents,” explained Daisy, “they thought it was cute.” “It is,” said Jaye. “It does make a great name for my business though; Darling Daisy Produce.” “Yes,” agreed Jean, “it does make a great name.”

“Here's the produce you ordered,” said Daisy, as she held up the two baskets. “Just go on in the kitchen and put one in the sink and the other on the little table by the compost can,” instructed Angela. Daisy made her way to the kitchen, talking as she went. “We grew some of these and our friends in Apopka grew the others. Be sure to let me know how the California Greens are. I hear it makes a great tea.” Daisy stuck her head out of the kitchen and winked at Angela. Who only smiled and went back to her crossword puzzle.

Daisy came out to the porch and announced that all was situated in the kitchen and she was headed out to make some more deliveries. “Aww child, why don't you sit down a spell and visit with us old lesbians? I made some of my famous brownies yesterday and I have got cold hemp milk in the fridge. Tell us about whom you're going to visit today. I bet you didn't even have any breakfast. I know you young folks, always running here and there and the last thing on you mind is stopping to eat right. Sit down, eat some fruit and I'll make you a little package to take with you.” “Miss Angela, I would not begin to argue with you,” relented Daisy. Sh started to make a small plate of fruit and bacon.

“Daisy,” began Jaye, “have you signed the medical marijuana petition?” “There's a petition for that in Florida?” asked Daisy. “Oh yes, “ said Jaye, “let me run upstairs and get you a few. Maybe you can give then out to some of you customers?” Jaye was up the stairs in a flash. “Is she always like that?” Daisy asked Jean. “Like what?” “So...prepared,” Daisy explained. “Jaye is a medical marijuana advocate, that means she is always ready with something to give someone about cannabis. She says it's her calling.” “Oooohkay,” Daisy said tentatively. ”I've never known a medical marijuana advocate.” “There's no money in it, no praise, only the warm fuzzy feeling of working to make something good in the world. You know?” “Yeah, I do. Like with my garden and me. It's only a half-acre, but I really have a knack for growing things and I love healthy food. I like to know where my food came from. I don't really make any money from it, mostly I barter.”

“Here you are,” sang Jaye. It always cheered her up when she got the opportunity to share cannabis information with someone. Daisy took the little stack of pamphlets and petitions and gave her a hug. Jean stood up and hugged Daisy too. It was a pleasure meeting you Daisy,” stated Jean. “I'm sure we'll be seeing lots of each other,” Daisy responded.

Just then, Angela emerged from the kitchen with a brown paper bag and a mason jar of hemp milk. “You bring my jar back when you're through missy,” directed Angela. Daisy gave Angela a big bear hug and replied, “Yes, mam.” Then she was off. Skipping merrily down the path to her jeep, pony tail swinging as she went, hips keeping a beat of their own. “Yep,” said Angela, “that girl will bring on the hot flashes. Somebody hand me my fan.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.