Fiction logo

Hopeless Romantic

A Marigold Story: Part Two

By Kohl YoungerPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1

Tiffany wanted to walk and think. Kevin turned himself in to his parole officer yesterday. Tiffany went back to Billy’s house. She was thinking about what she was going to say to him. She had her phone off since she left with Kevin. But she called from her mom's landline and told him that she needed time to think about her life and she would talk to him tomorrow.

Kevin went with Tiffany to see her mom. They stayed at her mom's house the second night that he been out of prison. They visited and had a conservation about Tiffany's relationship with Kevin and Billy. Tiffany made the decision to be with Kevin. Tiffany’s mom lectured them on being together and sharing genuine love. Tiffany's mom was also being a mediator between Tiffany and Kevin. Tiffany’s mom didn’t know Kevin that well before he went to prison. But she knew that Tiffany was hurt because he went away. She stayed with her mom the first year and half. In the beginning Kevin was calling every other day. After the first year Kevin told Tiffany that he had a hard time being in a relationship with her because he thought she was cheating on him. She understood because their relationship had been rocky. She did not intend to cheat while he was locked down. She didn't get with Billy till after they broke up, but she did mention something to Kevin about a co-worker.

“Like your mom said, I need to want to honor you as a woman wrong or right.” The words from Kevin replayed in her mind as she arrived at Billy’s house.

“The marigold flowers, babe, I read a book about them.” She replayed that part of the conversation they had before he turned himself in.

“Damn, I am going to have to face this guy and his child.” She sighed as she thought to herself. She was looking at the house from her mom’s car.

“Do you want me to go in with you? Do you want me to wait? I can wait honey.” Her mom said.

Tiffany looked at her mom and smiled. She felt so loved by her mom at this moment.

“Yes, please wait for me, this is going to be hard for me. Do you think I am doing what is right?” Tiffany said.

“Follow your heart honey. Sometimes people get hurt but most importantly, if they love you, they will want for you that makes you happy.” Her mom said.

“Yeah, Billy is a good guy. He has everything I ever wanted, but my heart is with Kevin.” She sighed.

“Well, I am going to go handle this, mom. Thank you.” She looked at her mom and gave her a hug. Her mom embraced her with the utmost love she could possibly give in this moment.

“Hey baby, just know I will always be here for you no matter what. Ok. Be strong honey. And stick to your decision. Don’t play games. People get hurt when you play games. I love you. I will be right here waiting ok.” Her mom said.

“Ok.” Tiffany said. She got out of the car and walked up to the door.

Billy opened the door. He didn’t say anything to her but walked into the kitchen. He sat down at the table. He had him a cup of coffee and a cup of coffee for her waiting. He must have been watching the surveillance cameras to make sure her coffee wasn’t cold because she could see the steam come off the top of the coffee.

She came in and walked into the kitchen. He took a sip of his coffee looking at the window.

She sat down. She felt bad, but she thought I cannot feel too bad.

“Where your car? You let your convict ex-boyfriend take it?” He said and took another sip.

“UH. That’s a low.” She said taking off her coat and putting it to rest behind her on the chair.

“Yeah, I know, and I do not have to lower my existence to feel bitter or to have any attempts to convince you to stay with me.” Billy said. He looked at her with his elbows on the table and hands together underneath his chin. He got up and walked to the window.

Kevin: “I could have given you all of this because I love you. I thought about what I was going to say to you when you came back. My daughter kept asking where you were. That is what killed me inside. I had to explain to her that we as human beings have hard decisions to make that can hurt others.

Tiffany: Kev-.

Kevin: Ha, Tiffany I am not stupid I knew you was with him. I mean I been through similar before with my ex-girlfriend. I do understand Tiffany.”

Tiffany grabbed the napkin to wipe her tears. She felt really bad about his daughter Mari.

“I didn’t mean this to happen, I do love you and Erica. It just that I have a strong bond with Kevin and when he showed up it re-sparked that feeling. I know I went about it in the wrong way.” Tiffany said.

“No, you didn’t go about it in the wrong way. You went about it in a way that you understood to be righteous. Look Tiffany, my main concern is my daughter and always will be. Yeah, I could have went looking for you, I could have confronted Kevin and fought him over you. But at the end of the day my daughter needs me. I know the life you come from, and I have cousins who have and been in that life. I know what it is. And I will always love you, Tiffany. As a friend and how we met, and even if we can’t be friends just know that I am here, but my daughter is my priority. Like your mom sitting in the car waiting for you, we love our children.” He walked back to the table and sat down. It made her think about Billy's mom and what she thought about them breaking up.

Tiffany was listening and thinking about how mature Billy was to this situation. Relationships and break ups are never easy. It made her second guess her decision. In turn she wanted to see if it would work with Kevin. She wanted to see if it would work and give Kevin the chance to transition back into society. She didn’t know if Billy was going to forgive her and she didn’t know if Kevin would forgive her, but she needed to know.

Billy seen the look that made him fall in love with her. He stared at her.

Tiffany: What?

Billy: Tiffany, I am always going to love you and like DMX said let it go if it comes back to you then it's yours. I guess this is that type of situation. I learned that I cannot control people in my life and can only control my life and how I feel about things. And I do love you Tiff. I will be here waiting for you.

Tiffany stood up and felt her heart skip beats because she found it so loving what he just expressed to her. It was like her universe jumped into another universe that she was not familiar too. She needed to leave. She felt the desire to touch him and be near him. He was there when Kevin was not. She felt changed but she needed to see what this possibly held for her life.

Giving Kevin another change is what she promised but with that promise didn’t come the betrayal when she at the time felt like she would have remained faithful, but she was feeling lonely and met Billy at her work. She quit her job a month ago. She was a real estate agent.

Tiffany: Look, Billy I am used to things going bad in relationships. I see you and I see a man that does understand where I’m coming from and that is rare.

She walked up to him close. She was staring deep into her eyes. She reached for his hand. She interlocked her fingers with his fingers. Her eyes darted slowly across his being as if he was a whole another world. Her eyes gracefully came back to his and he brought his world toward his but she put her other hand up to stop him from entering that last boundary of space.

Tiffany: You showed me a lot, Billy. I appreciate you. (She whispers as she drew him in and kissed him)

He tried to wrap his hands around her, but she moved away from his attempt, and they stopped the kiss. She looked at him and shook her head. She grinned.

Billy: I mean if you ever need to get away and ya know. (He looked around as if indicating that she could get with him if she wanted too). He smiled. Tiffany also smiled.

Deep down Billy was hurt. He had genuine love for her, and memories flooded his brain while she was gone, and he didn’t get good sleep even though he stuffed it deep down inside himself and cried when no one was around. He would never admit it.

Tiffany: I need to pack the rest of my stuff. My mom is outside waiting for me.

Billy: I packed it for you. (He took a sip of his coffee).

Tiffany: Thank you.

Billy: I was mad. Sad. Maybe a little glad. (She looks back at him because while he is saying this she is walking away.) Just kidding. Damn it Tiffany! This really sucks. (He was nodding his head as he followed her in the hallway.

Tiffany: Where is it at?

Billy: It's in the back living room. (They were both heading in that direction). I’ll help you carry it out.

Tiffany: Thank you. (They both grabbed a bag for each arm and walked outside.

Tiffany's mom rolled down the window when she seen Billy come outside.

Tiffany's mom: Hey Billy how are you?

Billy looked up and said: I am hurt today.

Tiffany's mom: Yeah, we all been through it, go through it, one way another in our lifetime. I like you Billy you are a good man and whomever walks into your life will be a lucky woman.

Billy: Thank you Mrs. I just wish it was Tiffany, but I told her I’ll be waiting for her. (He looked at her and she gave him a look while she turnt her hip at him.

Tiffany: Bags please.

Billy handed her the bags and smiled at her. She shook her head.

Billy: Your mom likes me.

Tiffany: I know. (She put the bags in the back and shut the trunk.) Well, I guess this is it Billy. (She looked at him).

Billy: For now. (He smiled with a sparkle in his eye).

Tiffany looked at him and shook her head again and then went toward the car door. Billy walked up on the yard toward the front car doors.

Tiffany's mom: Well, give him his last time kiss.

Tiffany: I already did.

Tiffany's mom: Billy, she’ll be back.

Tiffany: Mom! What the fuck! Don’t tell him that.

Billy: ahahahahha. Yeah well, I’ll be waiting right here for you, my love.

Tiffany: Lets go mom. Bye Billy. (She looked over at her mom then to Billy as she said bye.)

Tiffany's mom: Bye Billy, come by the house sometimes and visit.

Tiffany looked over at her mom in disbelief. Tiffany's mom started the car.

Billy: I will only if it is cool with Tiffany. He looked at her.

Tiffany's mom was excited and was nodding her head at him.

Tiffany's mom: Ok Ok see you later Billy.

Billy: See you, love you, Tiffany. Bye. (He felt his heart drop.)

Tiffany could feel it. She felt a sudden sharp pain hit her heart that made her want to jump out the car. She fought it. She fought it with all her strength. A tear fell from her eye as Billy turned around and walked back into the house.

Love
1

About the Creator

Kohl Younger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.