Fiction logo

Hell Hath No Fury

Word Hunt Words: Hell, Scales, Ice

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
20
Image created with DALL-E Software.

You know that saying ‘when hell freezes over’? Well, apparently hell is the name of a dragon that breathes ice shards instead of fire. Who knew such a thing existed?

Well now I do and it's my job to vanquish this beast before he conquers any more of my kingdom for the sake of his mistress.

I thrust my sword toward him as the black-scaled monstrosity lunged at me.

His teeth bared and his nostrils flared as he took a deep breath in preparation for another blast of ice. Hell's sand-coloured chest and belly scales swelled as he reared up on his hind legs, eyes bulging in hungry excitement.

I hesitated for a moment, weighing my options only to throw caution to the wind as I ran full-scale at the beast. Sword poised as I am ready to plunge it into its ice-filled belly.

But before I can reach my target the beast swats me away like a fly.

I slam into the adjacent wall and scramble to get to my feet. Breathing heavily as I will myself not succumb to the pain and exhaustion.

Hell opened his mouth and breathed the sharp ice shards in my direction. 

I dove out of the way, clutching my sword in hand and scrambling to my feet. I ran at Hell slashing at his thick black scaly tail, but the pursuit afflicts no damage. He hardly seems to have noticed as he barely reacts, only turning towards me because he knows I’m there.

As Hell turns himself to face me once more, my sword is suddenly slashed from my hand by the undamaged tail I had just attacked.

Weaponless and witless, I backed away from the beast but not before he breathed ice shards in my direction again. His searing cold breath cut through the arm of my armour and burned more than I presume it would have if he’d breathed fire upon me.

Wincing in pain I fell to the ground and immediately began scrambling to get to my feet once more.

Out of ammunition, Hell paused for another deep breath in preparation to finish me off.

I searched for anything I could use as a weapon. Anything that might penetrate dragon skin.

The sharpest and closest things were the still frozen and extremely sharp ice shards. But even then they were just out of reach and there was no telling what might become of me if I touched them.

I glanced around at the pieces of my frozen, shattered, and fallen comrades. Being the last of my battalion, I was the kingdom's last hope at getting rid of Hell.

I threw caution to the wind one last time and lunged towards the shards. I wrapped my hands around the largest one I could reach. Then with the last bit of my courage, I ran at Hell and plunged the shard deep beneath the sand-coloured scales of his belly.

Blood began to ooze out of the scales, dying them a horrific shade of red. Hell cried out as I continued to thrust the ice shard deeper into his belly, using all my body to plunge it as deep as possible.

Hell thrashed for a moment before freezing both unexpectedly and abruptly.

The sound of ice cracking drew my gaze, to the dragon’s tail first which began to turn to ice. I followed the tracks as the ice made its way up his body, slowly moving toward where I held his ice shard. At this point, the dragon had burst into a thousand little pieces and shattered like glass. Showering me in the thousands of tiny ice shards that once was the dragon known as Hell.

Hell had officially frozen over.

I stood there in shock as the adrenaline began to wear off, I fell to the ground in a heap among the ice shards. Still clasping the original one in my hands, or so I thought.

As it turns out when I used my entire body to thrust the ice shard into his scales. I had accidently impaled myself, I could feel my extremities beginning to tingle with cold as I slumped over onto my side.

Looking down I saw the ice begin to make its way up from my feet, towards my ice shard. Laying there I accept death as an old friend and was ready to depart from this life. I closed my eyes and awaited the inevitable. But my peaceful hero’s death was interrupted by the shouting of a woman I did not recognize.

“My dragon!” She cried, running toward me and scooping up a few ice shards that were beginning to melt.

As my world began to fade, only one thought entered my mind.

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.

I smiled to myself at a mission accomplished, only slightly regretting that I’d never know the true meaning of this saying. Sighing in relief as I succumbed to my injuries and the ice overtook me.

Like this? Here's part 2:

Short StoryFantasyClassicalAdventure
20

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Zeeshan May9 months ago

    Thank you for the word hunt challenge! "Hell Hath No Fury" is a thrilling journey, where the scales of justice tip amidst icy moments, weaving an unforgettable tale of passion and resilience. 🌟🔥🌊

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I had somehow missed this one, Donna, so I'm glad you linked to it in the latest part! A witty and wonderful tale, written around two cliches! Clever and well done!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Loved this. Action from beginning to end. Very well done.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Came here from the part 2 you posted! I can’t believe I didn’t see this before! It’s so creative 😍😍😍

  • ema9 months ago

    Hi Donna, I really like this story with its unexpected twists! I didn't know about ice dragons and first discovered them in Game of Thrones. When one of Daneris' dragons is slain by the strangers and thus its power switches to their side, this time it spits ice instead of fire... I thought it was the author's invention, but apparently there are many ice dragons and I really like yours! Too bad he's dead, because I don't know... I was rooting for him in a way! 😊🐲

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Cool (no pun actually intended) little classical fantasy-thriller. Donna, I enjoyed your imagery and pacing that helped make the piece tense throughout. A wonderful short story! ☺️ ✨🗡 🐉

  • Roy Stevens10 months ago

    Haha! Loved that ending! You projected it to just the right degree with your title so that the reader knows something is coming but then you give it a tragi-comic twist that's so much fun. Great stuff Donna! I especially liked the bits of poetry like 'His teeth bared and his nostrils flared". Nice!

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Wow! I LOVED this! I adore the wordplay in this one Donna! Well done! 'Hell hath no fury like a woman scored!'

  • Donna! This was so good! I always look forward to your twists and surprises and you did not let down. Just when I thought the hero was lost, he won, then you took it all away, and the way you tied the two sayings together brilliantly well done

  • Test11 months ago

    Hell would be heaven if it had more dragons :) I love a dragon story and even better when they breathe ice instead of fire. Your story was so well written and captivating. This story takes the saying, 'what you do to others, you do to yourself' a bit literal lol.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    For some reason this made me think of the purple dragon in Disneys Sleeping Beauty. The Prince dying would have been a much better ending 😁

  • Oooo, it was so creative to have Hell freeze over by making Hell a dragon with Ice powers. This sorta reminded me of the first task in the Triwizard Tournament, Maleficent and also Frozen! This was such a cool (pun intended) story! I loved it so much!

  • Mark Gagnon11 months ago

    Donna, the story is great and the last couple of lines took me by surprise. I have no other way of contacting you so I have to tell you here. Check your tenses throughout the story and I think you may have meant accidentally instead of incidentally. Hope you understand.

  • Caroline Craven11 months ago

    Great story Donna!

  • Matthew Daniels11 months ago

    Ice dragons are my personal favorite. They're not usually black, but I'm here for it. Love your choice of image, and the parallel with glass. Using its own breath against it was also an unusual take on a classic dragon slaying story. Your ending was particularly good, with just a touch of humor when its "owner" showed up. Well done! ❤️🐉

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Hell froze over. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. The hell references are genius. You saved the world. TY. 💛💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.