Fiction logo

From Forest To Floor

The true account of an unreal experience.

By Axelle Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
From Forest To Floor
Photo by Jarred Decker on Unsplash

When I was about 10, I used to play in the woods across my fields all the time. They weren't very big woods, so I knew them WELL. One day up on the property line, I found a little "fort" that was naturally formed in the vines and brushes and that I could fit inside with room to spare. I had been pretending I was an explorer and was looking for a place to set up camp while I "mapped out the rest of my journey", how perfect?

I put my backpack and my sweater on the ground in the little vine cave and started to build a little "firepit" in front of it. I put rocks in a circle and built a pile of sticks in it. Then I laid out on my sweater and I guess I fell asleep in the fort...

I ended up in a breath taking and massive forest, trees bigger than I've ever seen, with hues of colors I had never seen before. And I met faeries there! They showed me around the forest and I was just so amazed by everything, the colors, the smell of the air, the feel of the moss under my feet, which were unexpectedly bare...

The faeries were beautiful too. They weren't much smaller than me (I'm pretty sure I was smaller in this place, hence the forest being so massive and the faeries not being small...) and they had the prettiest wispy opalescent stained glass wings. And their faces were PERFECT. Not human. But perfect. It felt like I was there for HOURS, all afternoon I danced and played with the faeries in this magickal forest, I ate and I drank with them, all this without speaking at all. Not verbally at least.

After a time, the faeries started to gather around me and and they came together and presented me with a gorgeous peachy yellow colored rock which seemed very special to them, and bid me farewell with hand holding and face caresses.

As I walked out of the forest into the clearing, the entrance became a bright light, and then I opened my eyes and I was laying in the grass in the field with the sun in my eyes, pretty far from where I had set up camp at the vine cave fort. When I walked back, the vine cave was gone. There was only my backpack and sweater and firepit. I WAS SHOOK to say the least, as a 10 year old who's imagination just went wild with no explanation. I couldn't really grasp what I had experienced or how. I didn't didn't remember falling asleep, I wasn't tired.

I packed up and walked back across the field to my house and kept it to myself because I didn't want my mom to worry that I hit my head or something stupid. I called my best friend and told her what I had experienced, and not only did she believe me, but she told me everything she'd ever read about the Fae Realm and about faeries and that they're real. I barely believed her, but I didn't know how else to explain my experience.

Later that night, I was getting changed into my PJ'S, and when I took my jeans off, they hit the floor really hard, and loud. I picked them up to see what it was and they were much heavier than when I took them off.

Wouldn't you know it, the peach colored rock was magically in my jeans pocket, when it was definitely not in there when I had them on right before this. There's absolutely no way this rock would have fit in my pocket while I was wearing the pants. Even as an adult this rock does not fit in my jeans pocket....

So, I called Kel back immediately and told her that the faerie rock had appeared out of nowhere. She told her mom, who told me to cleanse it with salt water and put it somewhere special where it's magick would be safe and happy. So I did. And I've had this rock near my bed everywhere I've lived ever since. I keep it beside a little cactus and some petrified wood I inherited from my witchy grandmother ♡

I haven't had an experience quite like that one since, but I HAVE been able to find that place in my meditations and when I lucid dream/ travel. When I go there I can always feel the fae around, but they don't come out as willingly as they did that first time. They haven't actually come out once since that time. I always feel their energy all around me, observing me from the canopy of the trees as I wander around respectfully.

To one day be continued...

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Axelle

Over-achieving empath, imaginative realist, sex positive witch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.