Fiction logo

Forgotten Below Alaska

rest Mo

By S.W.PPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

They are walking over me again. In the beginning I used to question how long it would go on. He's been dead for three months. Still every weekend is filled with heavy thuds breaking apart fresh snow. By the new year they will have worn a trail on the surface. I guess people were right when they told me grief was a weird thing. Fortunately, I was too young to lose anyone and now there's nothing left to feel.

A shadow taking the very little light I have breaks me out of drifting thoughts. I can't remember a time they brought anything more than themselves. Only sharing stories and wishes with their lost friend. Most of them being he'd come back. Gradually it disappears out of my sight and farther into the restricted area. Of course, since the incident, the mayor declared that no one was allowed access to that part of the frozen pond. Kids don't always listen very well, so they took extra precautions. I never knew who they talked to or if they did at all. It was never my business, but now there is curiosity coursing through me.

Perhaps they will stay late enough for me to catch the last of their visit. Most times I can hear remnants of conversations in the air the day after. For now though it must be something to ponder on later. It's Friday which means Hearan and the kids will be waiting for me to open. They must be freezing, who wouldn't during a winter in Alaska.

I rush to the surface and take off in a small jog down the back trail. Which leaves me to deal with the only thing worse than the harsh winds and tons of snow. Ice. Black ice. I've walked this path for seventeen years and I never fail to hit a patch. Falling has always shocked me. Expecting something that never comes. I'm grateful, but it's been a constant slap in the face. Only this time it actually came. The impact left my ribs aching as small gasps fell from my shivering lips. Why is it so cold? More so why can I feel everything?

Trying to not to waste another second lost on the pain I roll onto the snow. Not surprisingly, a bad idea as well. Each snowflake slowly melted and soaked into my clothes. By the time I stand up there are tremors racking my body. I forgot what it felt to be alive. What it felt to feel.

Unwillingly I trudge on for a long seven minutes with nothing on my mind, but questions. Questions that would probably go unanswered like the rest. Unable to stop and wonder because I was wired for a purpose. Since the moment I woke up under the ice all I could think about was taking care of the kids who came to the library. Each face and name engraved behind my eyelids before I'd even seen them. After meeting them it almost made sense. Six orphans who were treated poorly by their housing staff. Each one knew me in turn and greeted me with warm smiles, like I was returning to a long lost home. They needed me, and that's who I was.

By the time I make it to the steps of the library I'm hunched over using every ounce of body heat to keep myself from freezing. For a few seconds there is nothing else I could do, but stay in that position. Afraid my knees might give in if I tried to take a step forward. The smallest part of me hoping Hearan would be here to assist. Unfortunately there was no one, but myself and the howling winds.

Counting to three I lift my head and brace my legs for the first movement. Only I don't move at all. Before me is the charred sign for the Canterbury Orphanage with its screws barely hanging on the few boards left in the front. Panic sweeps through my limbs as I scramble up the stairs. Pale, red fingers stare back at me as I try to use the snow as leverage. All I could hope was they were still alive somewhere, but reaching the top left me even more shattered than before. The back half had been burned to ashes. They were all gone. Everything fell silent for a moment, until I was the wind. Each wail louder than the next while hot tears became cold and froze on my cheeks.

Exhaustion set in quickly. Gravity's hands guiding me to the icy clouds below. I am once again weightless surrounded by an aching numbness. There is a tiredness trickling beneath my eyes with silent pleas to give into the darkness waiting on the other side. A sliver of hope that I'll wake again the same as always to find them like I was supposed to. To maybe not wake at all. Every option limited, so I let go.

Instead of a void of water and ice greeting me I am lying sideways on cool concrete. Cautiously my eyes peek through damp eyelashes. Instant relief fills me when I realize Hearan is in front of me. Just as quick as it surfaces it's replaced with dread. His eyes met mine, a soft sadness lurking behind them. Without thinking I go to reach for him only to feel the tug of restrictions behind me. The overwhelming presence of fear and death now apparent. I've been here before

"Mo, can you tell me about the library again?"

His voice is so soft I almost don't hear it, but it brings my full attention back to him. The words rest on the tip of my tongue desperately wanting to cascade, yet they don't. His eyes start to grow dull and flutter close. Again I lost the chance to comfort him before his death.

Spontaneously I'm hauled backwards until everything becomes a mushed blur. Just as the speed becomes more rapid I come to a halt so forceful I double over. I'm back to where I started. The restricted area of the frozen pond, but now it's littered with others. Tents are placed among one side with black vans backed up to them. On the other are machines and even more people wearing scuba gear.

They were finally looking for his body, but why was I brought back? My eyes catch the black tarp off the side by the vans, answering my own question. All six of them were there with their eyes sealed shut. Barely recognizable with their sickly green skin stretched across their bones. I was at the very end making it seven.

A young hand takes mine and I find Hearan standing beside me. His eyes search for something before I hear the faint whisper in my ear.

"It's okay Mo, please come rest with us."

__________________

Examining the bodies the sergeant let's out a breathy sigh. They came out to retrieve the body of a teenager who fell in months ago. In turn they found the seven missing kids from fifty years ago. All tucked away in a tunnel constructed below the pond.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

S.W.P

a young writer finding their words, to let others live moments through me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.