Fiction logo

First days of the apocalypse

by Alan B Cole

By Alan B ColePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

It's a different story for everybody that made it. Most Just didn't. How and why it's really up for grabs. Sometimes I ask myself how I wasn't vaporized day one. It was a different time in a different world. Nobody thought, or even would let themselves think of the possibility of war in this modern age. Nobody could even allow themselves to think of the consequences of such things like that. Sure I thought about it but not very deeply as I really had no idea what to expect or even what to do. When the Shit came down.

I barely remember now. That day, that day that everything changed. Things must have reach their boiling point and the button was pushed. It should never have happened but it did. Because it could. Just like so many things do. For me it came down like this. My Internet was down. It was really hot outside but everything was fine. At least I thought in my mind. But in reality, that was the first sign of the beginning of the end. Some call it a new beginning. But they're all crazy as we all are now. In a flash everything changed. Our past lives were forgotten. I was in the perpetual now.

With the power out we quickly realized we were in trouble. As I was at the office at the time. I can call home everything's down. Car won't start nothing is working. I saw a friend of mine we talked, it went something like this. What's happening he said. I said the shit is hitting the fan man. Where are you staying. Giving me a somewhat confused expression, Dave says. Just up the road a few blocks. Let's go there an figure it out. Cars are not gonna start because of EMP. We discovered quickly. It's like the world slowed down. Walking is our primary mode of transportation. We walked by quite a few people on the way there. Some had expressionless faces, others holding their cell phones like things could go back to normal.

I stayed with Dave waiting for the fallout to clear out. But the radiation continued and the dust was so bad. We managed to build a Geiger Counter. The cloud chamber it seemed to work. It was a week or two before we can venture out. I wanted to go look for my girlfriend as she left just out of town. But it was all on foot now. I walked from grocery store to grocery store hoping to find a trace of my girlfriend. It was about 6 miles away. It looked dusty and the windows were broken. I saw people leaving the building. They were just taking a few things that were left which wasn't much. I went to the check out counter. The one she used to work at. All I found was her locket.

There wasn't as many people out as you would think. People were carrying weapons and others were just simply looking like they were on the edge of death. I went up the road. Somehow I got lost. Nothing looks the same anymore. It was getting dark and I had to go back. I was off the path, desperate for a shelter look's like it was starting to rain and it was dark. I found a car it was empty and unlocked. I locked it and fell asleep.

I didn't sleep well that night because I heard Thunder and lightning and shooting. I had a bad feeling that day. Running low on food and water or anything. I didn't get far as I was feeling sick. So I crashed out in an empty house the next day where I found some food. Luckily for me the water heater had several gallons of water. My thirst was quenched but I was so sad. As the gravity of everything hit me. I realized it would get harder every day.

A few nights later I went to another house. Things did not turn out nice. I was knocking on the door. The door opens and there was a gun in my face. He said drop everything. I complied. He said get the hell out of here. I walked aimlessly not knowing where to go. I was starving and shivering as the nuclear winter has set in. About three days later I was starving. But I was wondering about not knowing where I was as it was dark. And when it was, it was a pitch black dark. I found a car to sleep in. But when I was asleep, I was discovered. I woke to a rifle pointing at me. I was tide up. As the guy had camouflage and a large rifle. I knew I was in trouble. He just kept telling me to shut up. They took everything out of my pockets and discovered the Locket.

The Rifleman in the camo asked me about this Locket over and over. I finally explained it's my girlfriend's Locket and I haven't seen her for awhile. I was looking for her. The guy finally said looks like my sister's Locket. But I'm gonna keep you tight up until she tells me what to do with you. Out of a nearby house a girl in camouflage carrying a assault rifle. Walked towards me. It was Kathy. I can believe my eyes. She said her brother is a Guardsman, Things have been tough. And they're probably going to stay that way.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Alan B Cole

I live in Wilmington, North Carolina. Close to the beach. I just joined.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.