Fiction logo

Finding the Stench of Death exploring

What secrets did this old apartment complex hold?

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Finding the Stench of Death exploring
Photo by Aman Upadhyay on Unsplash

I found an awesome undisturbed apartment building. No graffiti or damage or at least minimal damage. I am alone once again on this exploration. I should have called a friend about how massive this place is. Guess I can get a couple of videos out of this one then.

I had to go in through the back patio to one of the apartments. The apartments still had some that was a studio and partially furnished. Other apartments were completely bare.

Two floors are almost the same in each space. Was just amazing. Did not have a lot for my YouTube channel when all the rooms were the same. But I kept going in hopes of finding something I could record for my channel.

Well, I think I got what I was hoping for. As soon as I got to all the back rooms they had items in the rooms like items or maybe homeless living in the rooms. They were very messy compared to the rest of the apartments. Think they were using the bathrooms and the plumbing is not working, so you can imagine the smell coming from some of those rooms.

As I walked down the hall I came across a couple of rooms that had women’s clothes in the rooms. Some of the clothes were in the closet which was odd since this place is abandoned. Guess some homeless were taking up residence in these rooms. Not sure how they could handle the smell and live here comfortably. I could not handle it for five minutes and they lived with the smell daily.

There were a few locked rooms that I decided to not bother with. If the homeless had been in the room at that time, I hear they can get very territorial, and I did not want to disturb anyone in their home. I did not want to get into a fight with them.

I kept walking down the hall and came across a woman who was sitting on the floor with her back against a bed. I asked her if she was OK, and she said she was just tired. I asked her if she wanted to go get something to eat. I Know living out in the streets, food and money are hard to come by. She asked me if I had any money. I said I had just a few dollars on me to get her something to eat, I just didn’t bring any more cash on me. She did not seem very happy. I asked her if she was homeless. She said she was a single mom and her husband had left her. I asked her if she had any children here with her now and she said she had two. I asked her if she was going to stay here for a while, and she said she was going to try to find a safer place to sleep. And one that did not smell so much. I told her I would help her find a place to stay. I told her I would take her to find a shelter if she wants for the night. She agreed to let me help her. I told her I wanted to look at something first and would come back and take her. I told her I would be back in a few minutes.

I went down the hall and went to find out what was smelling so bad because this was not just the typical smell of a homeless person. I went down the hall and saw a room that was locked. I knocked on the door and no one answered. This was where the smell was originating from. I picked the lock and went in. I learned a few things along the way doing urban exploring. When a door locks on you and no one is here to help you out, you learn to get yourself out of tough situations like that. I never use to break it to places that post no trespassing or businesses or things on that line, only for non-illegal purposes.

When I opened the door my eyes started to water from the smell. It was the smell of something rotting. I don’t know if it is animal or human but the smell is unbearable. Then I finally saw, something I have always dreaded to see on my explorations. A dead body. It was in the tub with a blanket covering most of it. The hand was hanging out and it was blackened. I just about threw up. I was not prepared for that.

I ran back to the room where the woman was and asked if she was ready. There had been no available shelters for her so I got her a hotel for two nights. Told her I could come back and check on her to see if she needs a couple more nights. Soon as I got back in the car I called the police. I told them I found a dead body. They were going to send a car too and I had to wait to write a report. I told them I just picked up a homeless woman here and took her to a hotel for the night, smelt that awful smell, and found the body. They took my statement and let me go.

This will not stop me from exploring, it is something I love to do. If I find more bodies, which I hope I never do again. I would be happy to get them out and maybe let the families know their family member was found. I would never hesitate to help in that type of situation. Just hope I never have to go through that again. I did not like it not at all.

I did not explain what I found on my YouTube channel, I never posted that video. That was privacy for the family. If they had a family. Still want to respect that body and not publicize their death.

Well, this is all that happened during this explore hope that you enjoyed my story. I was so glad I could help two people out on one explore. I never felt so alive as I did today. Makes a person feel good when they help others out. See you in the next one.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.