Fiction logo

Film or digital affection is the core

I have always been dissatisfied with that photo.

By AaronPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have always been dissatisfied with that photo. It's a portrait photo of my grandfather. Everyone in my family said it was very good. Later, I made a porcelain engraving based on that photo, but it was far from my grandfather in my memory.

I was brought up by my grandparents. For eight years around them, my memory is like a rock, unforgettable. The two old people have long been away from me, but their eyes are always blurred with Grandpa's staggering steps, and grandma's tears echo in their ears. When will Yonghong come back?

Although I can't interpret my inner memory, I've always treasured that photo. Later, the first thing I did after learning photography was to remake and enlarge the picture, which is still hanging in my study. It is the only picture of grandpa in my memory.

With the change of years, with a camera in hand, and from film to digital, technology has changed everything. The films and albums piled up in the corner of the room are far less abundant than the 4T hard disk on the table, but the memory of the former is fuller.

So, my heart often hesitates: what are we missing?

From film to digital, technology has changed not only the way of photography, but also the way of life. A mobile phone takes care of everything, taking photos, surfing the Internet, shopping, and paying fines... Inadvertently, newspapers handed down by everyone on the subway quietly fall; There are few books in the hands of airport passengers; Family and friends gather for dinner. What's happy is that this dish can be sent to the circle of friends again.

Science and technology is the product of the development of the times. In 1912, when latig's father gave him a small camera, he was very fashionable. Since then, he has photographed his upper class family affection. In that turbulent era, his behavior was as ordinary as walking with his head bowed. Decades later, these photos became the memory of the times of the whole French society and were exhibited in the Museum of modern art in New York.

Speaking of this, I feel that the proposition of "film age and digital technology age" is actually a false proposition. The latest scientific and technological inventions have indeed replaced the old technology, and may also replace many beautiful things, but these things, or old antiques or new technologies, will always be just a tool. Tools master people or people master tools, which is the key. In other words, this is what the proposition refers to.

So, quietly ask yourself, what can I do?

In the face of the rapidly changing economy and society, are we looking too far ahead to take into account the health of our parents and the needs of our relatives?

The day before yesterday, the third brother in his hometown in Jiangxi turned on the mobile video chat function. This was the first time his parents used it. Seeing me in the picture, his mother said excitedly, "I see you, and my beard hasn't been shaved. Do you see me?" In the camera, parents are full of joy, and their smiles can't help flowing.

I haven't been home for a while. I think I have to go back. By the way, my father always said that he wanted the picture of Grandpa. There was no one at home, so I had to take it back this time.

I haven't been home for a while. I think I have to go back. By the way, my father always said that he wanted the picture of Grandpa. There was no one at home, so I had to take it back this time.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.