Fiction logo

Feel the joy

I admire those astronomers who stick to their posts all their lives and never get bored. What a puzzlement! Do they have joy? I pondered over this question for a long time, and by chance, I finally found the answer to my question.

By Charles  WillinghamPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Feel the joy
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

I admire those astronomers who stick to their posts all their lives and never get bored. What a puzzlement! Do they have joy? I pondered over this question for a long time, and by chance, I finally found the answer to my question.

That summer, one day, my father asked me to help my brother's family cut rice tomorrow. At this point, a hundred reluctance was swirling around in my head. I said, "I'm not going," and "I can't even if I don't go. I couldn't resist because of my dad's insistence. Alas! I'll just admit it! In the morning, my father took me to my brother's house, and he said in amazement; "My brother, who has never done anything, has come to help me today. "Come on, is this a compliment or a disservice to me." The temperature at noon had reached 37 degrees Celsius, and I, wearing a large straw hat ready to go, looked at the sky, sweating. I thought to myself, I am so miserable, so hot day to go to the officer, beat me to death. At this time, my brother seems to have read my mind and said "brother, or do not go, I know you do not want to, your father there I said on the line". "Shit! I don't need you to plead for me, who said I can't! Not going today is not a good man!" I took the sickle to the field. Wow! A field of golden rice came into view. How long will it take to cut it? "If you can't do it, you can't do it! You have to be a hero." I didn't take my brother's words seriously. I stepped into the field and picked up the sickle and cut. "Where did you get that knife? It doesn't work like that," I complained. "You're the one who can't cut!" Time passed little by little, and the rice in the field became less and less.

Oh! Finally, it was all done! Looking at the finished rice in the field, I suddenly felt happier than I had ever felt before. "Happy!" "Fuck you, who's happy?" To be honest, when I saw the rice that we had finished cutting, a big stone fell to the ground in my heart, and the relaxed, happy feeling I felt at that moment was so good.

I walked alone in the field, thinking: So happiness is contained in the labor, after completing the task. Oh! Maybe that's why astronomers never get tired of working on scientific research all their lives! They perceived the true meaning of happiness.

"The road is slow and far, I will go up and down and seek for it". Life is a long road, I will be like the astronomers, in the struggle to taste happiness.

I am proud that I am a tree

I

I am proud that I am a tree. I am a tree growing on the bank of the Yellow River; I can tell many, many stories, and I can sing many, many songs. The mountain teaches me to stand tall, so I am determined to be strong and unshakable; the sea teaches me to be open and majestic, so I will always live uprightly; the light and the dew give me a beautiful heart; the hot sun and the snow forge my character of struggle; I embrace the wind of freedom, and in me, the will. Strength and ideal, tightly and tightly fused.

I am a part of the vast fields, a part of nature, and beauty is a whole, inseparable; I belong to the people, to history, and I long for the whole world as our common home.

II

Whether red. In the yellow or black soil, I will live tenaciously and passionately. Wherever there is a child's cry, I will go and embrace them with my tender branches and give them a red, bright apple; wherever there is an old man's moan, I will go and take their yellow. Black and white calloused hands, to give them warmth and make them happy.

I would pluck the dazzling stars and give them to the newlywed bride as sparkling earrings; I would hold the light soft clouds and give them to the hardworking mother as handkerchiefs to wipe her sweat. When it rains and snows, I stretch out my arms to cover their low huts and be their umbrellas, so that everyone can have peaceful dreams; when the moonlight is like water, I play the stringless lyre to soothe their tired bodies from labor and sing for them. I fight for them against the sealing sand, I defend them against the thunder and fire. I welcome so many little insects - little bees, little praying mantis - to play with me; I embrace so many little birds - long-beaked, long-tailed, flower-feathered birds - to make nests on my shoulders. ...... I imagine that one day I will be able to shed milk, honey, and even fragrant wine. I imagine that one day I will be able to shed milk, honey, and even wine, and flowers of all colors, shapes, and scents; and I imagine that I will be able to grow on the sea, I will be able to grow in the air, or the barren Gobi desert, the vast desert; and since there are rough hands, dark backs, and glittering beads of sweat, I will go there and be their servant, knowing how to know myself and how to make them happy. Work. I believe that one day I will no longer see my hungry blue eyes, my shoulders that tremble when I sob, and my legs that are puffed up and deformed. Feet and arms ......

O people, if I forget you for a moment, my heart will wither, like a leaf that drifts, spinning and sinking in the wind ......

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Charles  Willingham

The road is slow and far, I will go up and down to seek for it

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.