Fiction logo

Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

"Say you love me. . . "

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1

I awoke drenched in a sheen layer of sweat. Another adrenaline-filled fantasy encompassed my sleep. We had played another sold-out show, and when I looked over my shoulder, I could see my girl beaming at me and knew that I was right where I belonged. As I gained awareness of my surroundings in the dark bedroom, I looked to the nightstand to read the time. The digital clock read 2:45 a.m. I soon heard a soft sound coming from the end of the hallway and noticed the opposite side of the bed was vacant. I followed the sound out of the room, grabbing a bathrobe to cover myself.

~*~

She was seated at the grand piano in our living room. The piano sat near the expansive glass window overlooking the city below. Up here, we were isolated from the world and yet still an intrinsic part of it. We were the observers and the observed.

I could hear the soft melody that she played. It was one that I had grown accustomed to recently, as she'd come to the piano when she couldn't sleep and begin the writing process on a new song.

I never complained even though I teased her about it often. I could never bring myself to tell her to stop playing. Her movements were delicate and deliberate as she played. Paired with her ethereal, lilting voice, it was a key reason why our fan base was steadily growing. I was myself rendered speechless as I watched her, and I always wanted more. Every time we'd do a show, I would anticipate the screams of "Encore! Encore!" from the crowd and ask to do one just to hear her play again. She was always equally happy to provide the encore.

As I stood beside the piano, I could see her features illuminated by the moonlight shining through the window. Her dark red hair seemed to catch the glow of the light. Her milky skin gleamed like polished marble. Her lips were parted slightly, and there was a subtle rise and fall to her chest.

Her cheeks flushed as she looked up to meet my gaze.

"You're awake," she whispered.

"As are you," I replied. I moved to sit on the bench.

"I couldn't sleep." She stretched her arms above her head and shrugged. "My mind was racing too much. So much is going into this new album and I feel a little nervous. I know that everything will be great because it always is. I'm just. . .," she sighed, her thought left unfinished.

I wrapped my arm around her to pull her close. "I know, baby. We still have plenty of time before we need to have it finished. We're working at our own pace, not the label's pace. Besides," I said, giving her nose a gentle boop, "you're getting such little sleep lately."

"You're no help when you keep me up with your snoring," she chuckled, nudging my ribs with her elbow.

I moved my head to her shoulder and pretended to snore, inciting a giggle and a soft push to set me upright once more.

As I gazed at the woman sitting next to me, I realized how much I adored her. She had me spellbound, a feat I never before thought possible. I was a companion to every gaze from those soft eyes and each of her tender kisses. Even in our darkest moments, I was hers. And I never wanted that to fade away.

"Was it another nightmare?" she whispered as she curled her arms around my waist.

I shook my head. "No. This time, I dreamt the band played a sold-out show. The crowd was the best we'd seen in a long while, but the only face I focused on was yours."

"Mmmm... And what, do tell, did my face look like?" She smiled her soft smile as I tucked a flyaway behind her ear and cupped her face.

"Like this," I said and gave her a goofy, full-toothed grin.

She playfully jabbed my side with her elbow, giggling as she did.

I feigned pain as I wrapped my arm around her and laughed with her.

"I think we should probably go back to bed, though." She moved from the bench.

"I agree, but... not to sleep. I'm far too... awake."

She giggled, sensing what I meant as she cast her eyes downward.

"It's only 3:00 a.m., and you already have 'morning wood,' huh? What shall we do about that?" she teased as she moved to straddle me.

Her abrupt movement caused her robe to shift and expose more of her pale flesh. As she moved onto my lap, I drew in a sharp breath before her lips found mine, and I was lost in her kiss. Her fingers grazed my scalp as I trailed my hands up her thighs and around her back. I held her firmly to me as she insistently moved against me, creating a rhythm. At that moment, I wanted nothing more than to get lost in each other, forgetting where I ended and she began.

"I love you," she whispered against my lips.

"And I love you." I kissed her once more before swooping her into my arms and carrying her back to our room.

~*~

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.