Fiction logo

Dear Amy

boys never know what to say.

By annika la vina Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Dear Amy
Photo by June O on Unsplash

Dear Amy,

I wish I’d never met you. I wish I didn’t come up to you at the yearly Christmas party and offered you my sweater. I wish you didn’t think it was cute, but you did, and fuck you, now look at all this

Fuck, no. I don’t like this one.

Dear Amy,

I still have your leftover makeup bags. They’re in my dresser, in the middle drawer. I found them in the washing machine a few days after you left and I have no idea if girls keep these or not so I decided to save them just in case. Anyways, if you want to pick them up, let me know when, I’ll hold them for you and

God damn it, this sucks too. Why am I so stupid? Why can’t I just write like a normal person?

Dear Amy,

I was talking to my therapist about you the other day. I still see him on Monday mornings- you know me, same old, same old. I told him that the reason I think you stopped talking to me is that you never cared about me at all. It’s either that, or you kinda cared about me, but lied about it to make it seem like you did but then you used me at the last minute and

This is horrible. Why am I even doing this again? Ugh, whatever.

Dear Amy,

Do you remember when we drove up to Malibu that one weekend? And the car conked out and we just sat in the front seat waiting for the tow truck to come? That was the best moment of my life. I think that was the first time I was able to ever be myself around anyone. I told myself that I was going to marry you and haha, oh wow

This is even worse. Fuck, I hate myself. I hate my life. I hate everything and everyone. Ugh.

Dear Amy,

Honestly, you’re a stupid bitch and

Okay, absolutely not.

Dear Amy,

How could you forget about me so fast? Did I mean nothing to you? Did our time mean anything to you? I thought you loved me, I thought we loved each other. I know I’ve made mistakes, but what was it about me? Why was I not enough for you? Why couldn’t I

Nope. Nope nope nope too simp-y. Can’t have that, no no no.

Dear Amy,

Do you happen to have my taupe button down? I’m dating this new girl and I really want to wear it out on a date with

Don’t lie, you psychopath. And she’ll obviously know it’s made-up. I’m so stupid.

Dear Amy,

I’ll just say it. I think breaking up was a mistake and

GET IT TOGETHER DUDE. GET IT FUCKING TOGETHER.

Dear Amy,

Sigh.

Dear Amy,

When I was talking to my therapist, I told him that I love you. And I know you loved me too. And he told me that the weird thing about life, is that sometimes, two people can love each other a whole lot and it can still fall apart. Sometimes, love just can’t work out and there’s nothing we can do. And the annoying part about being human is that we just have to accept it. And accepting it is really fucking hard, but once we do, we start growing. So, even if something hurts a whole lot, it can still be meaningful. And just because something doesn’t last forever, doesn’t mean it wasn’t beautiful.

Silence.

Sigh.

Dear Amy,

The last of your boxes are in the garage. Let me know when you’ve gotten them so I can lock up. Please remember not to leave the key inside this time.

Thanks,

Kyle.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

annika la vina

24 year-old writer, artist, and entrepreneur. I survived because the fire inside me burned brighter than the fire around me.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    Ah! Those days when there are a million things to say and you wonder why you are bothering. Yep, I've been here! This is brilliant.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.