Fiction logo

Day in the life as an Okie

by: Alexsandra Castrillon; 11/27/21

By Alexsandra CastrillonPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2
Day in the life as an Okie
Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

|CHAPTER ONE| LITTLE BILYY

I was walkin into the school with ragged clothin and barefoot. Everyone stared at me in disgust as I walked in, like I was some type of creature. Some of the children were gigglin and whisperin to each other and they pinched their noses because of my smell. I was walkin down the hallway and this boy named Billy tried to trip me. I was so mad I was about to punch him, but I calmed myself down because I knew if I fought back, I would be the only one to get in trouble. I entered my classroom and as always, the teacher made a rude comment whenever I walked in. She would say somethin like, “ Here comes the ugly Okie” and then the whole class would start laughin. This morning she said,'' There goes the stinky Okie class” and the whole class laughed even she did! Ugh I was so mad at her!

I went and sat down on the floor because there weren’t “enough seats for the Okies”, but it isn’t so bad because I have a few buddies that are Okies but they also get bullied unfortunately. Oh I hate my luck! Stupid Billy sits behind me and I know this is gonna be one heck of day! Billy came into the classroom and sat behind me . The first thing he did was poke me in the back

I looked behind,” What do you want Billy?” I called at him.

Oh that boy gets on my nerves. You wanna know what this boy did. He spit on me and then he stuck his tongue out at me! Before I got the chance to get my revenge the teacher stopped me!

She said, “Ritz why are you turned?” Ms Millers yelled at me.

I didn’t have anythin to say. You see, Okies can’t stand up for ourselves or we’d get in trouble.

Ms Millers just gave me a rude look and continued with her lesson. Since this was science class we had an experiment today! We were gonna make a volcano explode. I was so excited. We were about to start our experiment and Tom was passing out the supplies but when he got to the my group which were all Okies they said they didn’t have enough supplies, which I knew was a lie cause you can clearly see that there was a whole box on the cart and when I told the teacher about it she said he was telling the truth. So me and the other Okies just had to wait for the other kids to finish. FINALLY FREEDOM, I thought to myself as the bell rang.

|CHAPTER 2| THE STORAGE ROOM

Me and my friend Rosie ran out of the classroom and headed to P.E. We didn’t mind it, it's just sometimes they make us do all the dirty work. Like last time they made us clean all the soccer, baseball and volleyball equipment. We spent all of our P.E time doing that and we also wanted to play games. Me and Rosie went outside by the track.

The Coach blew his whistle and said “All Okies come to the storage room and the rest of you kids can pick what game we play today.” The Coach explained to us. Me, Rosie and all of the other Okies headed to the storage room. Over there was our other Coach. He was a lot meaner and grumpy. He would always yell at us for nothin.

“Alright you all you stupid Okies got some work and you kids all better finish it before P.E is over.”

“Yes sir”. We all said as we nodded our heads.

“So everyone has it clear there shouldn’t be any problem.

We all went inside the storage room and knew what to do. We do it everyday and are used to it.

The clock hit 9:15. Finally this torture is over. All the Okies headed out and me and Rosie decided to wash our hands because we were sweatin so much.

|CHAPTER 3| STUPID OLE ROSIE

We were all stuck in that little storage room with no heater or nothin. As me and Rosie headed to the bathroom we ran into someone. Ugh stupid old Lilly. Oh I hated that girl. She got on my nerves! Last time I saw her was during math class she crumbled my paper and said, “ You stupid Okies don’t need school you guys are so dumb that even school can’t help you, so you might as well just drop out now!” Oh boy I wanted to slap her so bad right then and there. Now back to what's goin on.

“Oh will you look at that… stupid little Ritz, I bet you don’t even know how to spell hunting or how to say it either because of that stupid little accent you got there.” She told me with her dumb sassy attitude.

“Of course I know how to say huntin and I can spell it too!” I replied .

“HA you can’t pronounce a G huh? You little baby!” She said while making a crying motion.

Oh my lord forgive me for this but I slapped that girl. Oh I slapped her so hard I left my red hand on her cheek. Lilly started crying and I yelled, “Who’s the baby now huh?”. Rosie was just laughin in the back. But of course with my bad luck a teacher walked in while Lilly was sobbing on the floor.

“What in the tarnation Ritz!” Ms. Grave said. She is my math teacher. I don’t really mind her, she's just so annoying. She mainly leaves me alone and obviously doesn’t treat me equally but it’s whatever I guess I’m already used to it anyways.

“Ms. Grave I’m tired of that girl bullying me every day, so I gave her what she deserves.” I explained to Ms. Grave.

“No ma’am we do NOT teach you violence, go to detention NOW!” She yelled at me. She got Rosie to bring Lilly to the nurse and I headed to detention, oh how mad I was.

|CHAPTER 4| DETENTION

I went into detention which was right next to my math class and of course the only kids in detention were Okies.

“ Oh will you look at that another one of you Okies, I can’t believe this.” Said Mr. James.

I just rolled my eyes and sat down next to this other Okie.

Almost every week I go to Mr. James classroom, even if its just once a week and the whole time I’ve been in this dumb ole school I’ve never seen a Californian in this classroom, not once.

“So all of you Okies decided to be disrespectful to our REAL students, so you guys will clean the cafeteria, there is gum under the tables, and you kids also need to clean the dishes and wipe down the tables and seats. Oh and I almost forgot to mention sweep and mop the floors too.” He instructed us.

We all nodded to show him we understood.

We all got some supplies from the janitor’s room and started cleanin. We had 2 hours and 37 minutes to finish this job and if we didn’t do it… I don’t even wanna know what will happen.

There were around 50 of us, yeah, I know right, that's a lot of Okies but most of them were here because they stood up for themselves or somethin like that. Anyways we started and we organized by groups because it was a big cafeteria. 10 people wiped down all the tables and seats, 10 others got the gum from under the chairs and tables, 10 others washed the dishes and then 20 others swept and mopped.

I was in the washing the dishes group which by the way was NOT fun. I had to clean 300 plastic trays in 2 HOURS and 30 MINUTES! Around 30 minutes I finished around 90 plates, around an hour I finished 180, then finished the last 30 dishes in around 20 minutes. Oh, I’ll tell you my fingers hurt so bad. Shouldn’t the lunch ladies do this

My fingers hurt so bad I couldn’t do anything, write, eat, or clean anything ELSE. I let my fingers rest for a bit. And might have played games with the rest of the Okies. I mean there weren’t any teachers around so why not?

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.