Fiction logo

Dark Dig - The Wait is Over

Ancient Gods and Modern Drama

By Bruce J. SpohnPublished 2 years ago 23 min read
Like
The Wait is Over

The Wait is Over

With nothing but time to kill, Carol decided to go to the small beach. Wearing a red and white striped, long-tailed, cotton shirt over her bikini, Carol stopped by the desk to leave an envelope for them to give to Marcus when he came looking for her.

The clerk asked if she would like a blanket to put down on the sand. With a cheerful thank you, she accepted the offered blanket and headed for the beach. The sun was still low on the horizon when she found a spot, just off the road, to spread the blanket.

The fleet of trawlers, emptied of their catch, lay moored in the marina awaiting the next high tide. Walking to the shore, in the warm morning sun, she took the time to enjoy the scenic beauty of the area. A soft breeze blew in from the shore. The smell of salt water and the rotting timber of the old pier gave the air a unique fragrance. She noticed she was the only person on the shore. Fronia had warned her, this was a very quiet village. It was clear this was not a hot spot for the normal tourist.

The fun of a sunny day on the beach almost blanked out the real reason she sought out this remote fishing village. With nothing to occupy her mind, Carol relived the events leading to her tossing caution to the wind. In a flurry of adventure filled excitement, she fled the safety of her small-town existence and ran headlong into a future filled with nothing but questions.

The turbulent string of events swirled through her mind. Thinking back, Carol was still perplexed at the strange turn of the most recent events. Why hadn’t Marcus greeted her at the Airport? Who were those people watching her every move? Why was Fronia making fun of her seeking adventure? These questions weighed heavenly on her mind but not restrictively so. The beach was still the beach and relaxation awaited.

Straining her eyes to study the surroundings, Carol discovered her high fashion sunglasses were no match for the sun’s blinding glare. She held her hand up to shield her eyes while she scanned her surroundings to ensure she wasn’t being watched. The natural fears, all women share at being alone, made her take special care to be aware of her surroundings.

Once she was sure, there was no danger, she decided to work on evening out her tan. She slipped her shirt off revealing the pink and black bikini. Her bikini top was strapless the narrow band of pink and black barely covered her nipples. She settled on the blanket and anointed her exposed skin with a thick coating of coconut oil suntan lotion. The rich oil made her skin shimmer in the sun.

With nothing much to do, Carol stretched out on the blanket to let the sun toast her ivory white, nearly nude body, but only after she was satisfied her skin was adequately protected. A smile spread across Carol’s face as she took secret pleasure in the erotic sensations the breeze ignited. These sensations rekindled memories of her first night with Marcus. Carol focused on the pleasant thoughts. While basking in the warmth of the sun she could almost feel Marcus’ warm presents.

Listening to the waves rhythmically kissing the sandy shore lulled her into a blissful slumber. Whisked away on the wings of dreams, Carol drifted through a fantasy world of heroes and maidens. In her dream, her arms embraced Marcus and her fantasies went soaring to new heights. Visions of ancient ruins guarded by strange unknown Gods filled her mind.

A sudden gust of cool air roused Carol from her slumber and sent a chill down her spine. The sudden chill worked a strange magic on her nipples making them pop up to become visible through the lightweight fabric of her bikini.

Blinking rapidly to get her eyes to adjust to the blinding brightness Carol fought to see what was going on. All of her senses were on high alert. Before her vision cleared, she heard the sound of heavy footsteps in the loose sand.

Startled, Carol jerked up and quickly surveyed her surroundings. Judging from the angle of the sun, she determined it must be afternoon. Holding her hand up to shield her eyes, she searched in vain for some trace of Marcus. All she could see was an old man with a big coil of rope trudging along the sandy beach. The ruminants of her dream made her crave Marcus even more and disappointment distorted her face into a pout.

With nothing better to do, Carol turned over to grill the other side of her body. The eternal washing of waves on the ancient shore set her mind off into a realm of blissful slumber. Her subconscious mind drifted and soared to new heights of erotic delights when suddenly, a shadow brushed over her body with almost a tangible tactile feeling. When she opened her eyes, a pair of well-worn, tan boots obscured her view. Shock and fear overpowered her. In a feeble attempt to shield her exposed body, she jerked up tugging the blanket over her.

Everything seemed to stand still. The waves stopped their rhythmic lashing of the shore. Birds held their breath and refused to sing. It took her eyes a moment to adjust and focus on the intruder. The stranger dropped down to his knees next to her, before she could see clearly

“Marcus! Oh God! Where have you been? What is going on? God, I’m so happy to see you,” blurted Carol in a babbling exclamation meant as a greeting.

Marcus’ powerful arms pulled her close against his chest, and her squeals of excitement greeted him. Once safely snuggled in Marcus’ arms Carol’s world returned to normal. Tears of joy and relief slid down her sun-reddened cheeks.

“I’m so sorry about all the things that went wrong and prevented me from meeting you at the airport. You have to know, I really wanted to be the first person you saw upon arrival. After the fantastic times, we shared in New York. I was more than eager to hold you in my arms again. I hope Fronia gave you, my message. Sorry, I could not give her more information. I didn’t want to frighten you away, but there have been some kidnappings at the dig,” Marcus whispered in Carol’s ear.

“Kidnappings! Well, now I see why you did not want to give details on the phone. What is going on Marcus? Kidnappings? – Really! What happened? Who was kidnapped?” Carol stammered in a state of total anxiety.

Marcus sat down next to Carol and pulled Carol close to him.

“The last few days have been a nightmare. The Dig Camp was attacked three nights ago. A group of men ran around shooting. Everyone was running around screaming and shouting. By the time I got to the camp, the police were interviewing the team members. When I asked for a report, all they could tell me was 12 young women were missing. There were no reports of injury, but all the shooting created panic and there was a lot of damage to the dig site. I was required to go to the local police headquarters to make statements and provide the records of the missing people. Then, of course, I had to notify the parents of the missing students. I was afraid to give you all this over the phone, as it is really frightening and I did not want you to worry,” Marcus explained while running his hand over Carol’s back.

“Oh my God! That’s terrible. What are the police doing? Do they have any idea of who is responsible? What are you going to do now? I’m just so concerned about you,” Carol sobbed against his shoulder

Marcus held her tightly in his arms. He could feel her emotions shaking her body. The fragrance of her hair and the way the late afternoon sunlight danced on her auburn hair briefly distracted his thoughts from the events of the last few days. He closed his eyes and tried to focus his thoughts. He did not want to frighten her, but he knew he must let her know there was more about the events so she would be aware of what to expect. While he held her in an attempt to comfort her, he tried to organize his thoughts by slowly going over the events still swirling around in his head.

“When I got to the dig the local police were swarming all over the place. I knew they were looking for evidence to solve the crime, but I feared they would damage some of the artifacts. It took a few minutes for me to find the person in charge. When I found him, Inspector Campus was directing a forensic team to gather as much evidence as they could. Good God Carol, I almost burst out laughing when I saw him. He looked just like that American TV actor, ‘Inspector Colombo!’ Just imagine Colombo speaking Greek. Sorry, I did not mean to digress. When Inspector Campus finally took the time to talk to me, it was clear he thought I was guilty. I had to provide evidence I was hours away and list all the people who could swear they saw me,” Marcus related.

“So, he really looked like Colombo? That is funny, but then if you remember Colombo always solved the case. So maybe this ‘Campus’ might be able to solve this case. Do they really think you were involved? Maybe it’s just typical police procedure,” Carol replied.

“I think it is just a routine procedure. They have to assume everyone is a suspect. I was able to answer all of his questions and I gave him the personnel files on the missing people. I told him to be careful around the dig, as there were many valuable artifacts going to the national museum. It seems he thought the dig site was some sort of Flea Market. He had no idea of the value of the items that were still being cataloged,” Marcus continued. “Just as I was finished with Campus, I was approached by a short stout man who tried to talk to me in Greek, but it was clear French was his native language. He introduced himself as Inspector Borga from INTERPOL. He walked briskly around the site picking up items and holding them up as if he were some sort of expert on ancient artifacts. All his motions and mannerisms made me think of the French Inspector in the Pink Panther movies ‘Inspector Clouseau’ I think was his name.”

Carol chuckled and said, “Oh Marcus, I think you are making things up now. I’m sure watching the police running around the dig must have you very upset, but I don’t think the Keystone cops were sent. Do you have any idea of who might be behind this? I mean you are from the area. Is there any history of this kind of crime around here?”

“I think it might be somehow related to the violent history of Greece. I was born in 1979, not too long after the 1967 coup d'état led by a group of colonels. The Government was in turmoil and there was an assassination attempt against Dictator Papadopoulos by Alexandros Panagoulis. Another political upheaval followed in 1973 when George Papadopoulos declared Greece a republic and himself President. Then consider the nearly continuous war against Turkey that flashed into flame in 1974 when Turkey invaded Cyprus. Now you see how hard it is to know who might be responsible. Our Greek culture is so fragmented,” Marcus explained.

Carol snuggled in his arms and listened closely while he tried to explain to her. Her lack of knowledge of Greek history made it difficult to comprehend all the cultural nuances. All she could understand was it might be a long investigation. The fact there was so many possibilities and might involve terrorists or even pirates made her shudder. She fought an uneasy feeling deep in the pit of her stomach. She came all this way seeking adventure, but she was not sure she wanted this kind of adventure.

Lost in the swirling details of Greek History, Carol did not notice the tide sneak in and kiss the high-water mark before it slipped out again with the little fishing fleet riding its back. Only when a gust of the wind from the open bay flipped the big towel up over her exposed thigh did she noticed the sun was about to sink below the horizon. The breeze made her shiver and she pulled her blouse over her shoulders. Seeing Carol shiver, Marcus kissed her on the forehead.

“It’s getting late. Bet you have not eaten at all today. Why don’t you go to your room and slip on something to wear to dinner and I will get a table and order a meal for us. We can continue talking over a hot meal and some good red wine,” Marcus whispered in Carol’s ear.

Carol got up and gathered the towel, blanket, and her suntan lotion. She reached out to steady herself on Marcus as she slipped her sandals on.

“Well, I did have a large breakfast with Fronia. I was so happy she gave me your message. We had a lovely chat over breakfast. In fact, she suggested I spend the time on the shore. Unfortunately, she had to work. It would have been nice to have someone to talk to,” Carol mused.

Marcus slid his arm around her waist and guided her toward the hotel. Just before entering the main door, he kissed her and then smacked her on the butt as he said, “go on now, and get some clothes on while I order some dinner.”

Convoluted Conversations

Carol rushed off to her room to put on something fit to wear at dinner. The joy of seeing Marcus almost burned away the gloomy thoughts still lurking in her mind. Now that joy was over-shadowed with the frightening news of the criminal activity plaguing the dig. Carol fought to keep these dark thoughts at bay. She knew Marcus would fill in the blank spots with more details over dinner.

Quickly she stripped off the skimpy bikini and jumped into the shower. She applied a hand full of shower gel to wash the suntan lotion and grime from her freshly tanned skin. She performed the tasks as if on autopilot, her mind was still trying to sort out the information. Not wanting to waste time looking for a new outfit she slipped into the same clothes she wore the night before.

Despite her rush she paused briefly to take a final glance in the mirror and ran her fingers through her hair in an attempt to make herself more presentable.

When Carol walked into the reception room, she found Marcus standing at the desk engaged in a rather animated conversation with an elderly gentleman. She heard them speaking in loud voices, but her one-month course in Greek wasn’t sufficient to help her comprehend their conversation. As Carol approached, the two men grabbed each other by the shoulders and kissed both cheeks.

“Ah, there you are! Carol, this is my Uncle Joseph. Joseph this is Carol, the woman I told you about. Joseph said he will ensure the rental car is turned in tomorrow,” Marcus said as he put his arm around her waist and pulled her close.

Carol offered her hand to shake Joseph’s calloused, weathered hand and spoke.

“Thank you so much. I did not know how I was going to return the car. I really did not want to fight the traffic again and I’m eager to get out to the dig Marcus keeps talking about.”

“I’m very glad to finally meet you, Carol. Marcus has talked about you often and you are even more charming than his words described. I’ll see to it that the car gets turned in. Is there anything in the car you need to get? If not give me the keys and I’ll tend to the rest,” Joseph said as he squeezed her hand while his eyes carefully studied her from head to toe and back again.

Joseph took the keys and turned to Marcus. He mumbled something in Marcus’ ear but Carol could not understand what he said. It was “all Greek” to her.

Marcus slapped his uncle on the back and said, “Ευχαριστώ πολύ.”

“Ευχαριστώ πολύ,” echoed Carol.

Joseph paused just before he left, raised his hand over his head and said, “οικογένεια!”

Carol looked at Marcus, “οικογένεια? Family? So, Joseph is doing you a family favor?” Carol inquired.

“Oh, I’m glad you’re learning Greek. Yes, Joseph is my father’s brother. He feels compelled to look over the family. This is a very good sign. It means he accepts you as part of the family. To help you figure out the family tree, Fronia is the daughter of my older sister. My mother was an American. She met my father when they were both working at the University of Athens. That is why Fronia and I speak English. When my mother died, my father moved back to the village to be near the rest of the family. My sister married Jason Konus. He is the most influential person in the village. He owns the fishing fleet. He does not hold an elected office, but nothing happens here without his approval. Joseph is the oldest living member of my father’s family. As I told you, Greece has a very troubled and ugly history. Turkish separatists killed my father. So now you know a bit more about the family and how I have come to depend upon their support,” Marcus explained as he led Carol to the dining room.

Carol followed Marcus to a corner table. She was impressed by the care given to make the table look elegant. On top of the freshly pressed white tablecloth was a setting for two of what appeared to be expensive bone china. The dishes were flanked by hand polished silver wear and a crystal vase held a bouquet of dark red roses.

“Oh my, is this more ‘family’ support Marcus? This is lovely,” Carol said as she took a seat.

A waiter poured them red wine and served the first course. They both raised their glasses in a toast for success and good fortune and started eating.

“I only wish this could have been how I greeted you yesterday. The past month seemed to move like a glacier. Until a few days ago, now, all I have been able to do is talk about the tragic events and new dangers. I hope they do not cause you to run away as fast as you can. I know the police and INTERPOL will do their best to solve the crimes. I have talked to Jason to see if he knows anything about a new threat in the area. He has not heard about any group, but he has many eyes and will report to me if he learns anything,” Marcus explained between bites. Carol’s hunger was greater than she thought. She savagely attacked the delicious appetizer while she attempted to focus on what Marcus was saying.

“The local police were positive it was bigger than some small local gang. That was why they called in INTERPOL and the fact it involved American students was why the FBI was involved. I wasn’t given many details, but I could see some of the evidence they collected. There was a big plastic bucket full of ammo casings. It must have sounded like WWIII. Luckily, there were no casualties, just the 12 missing girls. When I left the area, the common thought was it seemed to be some big group of terrorists, but the police were not sure who was behind the attack as there had been no news release from any of the normal terror groups,” Marcus explained to Carol trying to avoid scaring her.

“Oh, Marcus I have been so worried about you and what might be going on. That short cryptic phone call did nothing to quell my fears. At least Fronia was able to help. I’m still not sure I understand everything you just told me, but I’m so delighted to see you again. I hope you will still take me with you to the dig. Professor Pontus told me about the analysis he was doing on the artifacts you left with him. He thinks you found some forgotten temple dedicated to a minor God called EROS. I spent the weeks, waiting to get all my paperwork for the trip, studying all the information on EROS I could find,” Carol managed to say between bites of food,

“I’m happy you are so engaged in this project. I am sure the time you spent doing background research will help you when you get to the site. So, you already know that Eros appears in ancient Greek sources under several different guises. In the earliest sources, he is one of the primordial gods involved in the coming into being of the cosmos. In later sources, Eros is represented as the son of Aphrodite, whose mischievous interventions in the affairs of gods and mortals cause bonds of love to form, often illicitly. Ultimately, in the later satirical poems, he is represented as a blindfolded child, the precursor to the chubby Renaissance Cupid. Whereas: in early Greek poetry and art, Eros was depicted as an adult male who embodies sexual power and as a profound artist.

A cult of Eros existed in pre-classical Greece, but it was much less important than that of Aphrodite. However, in late antiquity, Eros was worshiped by a fertility cult in Thespiae. He shared a very popular cult with Aphrodite and the fourth day of every month was sacred in honor of him,” Marcus recounted.

“Yes, I was intrigued by the data I found. I learned the term Erotic is from all the sexual connotations involving Eros. In fact, the word for Brothel in German is Eros centered. I am sure some of the girls in class would have done a lot more than just blush at all the perversion associated with this minor God. There seems to be some evidence of some underground cult activities associated with worshiping Eros, searching for love potions and spells to create nymphomaniacs,” Carol added.

“Yes, I’m aware of all these myths and conspiracy theories. With all the crazy things you see on TV, it is easy to understand how groups of people really get sucked into the vortex of cult thought. It is as if individuals strive to be more devious than the rest and hype undocumented evidence to prove the truth of their bizarre beliefs. Then you see how some crazy group might be behind the attack at my dig site and kidnapped women for some totally unknown reason. You begin to think, maybe we are in the ‘END TIMES’, but back to the subject at hand. It does appear the site was more of a summer palace for some wealthy Athenian. It appears it was some sort of ‘PLEASURE PALACE’. We have collected many broken vases with explicit images depicting men and women engaged in every form of sexual activity. Much more detailed than the ones you viewed at the exhibit,” Marcus added.

“I must admit, I find all this to be rather stimulating. I mean all my life I have been looking for adventure.” Carol confessed. “When I signed up for your seminar, I was looking for the adventure of the great undiscovered past. When you took me for a private showing of the artifacts with all their sexual images, I could not wait to escape the boring small-town life. I knew I was about to make a big change in my life. I was happy you were no longer my instructor and I could at last express my desires freely. Oh God Marcus, I was so thrilled when you let me know you did not think I was just one more silly schoolgirl with some puppy love crush;” Carol said as she sought reassurance in Marcus’ eyes.

“Yes, from the first progress review I saw there was something special about you. I was somewhat relieved when I did not see you in my next seminar, but I had no idea you decided to make archeology your Major. That was why I was so surprised to see you at the fundraiser. If I thought you were some silly small town school girl with a crazy crush on her instructor, I wouldn’t have taken you to view the more provocative artifacts. I thought you were mature enough to appreciate them. I could tell by the way you carefully examined each item you were doing a multi-level analysis. If you had not shown that level of maturity, I assure you the evening would have ended much sooner and on a much colder note than it did,” Marcus reminisced.

Carol sat gazing deep into Marcus’ eyes searching the depths of his being. As she appeased her hunger, the strong spirit dwelling deep within was growing more assertive. Squirming restlessly on the hard wooden chair, Carol had to consciously force herself to stop the restless writhing of her hips.

Letting her mind run free, she thought back in time and replayed how their relationship evolved from student - teacher to passionate lovers. It was hard to tell who seduced whom. Memories of their sensual encounters flashed on the Jumbotron of her brain. She found she was no longer listening to Marcus, rather she was fantasizing about possible after dinner delights.

“Wow! You must have been hungry. You sure cleaned your plate,” Marcus joked.

“Does that mean I get a special reward for being a good girl?” Carol quipped in response then giggled.

A wide smile brightened Marcus’ face. Carol studied his eyes and peered deep into his soul. She felt his penetrating gaze as well. It was the briefest of moments, but long enough to confirm the fire of desire burned white hot in both of them.

“So, are you going to escort me to the room, or would that set off a torrent of interfamily tongue wagging?” Carol said.

Without a word spoken, they both got up and drifted in the direction of the room, propelled by some invisible force.

As soon as the old wooden door slammed shut, Carol showed Marcus how much she missed him. He eagerly responded to her taunting sexually charged body movements. Their pent-up passion exploded sending them both tumbling to the sanctuary of the bed. In time, the raging fire of passion quelled, reduced to glowing embers. Blissfully, they pressed their spent bodies together and fell into a deep sleep.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.