Fiction logo

Creativity vs. Logic

The mind and the heart as I believe mine to be, as I try to write an essay for school.

By Radio S. Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Creativity vs. Logic
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

My creativity calls to me, waking me in the night and telling me that I need to wrote something, something that can't wait until morning. Logic has no say in the matter, and is dragged with us to my laptop and then to a blank document. Here is where the argument starts.

"I had this great idea about how you could explain critical thinking-" Creativity begins before Logic interrupts.

"What would you know of critical thinking? You're meant to be creative, if anything, it's my job to come up with what we write about the subject." He says matter-of-factly.

"Then why haven't you written anything yet if you have so much to say about the matter?" Creativity snaps back, and I wonder the same thing.

This should be an easy paper to write, there's nothing difficult or complicated about it, yet Logic has no answer.

"Because you need my help. I am creativity after all, and I create things. You need my hep to come up with what to say, otherwise there's no spark to what you come up with. What are you going to do: look up definitions and write them down in your notebook? Go ahead and do that, but believe me, it's only one small step that'll contribute to this." They say.

My fingers hover above my key board, this conversation only taking a matter of seconds, as if the Flash were talking to another version of himself as fast as he possibly could. For a long time, Logic is silent, and then I begin to type at Creativity's command.

I begin with the definition of both creative and critical thinking, what they are and what they require in order to function most efficiently. Then comes giving an example of each, and I find myself stuck again.

"Logic, now you come in." Creativity says suddenly after a moment of silence, reading and rereading what we have written down. "What more does this paper need?"

"Well, let's look at the list of requirements I wrote down to save us from switching back and forth between tabs." He begins and directs my attention to the green post it note I have at the bottom of my laptop.

"Firstly, we defined what each one was, and how it's used. Now, we have to come up with examples of how they work. I think that an example would be a group project done in high school."

"Go on." Creativity says, listening intently.

"Okay, so in a group setting, we have our leader." He says, drawing a stick figure on the white board beside him, then labels it leader. "Then, we have our followers." He continues, drawing four more stick figures, labeling them followers beneath the drawing.

"Now, our leader is supposed to assign different roles to each follower; one will gather information, another will come up with the source, back slash bibliography page, some one else will make a power point presentation, and another will be orally presenting the finished product to the rest of the class." Logic explains as he writes each task that needs to be assigned next to the group of stick figures.

"Okay, I follow, but where are we going with this?" Creativity asks, and before I know it, everything clicks into place: brainstorming and breaking down the tasks and assigning them according to each member's strong suits is the key to creatively coming up with a solution to the problem.

My fingers fly over the keys as I write out the problem my Logic just explained in simpler terms. Creativity reads over what I write, making sure that it all makes sense, and Logic tells me what to write. Where I need to improve, Creativity and Logic work together to help come up with a better word or to fix the grammar.

Before I know it, my paper is completed and I look it over one more time before submitting it. I think I've solved this problem, but I know that my Creativity and Logic will be at each other's throats again soon. They never seem to get along, but that's another story.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Radio S.

One of the best things we have is our imagination. In the words of Robin Williams; "You're only given one little spark of madness, you mustn't lose it.".

Instagram: radiostar66613

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.