Fiction logo

Colorful

An Annoying Allergy Sparks a Style Change

By Hannah PattersonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Colorful
Photo by J K on Unsplash

“A-A-ACHOOO!”

“You good, chica?” Victoria asked her boss with a chuckle.

“Yeah, it’s just all these marigolds. I swear, the whole city is covered with them!”

Victoria eyed the vase of marigolds on the end table.

“I just don’t get the appeal! I mean they’re nice, but it’s not like they’re the prettiest things in the world.”

As Rachel spoke, Victoria quickly hid the vase under her desk. She set it down a little too quickly and the vase clattered on the floor.

“What was that?” Rachel asked, suddenly alert.

“What was what?”

“That sound. Did something fall?”

“Whaaat? I didn’t hear anything. Calm down chica, you’re paranoid,” Victoria lied.

Rachel gave her a suspicious look and sneezed again. “Not you too!”

“I’m sorry, chica. It’s summertime. I’ll try to get some different ones tomorrow.”

“You better or I’ll have you arrested for attempted murder,” she joked.

“Are you really that allergic?”

“No, it just gets annoying when I have to go through a box of tissues every day.”

“Yikes. Note to self, buy more tissues.”

“Well, I am going home and I suggest you do too,” Rachel locking up her office.

“It’s only 4:45.”

“We can go ahead and go home early.”

“Ok, but if my husband calls to ask you if I’m fired, you gotta bail me out.”

Rachel chuckled and they walked out of the building.

As Rachel walked through the front door of her apartment, Olivia greeted her with, “Just in time! I just about to take my latest painting to the gallery. I was inspired by the season.”

She unwrapped a large painting of marigolds. Rachel groaned.

“What? No good?”

“It’s not that, it's just that they’re everywhere!”

“And the problem is?”

“For one, I’m allergic to them, and secondly, I’m just sick of seeing them.”

“You have a problem.”

“What?!”

“No, I’m serious. If you get so upset by a flower, there’s something wrong.”

“I’m not upset! I’m just bored out of my mind. I haven’t had a case in a few weeks.”

“You need some color in your life,” Olivia continued, not listening, “All these grays are just so depressing. A person could go crazy dressing the way you do! I’m going to take you shopping tomorrow and we’re going to get you a whole new wardrobe.”

“What? I’m fine. I’m just bored. I don’t need new clothes.”

Olivia paid no attention and walked into Rachel’s bedroom. “Okay, these white curtains have to go. We’ll have to repaint your room, gray is soooo blech. You’re gonna need a whole new bedspread. Black and gray just will not do. And seriously? Not one piece of art in here?”

“D-did you even listen to anything that I just said?” Rachel asked, exasperated.

“Did you say something?”

“Ugh!” Rachel rubbed her temples, “I appreciate the gesture, I really do, but I don’t need new clothes and my room does not need a makeover. I happen to like my limited color scheme.”

“You’re just saying that,” Olivia retorted, jotting down her to-do list, “We’ll go shopping tomorrow afternoon.”

“I can’t go tomorrow!”

Olivia put her hands on her hips, “And just why not? It’s not like you have anything else to do.”

“Ugh! You know what? I’m going down to the station right now and I’m going to find a case to work on,” Rachel replied, leaving.

“Please tell me you have a case for me to work on!” she begged as she plopped down in the chair opposite the captain.

“That bored, huh?”

“That bored and that broke! I haven’t worked in three weeks and if I don’t work, I don’t get paid.”

“Are you saying we don’t pay you enough?”

“No. I just need you to put me on a case! Please! I’ll take anything!”

“I’m sorry. We don’t have anything. For once, no one in our city has died.”

“A robbery? A missing person? A missing cat? A mysterious dent in someone’s car? Nothing?”

“Nope. Not one crime has been committed as far as we know.”

“Not even a traffic ticket?”

“What the heck would you do with a traffic ticket? You’re a private eye. Why are you so desperate anyway?”

“‘Cause if I don’t get put on a case by tomorrow, Olivia is going to force me to go shopping.”

“What?”

“Somehow, she got it in her head that I’m upset about something and now she thinks that she can cure whatever the heck my problem is by putting color in my life, whatever that means. So she’s forcing me to go shopping tomorrow afternoon for new clothes, sheets, curtains, wall paint, and a whole host of things I don’t want, don’t need, and can’t afford.”

“I think she’s right.”

“WHAT?!”

“She’s right, you’re obviously upset. I think you could do with a change.”

“Am I speaking out loud, because apparently, no one can hear a word I’ve said all day!”

“Seriously, go shopping with her. I think it could be helpful to you.”

“Oh my gosh. Gah! I hate you, you know that right?”

“Ok.”

“What does a girl have to do for a murder once in a while?!” she shouted as she stormed out of the office.

The next morning she drove back to the station, even more desperate than before.

“Before you ask, no crimes were committed last night,” Captain Andrews said, not even turning around to look at her.

“Are all the criminals on vacation or something?”

“No, you’re just too good at your job.”

“What job? I haven’t worked in three weeks! I’m practically unemployed!”

“Here, I bought you these to cheer you up,” he said, producing a planter full of marigolds.

“Ugh! You too?!”

“What’s wrong now?”

Rachel drew in her breath sharply, “I’m sorry. Thank you for the flowers. I appreciate it, but I’m allergic to them and at this point, I cannot stand the sight of them.”

“Sorry. Yeesh!”

“Are you sure that you don’t have anything for me to work on?” she asked, attempting to regain her composure.

“Nope. Sorry.”

“Ugh! I’m going to have a case if I have to commit the crime myself!” she announced as she walked out of the office.

The next day, as she attempted to open her office, Victoria said, “I’m sorry ma’am. Rachel’s not here yet, you can’t go in there.”

She turned around and Victoria gasped. She was wearing a mustard blouse and blue jeans.

“Rachel? Is that you?” she breathed.

“No. It’s my evil twin. Of course it’s me!”

“What happened--?”

“The outfit?”

Victoria nodded.

“Olivia happened. Please tell me we have a case.”

“You do, actually. Captain Andrews called just before you came in…” she replied, still in shock.

“YES!!” Rachel exclaimed and ran out the door.

“What did I just witness?” Victoria asked herself.

The door burst open again and Rachel excitedly asked, “Where did you say it was?”

“At the Retired Actors Home?”

“Sweet! Okay!” and with that she ran out the door a second time.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.