Fiction logo

Color Me Scarlet

My soul had been painted with the vibrant colors of the scarlet macaw.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

It all began during the summer that I turned eighteen. I was fresh out of High School, unaltered and unblemished by humanity. My family had planned a season-long vacation in Quintana Roo, a Mexican state on the Yucatán Peninsula. I could already form a mental picture of Mayan ruins, sandy beaches and undersea caverns.

To the northeast, the resort city of Cancún is known for its exhilarating nightlife, Nichupté Lagoon nature reserve and long beaches with coral reefs. Off Cancún's coast, the tiny, reef-fringed island of Isla Mujeres has beautiful, undefiled nature trails and dainty beachfront restaurants. It was the vacation of a lifetime. The world was at my fingertips! I could finally discover my dreams.

As I sauntered along the gorgeous white-sand beach I observed a group of spectators gathered around a display of majestic, ornate macaws. The long-tailed, New World parrots were mercilessly crammed and stuffed into wire cages. I felt the breath lodge in my throat as their ear-splittingly cries rang through the warm, salty air.

I approached the dispirited assemblage - just at the moment I harkened back to a news article that I had read in a nature magazine just months prior. I knew that the macaw's numbers were declining from habitat loss and human trapping for the pet industry. I felt a burning, angry rage begin to grow inside of me when I saw the helpless hatchlings faltering along the bottom of the cage.

I closely scrutinized the tacky, tasteless sign that had been hand-painted. "$18,000" - I was stupefied. Those flamboyant and magnificent creatures were being peddled in the most revolting and shocking way possible. "Those babies will die, they're much too young!" I cried as I frantically pointed into the cage.

I felt like I was standing alone on a deserted, uninhabited island. But I was not alone, I was surrounded by people and none of them gave a damn about those frightened, distressed birds.

Tears inundated down my cheeks as I witnessed two of the large birds attempting to care for the deteriorating hatchlings. Their sad, bleary croaks sent heavyhearted emotions searing through my soul.

As the crowd of vendees began to flee toward more exciting and adventurous pursuits - I knew that it was up to me to save the macaws.

I rushed toward the wire cages, wrenching and yanking, I watched the door tumble open. I was in awe as the sky filled with brilliant, vibrant colors - The macaw's were free!

I sobbed and wept as I removed the tiny hatchlings, I had saved at least twenty birds that day - yet pure, innocent lives had suffered and perished. I couldn't save them all. I had failed them - humanity had failed them.

That night as I glared down at my dinner, I was unable to eat. I just kept thinking about the macaws. Until that day on the beach I had never considered myself a birdwatcher or an environmentalist, but when those birds looked into my eyes, our souls were instantly connected. They needed me. I was now involved in something historic and monumental and there was no looking back. - Something bewitching and spellbinding was gripping tightly to my soul.

I spent the next several years of my life in and around Cancún, fighting for those who were unable to fight for themselves. I was never truly alone, the macaws unceasingly charmed me with their trust and friendship.

When I encountered the tragic loss of my father, the macaws wrapped me in their soft, comforting feathers and gave me peace. Each night as I stood on the soft-white beach, the colorful birds would fly down from the trees and encircle me with hymns of love and reverence.

Sometimes they whispered their stories to me. - Sometimes we just sat silently and just watched the waves roll in.

When I finally returned home, my soul had been painted with the vibrant colors of the scarlet macaw - I was forever changed. Sometimes at night I catch a glimpse of red soar in front of the bright, full moon. I awaken to find a single red feather resting on my pillow. I smile as I know that I am forever loved and protected.

The beautiful scarlet macaw will always live within my heart and, I will forever carry their memories proudly on my shoulder.

I was mysteriously summoned to Cancún that summer. - I was chosen to partake in that magical adventure. It really isn't difficult or impossible to understand that I needed those enchanted birds just as much as they needed me. We helped each other....we saved each other. They taught me how to live my life with enthusiasm and wonder and how to live each day to the fullest.

I found the true meaning of my life on the beaches of Cancún, I discovered my purpose and destiny...Those birds taught me so much about life and about myself.

Most of all they taught me that "When the macaw calls...answer it!"

If you are interested in a macaw as a pet, please know that as awesome as they are, parrots are are a lifelong (nearly permanent) commitment. Some live for more than 70 years, often outliving their owners.

Parrots are also highly social and noisy animals that require specialized daily husbandry, expensive veterinary care, and a lot of attention. If you do decide to become a bird owner, confirm that your prospective pet is a legal and captive-bred bird. The trade in some wild-caught parrots is illegal under international law, so conduct careful research to avoid buying into the illegal wildlife trade.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.