Fiction logo

Child of Darkness - Bound together

Alice is a teenage girl, her life isn't normal. After learning that her family is cursed and plagued with nightmares. She goes to find the source of the curse. She finds the source of her families curse in her own family’s tomb, the source a 500 year old vampire named Clarissa.

By Kim MurrayPublished 2 years ago 33 min read
Like
Child of Darkness - Bound together
Photo by Mickael Gresset on Unsplash

Chapter 1

Nightmares, for months, I’ve wondered why I am cursed with the same nightmare. The one that haunts my sleep, forcing me awake when I hear her screams. A girl is kneeling over a man. Their faces turned away, she holds him in her arms. He caresses her face, and they partake in one final kiss before he turns into ash before her. Her screams are ear-piercing.

This necklace it is a cross. It has been passed down to me. It has been in our family for four generations. It is made of silver and encrusted with a dozen rubies. My nightmares began the day I first wore it.

Now I know the source of my nightmare, it’s a girl. I found her in a secret room in my family’s crypt. She’s dead, her body lays in an upright coffin made of crystal. Parts of her body is decomposed, her skeleton showing through the degraded parts of her dress. Her skin is flawless, pale and smooth like porcelain. Her hair golden and silky, it reaches her ankles. This girl is beautiful, so memorising. She wears a necklace with multiple oval and tear shape red crystals that dangle down her neck. She’s wearing a wedding ring and an engagement ring. Her Victorian dress sits above her knees. The back of the dress extends behind her so that when she walks the dress would follow. The chest area of the dress is a solid red, showing some of her cleavage. It blends with the black lace of the rest of her dress. The straps fall just off her shoulders.

But I am confused why is she her in this room? Just how long has she been down here?

Why? It’s so puzzling.

Maybe her soul is in this cross?

The coffin requires my necklace to open it. Why would you put a lock on a coffin? Just who is this girl?

I think for a while on what to do. It boggles my mind. I wonder, what would happen if I put my necklace on the girl. What if I re-join her body and soul? Perhaps then my nightmares will stop. I take my necklace off and place it on the girl after removing the coffin lid.

“Well, what do we have here? What’s a pretty girl like you doing in a place like this?” Shit, I was so concentrated in my thought, I forgot to close the door. It’s the bogan, that was hanging near the cemetery. His long messy hair falls onto his face as he gave me a sickening grin. He walked towards me, coming near the sliver of sunlight shining through, which illuminates the room. His biker jacket is made of brown leather, his jeans are faded and torn. The wind comes through the open door and a whiff of tobacco insults my nose.

“Get out of here. This isn’t your family’s crypt. If you don’t leave, I’ll call the cops.” Pulling out my cell phone. He pulls out a knife. I am scared, but I swallow my fear.

“That necklace of yours will sell for a pretty price. Hand it over.” He says gesturing to me with his hand.

“Never.” Shouting at him. Standing in front of the coffin. He runs at me, I put up my left hand, in defence. He slices it, blood streams down my forearm. I grab it tightly to slow down the bleeding.

“Fine, you can have it” I said in defeat.

“I will, when I hurt you a little more.” He grins, lunging at me. I close my eyes, I feel an arm wrap across my chest, pulling me back. Opening my eyes, there’s a knife in front of my face. Stopped a black wing, a bat’s wing. The wing moves to the left, the girl she’s alive. But how? She pulls out the knife with her right skeleton hand. Her eyes burn with anger, you can feel her rage. She groans, pulling herself out of the coffin. Her eyes are focused on the bogan, he turns around trying to run. But the door closes by itself, he panics banging on the metal door. He is forced into the corner; his breathing becomes heavy. He is concerned for his life. I should be concerned for mine as well.

The girl slowly turns her head to me. “Cover your ears.” Her voice is crackling and weak. She spreads her wings covering the bogan and herself. I cover my ears.

I could still hear his cries through my covered ears. “Stop it you’re going to kill him!” I shout at her. She stopped and looked at me. She walks back over to me. She stands in front of me blood dripping from her face. Our eyes meet. “What are you?” I question.

Her crimson eyes turn blue, soft, gentle, they’re the colour of the ocean. Where the shore water meets the open water.

“Your nightmare.” Her eyes are cold and full of pain. She raises her arms, I jolt back a little. But then I realise, what she was doing. She wraps my arm with a torn piece of clothing, from her dress.

We stand there in silence for a minute.

“I’m sorry, I forgot to introduce myself. My name is Alice Caroline Priest. What’s yours?” Asking her kindly.

“Are you related to Joshua Priest. Tell me, where is he?” Her voice still weak, she glares at me.

“No, not until you tell me your name?” demanding she answer, she grunts.

“My name is Clarissa Rose Strigoski.” Clarissa Rose why does that name sound so familiar. I’ve read that name somewhere before, but where?

“Joshua Priest is my Great Grandfather. He’s the one that made that necklace you are wearing. Clarissa looks at the necklace, she looks at it as if she’s seen it before. Clarissa takes the necklace off handing it to me.

“What year is this?” Clarissa calmly asks. I hesitate, Clarissa clenches her fists. “Well it’s um, 1987.” Clarissa screams. The room is shaking. I lean against the wall to brace myself. “JOSHUA.” She screams his name. Why is she so angry at my Great Grandfather? Clarissa takes a deep breath.

She mumbles something under her breath. “Sorry, what did you say.” Enquiring politely.

“104 years, that’s how long your Great Grandfather has kept me locked up for.” Clarissa looks at her left wrist, studying it. “A pentagram seal, 4128. What did you do to me, Joshua?” Clarissa remains silent for a moment.

“Let us leave this place. You need a hospital and I need someone to eat.” Clarissa states. Red eyes, bat wings, hunger for blood, beauty, longevity. “You’re a vampire.” The words just burst out of me, with excitement.

She leaves taking the bogan with her, “Shut the door Alice.” Clarissa says coldly. Right the door. I shut the door, it requires the necklace to open it. I found a panel with the same shape of my necklace, it opened the door to where I found Clarissa.

“Wait, you’re a vampire. Won’t you burn outside.” Clarissa sighs. Turning to me, “Yes, any vampire would. But I am different.” Clarissa states. Please don’t burst into flames, I pray. Yes, she didn’t burst into flames. Clarissa drops the bogan. Standing there, with her eyes closed. Taking in the warmth of the sun. It’s been a long time since she’s seen the sun.

“At least your skin is returning to normal, now you don’t look like a girl in a skeleton bride costume.” She looks at me coldly. Clarissa studies her clothing.

“You’re right, I need to blend in.” She looks at me, then at the surrounding area.

“Close your eyes.” Closing my eyes. “You can open your eyes now.” Clarissa stated.

How the hell did she do that, she changed her dress into – a dark blue sleeved, knee length dress with black boots.

“How did you do that?” She pats her dress. Clarissa brushes her hair with her fingers, twisting it and bringing it to the front of her.

“That’s my secret. Now let’s get your armed looked at.” I nod, walking ahead of her.

“There is a hospital down the road, it’s about five minutes away.” Pointing the direction.

“Is there some place in the hospital, where they keep blood. Because I am still famished and it’s against my philosophy to eat children.” She’s looking at me, Clarissa must be starving. Anyone would be after not being able to eat for over a hundred years. Clarissa has strong will power if she’s resisting the urge to eat me.

“There’s a blood bank you could sneak into. Just follow the signs at the hospital.” She doesn’t drink children’s blood. But she looks like a child herself.

“Clarissa, how old are you?” Clarissa looks at the buildings, signs and the cars passing.

“Back in my day, it was impolite to ask a ladies age. But my human age is 16.” I can’t help but smile we are kind of bonding.

“You are a strange girl.” Clarissa comments.

I giggle. “You look younger, like 13 or 14.” I say trying to start a conversation.

“I know you meant that as a compliment, but I centuries old Alice. I wish to be treated with respect of that such of an elder. Some of my children use to comment on my appearance.” Clarissa seems a bit displeased with my remark.

“You had children.” Clarissa looks at me, touching her lip.

“How to put it in human terms. I created them not by birth but by turning them into vampires. They became my protégé and I their maker or master.” She probably thinks less of me because I’m human.

But I think there is another reason why she’s being snobby and a little bitchy. She trying to hide her emotions, like a defence. She’s in heartache, Clarissa just woke after 104 years to find herself in a new era. Everything has changed, for all she knows everyone she’s ever loved is dead and she maybe the last vampire left.

“We’re here.” Clarissa states. Viewing the outside of the hospital.

“The hospitals have improved on many areas since my time.” Clarissa saying, looking around the inside of the emergency room. I gesture to her to stay, walking up the emergency room desk. There is a lovely mid-twenty Caucasian woman working, she has nice straight brunette hair, brown eyes and black square rimmed glasses.

“Hello, I was attacked by a man, he cut my arm.” Clarissa looks around the room, she licks her lip. She needs blood soon or she might eat someone in public.

“OH, you poor dear. Come on through we need to call the police and your parents.” She says, I give a nod.

“Miss, we don’t need to call the police.” She looks at me, her face is saying to me. Why not? I sigh.

“Well, because my mom is a cop.” Her face says. Why was that so hard to say? Saying it is hard because one day I may lose her because of her job. Like I lost my father.

“Follow Doctor Hearn, he will take you and your friend to a private room.” Clarissa and I follow him. Doctor Hearn sit’s me on the bed and begins cleaning and suturing my wound. Clarissa look around the room for moment.

“Alice, I will return. I must eat.” She says, with no emotion. Leaving the room.

“The way your friend talks is very bizarre. I smile and reply. “She’s room overseas.”

Today, has been… strange. But amazing at the same time. This cross was the key, it released Clarissa from her prison of solitude. Some of my blood got on her, my blood must have awoken her. Clarissa though the marks on her wrists were pentagrams. But they aren’t they are exorcists’ seals, Clarissa may not know it yet, but she’s been bound in a contract. And I think with me.

I first saw them at my Uncle Issacs’s place, he had a lot of religious stuff. It was marked in one of his books. That is where I found the cross necklace. After the nightmares began, I went back to his house and found a connection my Great Grandfather Joshua, made this necklace. I wanted answers, so I went to my family’s crypt where he is buried. That’s when I found the secret room, leading me to Clarissa.

What will mom say about, having a vampire in the house? Oh, I can imagine. A big no and steam coming out of her ears. I look across the room Clarissa, came back when I was deep in thought. She’s drinking blood, I can hear the crushing and crunching of the blood bag bags. What would it be like to have a vampire friend? I say it would be damn amazing… but also probably a bit dangerous.

“Alice, Alice what happened?” My mother came bursting through the door. Now I am in trouble, I told her I would be at the library studying for a science test on Monday. But I wanted answers.

“Um mum well I was um...”

“You weren’t at the library were you, you lied to me. Again?” She yells at me, looking very angry, but also concerned.

My mother is a cop which is why I don’t have many friends, they don’t want to be friends with a cop’s daughter it’s so uncool. “I went our family crypt to find answers as to why I am getting the same nightmare. And I found the source. That’s when I was attacked.” I enlightened her on what I was doing.

“The administration nurse said that you came in with a girl about your age, where is she. I want to talk to her?” Mom asks me, how am I going to explain that the Clarissa is a vampire.

“Well...” she says impatiently.

“She’s behind the curtain eating… I wouldn’t disturb her right now she is very hungry.”

“What’s her name.” mum asks me. “You do know that I can hear you, human.”

“Come out, where I can see you.” My mom says, Clarissa comes out from behind the curtain, blood dripping from her face.

“What the...” I could hear mom whisper.

“What is your name, girl?” I have a feeling this might turn to violence.

“I have taken many names over the years, I am Clarissa Rose Strigoski and you.” Clarissa says is a shrewd voice.

“My name is Zoe, Alice’s mother.” Mom states.

“What do you think your doing, drinking blood. Do you think you’re a vampire? They aren’t real. Now tell me your parents names and numbers and I will call them.” Mom says, demandingly. Clarissa clenches her fists.

“Vampires aren’t real. How about I bite you and prove it.” Clarissa jumps at my mom. Before she reaches her. An invisible force stops Clarissa, she is struggling with it trying to move forward and bite mom. But it keeps pushing her back. Clarissa steps back, looking at her wrists, the seals are moving. I think Clarissa’s realises that they are not pentagrams but exorcist seals.

She kneels on the floor, “Why did you do this to me Joshua, you took everything from me?” She looks as if she is going to cry.

I go to comfort, but she smacks my hand away. Eyes red, I saw mom flinch, she was going for her gun. “This is my hate, my darkness. You human’s have done enough to me. And my kind.” Clarissa stands up wiping her eyes.

I awoke her, Clarissa is my responsibility.

“You don’t have any place to go do you. Clarissa if you want, we have a spare room, you can come stay with us for a while. Right mom. You saw she can’t hurt us.” I looked at her with puppy dog eyes, she doesn’t like the idea.

“I don’t know what it was. But alright, Clarissa if you like you can stay with us.” Mom says. Putting her hands on her hips.

“Since I don’t know if anyone else is alive. And I don’t know much about this era, it would be best.” Clarissa states. “Okay then I’ll get Alice discharged then we can go home, I have been given the rest of the day off to look after Alice.” Mom says.

1984 Audi 5000 S Sedan, that’s mom’s car. It’s silver, I like it. I can’t get the buckle it, my arm is weak. Mom buckles me up, she goes to buckle Clarissa. But she already is.

“Alice where am I.” Clarissa asks.

“You’re in Boston, Massachusetts.” Clarissa looked out the window, watching the houses, cars and trees go by. “Did one of your relative’s a Xavier Priest ever build his house here.” How did she know that?

“He did, but how did you know that.” I question, “It’s a long story.” She answers.

The drive home felt like forever. There was this awkward silence between all of us.

“We’re here.” Our lovely home is two level home it is painted white and the roof is grey. It looks small from the outside, but I think it is bigger when you go in. Clarissa looks up at the secondary floor window. It’s the spare room, I go in that room sometimes because you can climb out the window and sit on the roof. We head inside, Clarissa stands at the doorway, looking around.

“That’s right, vampires can only enter a person’s home when invited in. Clarissa, you can come in.” She nods, standing there viewing our home.

“You seem to know a bit about vampires Alice.” Clarissa says, when she said that I felt warm inside and happy. She talked to me on her own.

“Yes, I do, on the first floor we have the kitchen, dining room, living room, toilet. And on the second floor there is our bedrooms and a spare room for you and another bathroom.” Explaining the layout.

“We have a cat his name is Salem, do you like cats.” Clarissa nods.

Clarissa stopped moving, she’s staring at the corner of the kitchen doorway. Salem comes around the corner, they are staring at each other. Salem runs to Clarissa, jumping up to her, putting his paws on her shoulders and meows like crazy.

“Midnight…. MIDNIGHT it is you.” She hugs him, patting him. Clarissa’s aura seemed to have brighten just a little bit.

“You listened to my order, good Midnight.” I thought I just saw Clarissa, smile a little it might have been my imagination.

“You know about Davorin then. I can’t remember everything for that night. But I know who betrayed us. And if I find him, I’m going to kill him. No matter our laws are. Joshua was trying to warn me, but it was too late.” Clarissa is having a conversation with my cat.

“How long have you been here?” Clarissa questions. Salem meows five times. “You’ve been here five years.” Salem nods.

“You can understand him.” I say to Clarissa.

“Yes, let me introduce Midnight, my bat cat.” Mom and I looked at each other, confused.

“Show them Midnight they might as well now the truth about you, now that I am living here.” Clarissa tells Midnight. He closes his eyes squeezing his shoulders together. His wings came out, I gasped, I was not expecting my cat to grow wings. Salem flies up to me, I hold him. His fur is still the same, his wings look like bat wings but feel like his fur. The wing is an extension of himself. It’s all connected.

“You see Midnight or Salem here is actually an unexpected friend. A long time ago.” Clarissa stops putting her finger on her lips, she’s thinking.

“One night I spilt my blood in the street. When a cat walked up and started to consume my blood. My blood turned him into a bat cat, a cat with bat wings, longevity, intelligence and the ability to understand everything that human’s say.” Clarissa explains.

“The only thing is he needs my blood to survive, Midnight, does that mean the others are alive.” He nods.

“Well that’s embarrassing I use to baby talk him and be silly.” I say.

“Is there some where I can freshen up?” Clarissa asks.

“You can use the shower upstairs do you want me to show you how it works.” I offer. She shakes her head, declining my offer. “I may not be from this era, but I am not an imbecile.” Clarissa says to me bluntly.

Now that Clarissa is taking a shower, I can do some searching her name sounds so familiar. I’ve heard it before. “Mom where’s the family bible.” I ask.

“I’ve got it, we both had the same idea about her name.” Mom and I search the book going back to the 14 and 15th century to our ancestor Grandmother Jane, it says here that we had an adopted cousin, Clarissa Rose Jones.

Grandmother Jane adopted her when Clarissa’s adopted parents Sarah and Oliver died. Her date of birth and death have faded, it says she died on her 16th birthday. That would make her about 400 years old. I am shocked. Going the back of the book we find a brown folder opening it we find pictures of Clarissa and a newspaper article about Clarissa and a man by the Davorin Strigoski the detective and her partner.

There’s a letter it’s torn and a bit faded, it says.

To my children and their children, my name is Jane and I want to tell you about Clarissa. Her birth parents died when she was born. She was adopted by my brother and his wife, she became my niece. Clarissa lived with them till the age of seven when they died. I was heartbroken, when they died. But I decided to adopt Clarissa. There was one other who wanted her. She became my daughter.

I was a dark me for me, but she is a brave girl. She put on a brave face, she smiled and bring light in my life. We were there for each other when her parents died. She’s had a rough beginning in life. Clarissa was scared mentally and physically.

We spent many years together until her sixteenth birthday, when she died in her love’s arms. A lot has happened to Clarissa many good but also many terrible and horrible things. I could see in her eyes that she was haunted by them. Clarissa is a kind, beautiful, generous and loving girl who has saved many lives including my own.

If you are reading this, then you know what she is. She has many gifts, that can help people. One day you many meet her and when you do please welcome her with open arms. Show her love and kindness, please accept her for what she is and welcome her into your lives she deserves to be happy. If you see her tell her that Aunty Jane loves her.

Wow, our ancestor cared for Clarissa deeply, we should show her kindness like our ancestor wanted us to. The way she wrote this, it’s like she knew Clarissa was a vampire. I look at mom she’s smiling from cheek to cheek. “Mom, why are you smiling.” I ask.

“Well when I was a child, I read this family bible and about Clarissa she was my idol, I wanted to be like her she is the reason why I became a police officer to help people. My idol is living with us, and she is a relative. Wait that means…” she says looking through the bible she looked at a page that shocked her.

“Mom, what is it.” I question.

“Joshua Priest is your Great Grandparent, the one that Clarissa wanted to kill… that means.” Mom’s smiles turn ‘s into a frown.

“Her own family locked Clarissa away for over a century.” All these emotions are running through me I don’t know what to think.

That’s the reasons why she has so much hatred for him. I would be pissed to if my own family locked me away for that long. The shower’s not running anymore I better bring Clarissa some clothes. I bring up a change of clothes for Clarissa, she opens the door. “How do you keep changing your clothes so quickly.” Clarissa smirks at my comment.

She looks at me, “That’s just one of my abilities.” I smile, I need to tell her.

“Clarissa, your Aunty Jane say’s hello.” Clarissa remains silent for a moment.

“I haven’t heard that name in a long time, I suppose you now know that we are related.” She didn’t seem too please with that thought.

Clarissa walks downstairs. “What time is it.” Clarissa asks.

“3:26, why.” I enquire.

“No reason, is there some way for me to learn about the status of the political, economic and everyday news of this era.” I nod. “The television.” I show Clarissa how to use the remote, Clarissa sits in front of the television. Midnight sits in her lap.

Before I met Clarissa, I had previously done some research on vampires. Because I found some interest in them, because they were different. They burn in sunlight which is not the case with Clarissa, they can be killed with a stake to the heart. Vampires are not fond of the cross or garlic and cannot eat human food. Many people still believe exist, they have cults that worship vampires and their ways. But there are also people who believe that vampires are unholy monster and should be exterminated from this world. I can’t let anyone know that Clarissa is a vampire. I believe that we could be friends.

Clarissa goes up to her room, she calls us up. I wonder why? Clarissa is sitting on the window seal. Something is troubling her, “Clarissa, what’s wrong?” She looks at me with her sad eyes.

“I ask this of you when nightfall comes lock your windows and doors and do not go outside. No matter what you hear.” Clarissa’s eyes speak for her she is worried.

“Why?” Mom asked.

“Because when nightfall comes, we will have some visitors some will be welcomed and some who are not, they are coming for me.” Clarissa says.

“I can protect you Clarissa, I’ve got a gun.” Mom hardly knows her, yet she is willing to protect her, that’s my mom she will protect anyone to the best of her ability.

“You cannot protect me from them. Just keep your gun close and protect Alice and yourself. Besides being a monster, I belong with them. This is who I was meant to be.” She’s acknowledging she’s a monster. Clarissa’s despair must be deep, if she thinks that. Maybe over time I will learn more about Clarissa and her pain. Then I may be able to help her.

“Alice, can I have your cross, I need it.” I nod giving it to her. “Now do as I say.” She commanded, climbing out the window. We leave the room, she’s trying to protect us. Mom and I lock all the doors and windows, we don’t have any garlic. Garlic powder should do, I spread it next to all the entrances. Dusk hasn’t set yet, some vampires have arrived, unless they aren’t vampires. They kneel before her, it must be a sign of respect towards elder vampires.

Dusk has come another group arrive, bikers covered in tattoo’s and piercings. They do not kneel or bow for Clarissa. A group arrives by car. There are a dozen vampires. If this is the vampires in Boston, then their population has diminished. I was expecting more. I wonder what the neighbours will say.

I can’t hear what they are saying, it looks like Clarissa is making a speech. Meow, Midnight what are you doing we are meant to stay inside. COME BACK, shit Midnight is going outside I must stop him. Opening the door, I chase after him.

“Well what do we have here.” A bald, tattooed middle aged biker vampire stops me grabbing my wrist tightly. It hurts, he could break my wrist if he squeezed any tighter.

“Let go of her.’ Clarissa jumps down from the roof, pulling his hand off my wrist.

He shakes his hand, Clarissa must be strong, Clarissa is looks down.

He scoffs “Your too scare to look me in the eyes.” Clarissa continues to look at the ground. Why?

“Our eyes do not meet.” He looks at her, in huh. Unsure.

“Kneel” He kneels at Clarissa’s command.

“This is where your eyes meet mine.” He tries to get up again.

“Kneel” A power is forcing him to kneel. She grabs his throat.

“I am nothing like you have ever met before. If any of you dare to attack me, there will be severe consequences.” Clarissa installs fear into the vampires.

All the vampires kneel. “Yes, my lady.” They answer.

“Let me introduce Alice, she is the one that released me from my imprisonment. I have an order, you are to protect the Priest family. If you should ever see them in danger. Do it discreetly, we must remain a secret from the human world.” Clarissa declares.

The vampires begin to crowd mom and me. Clarissa’s is talking to an African-American man he looks a few years older than Clarissa, I cannot hear what they are talking about. He places his hand on her shoulder. Clarissa falls, he grabs her. The ground begins to shake, the man rubs her back. I walk to her it’s difficult the ground is trembling too fast I can’t keep my balance. This happened before, when she was upset. The shaking is starting to slow down. I call her name, she looks at me. Eyes red, tears of blood slope down her face.

“Clarissa what is wrong.” Seeing her cry, hurts me.

“My Grandfather is dying. I need to see him, George help me to your vehicle.” George helps her up.

“Let me come with you, maybe I can be of some help.” I say. Walking towards her. “NO” a force, like a strong breeze pushes me back a step.

“I suffered alone in my mind full of sadness and pain for the last 104 years.” She wipes her tears.

“I’ve lost everything dear to me to humans. I wanted peace between our kinds but now I am doubting that it will ever be possible. I should have listened to Rose and killed the humans, that wanted to hurt me and my kind, but I said no. Humans and these former humans that have no respect for their elder disgust me. Everything has changed. All I wish to do this night is be with my own kind.” Clarissa says. I understand her reason. Who is Rose, is that some woman who holds power over Clarissa?

She beings to walk away. “It’s good to know that you can still show your feelings like a human.” I smiled, I don’t know why I said that. My mind is frazzled.

“I was never human Clarissa.” She says as she gets in the car. What does she mean?

I sit in Clarissa’s room waiting for her, she looked very upset and enraged when she left. Who is Clarissa in the vampire society, is she respected or feared by the other vampires? Is it because of her power or her age? Everything about her is so confusing.

Why is she so different from the other vampires? There are many things that I don’t know yet, why am I thinking about this? Is it because I care about her or because she is so different that I want to understand her?

Who exactly is her Grandfather? What’s his position? How old is he?

How did Clarissa live back in her time? Was she a human or a vampire as a girl? One day when she is ready she will tell me her story. I’ve got so many questions.

It’s been hours since she’s left. I’ve made a sleeping area in her room. I’m going to wait in her room until she returns.

There is a thought in the back of my mind, that is bugging me. Just how powerful is Clarissa, and if she is incredibly powerful does, she have the power to destroy the Boston or worse. If she has the belief that we should be destroyed and that much power. Clarissa could kill us all…

I hope that I can change her opinion about human’s, if she has so much hate for us. She may use her power on us. I need to show her that not all humans are despicable, disgusting, cruel, deceitful people.

What is the amazing smell, it woke me up it smells so good? But it’s only 6:47 in the morning mum never gets up this early? Getting out of bed I start walking down to the kitchen and I see mom coming out of her room, “If you’re the one not cooking then that means Clarissa is. She’s a good cook.” Mom says.

I didn’t have a nightmare last night. I slept so peacefully for the first time in months. I’m so glad my nightmares are over.

Mom and I both walk down to the kitchen in our pyjama’s, seeing Clarissa in the kitchen cooking bacon and eggs. Clarissa took a fork full of chocolate cake and ate it.

I raced over and took the fork from her. “Are you crazy? Vampires, can’t eat human food.” She smirked at me.

“I am no ordinary vampire Alice. I can eat sweets, and drink tea. Now come grab some breakfast. She tells me, I take a plate with bacon and egg sitting down at the table.

Come to think of it I stayed in Clarissa’s room because I wanted to welcome her back, but I must of fell asleep so how did I get back to my room, mom had gone to bed. Did Clarissa carry me to bed, it’s the only explanation. Unless I was sleep walking back to bed… nah.

Clarissa, did you get any sleep.” I ask, she stares at me. Her face says – Are you serious.

“No, the last thing I want to do is sleep.” She replied. I wonder how last night went with meeting her Grandfather after such a long time.

Is Clarissa still angry with me, I wasn’t considerate enough last night. I don’t know why I wanted to be with her last night.

“This is for you Zoe, my Grandfather insisted that if you are allowing me to stay here you should be compensated. This money is for allowing me to stay here and if any repairs need to be made, because of me.” Clarissa hands mom a check. Mom’s eyes widen. “5,000.” Clarissa nods.

“There will be more, over the time I stay here.” I guess being vampires you make lots of money, over the time they live.

“Clarissa, do you have taste buds? And where did you learn to cook.” Mom asks her.

“I do have taste buds, but they are more accustomed to blood. Only sweets and tea have some taste. All other food is bland or abhorrent when I eat them. If I consume too much, I become ill. I learned to cook from Aunty Jane, my old friend Olga she was a servant at our household, but we didn’t treat her like one. Then there have been many people over the years who have taught me their favourite dishes. It’s sad though.” Clarissa has a sip of tea.

“I can create these delicious foods, yet I cannot eat them they become vile in my mouth.” Clarissa says.

“Alice, tell me about yourself.” Clarissa asks.

“Well, I’m 13 almost 14 on July 22nd, I go to school at Boston High. I like computers, going out shopping, anything really.” I only have a few interests.

Clarissa remained expressionless, just staring at me, analysing me. She just turns her attention to mom. She nods and turns to mom. “What do you do Zoe?” Clarissa asks.

“I am a police officer, I work during the week and sometimes Sunday.” Mom says, she’s proud of what she does. “Today is Sunday.” Clarissa states to her. Mom’s eyes widen looking at the clock, she then forces food into her mouth running up the stairs.

“She must be working today.” I mutter to Clarissa. Five minutes later mom comes back down in a blue uniform.

“I need to go, I start at eight, Alice darling can you lock up and then show Clarissa around the city. Do you need any money?” Mom says hurriedly. Clarissa shakes her head, mom runs out the door.

“So, Alice do you know some place where I can trade in uncut diamonds.” Clarissa says pulling out a small bag.

“Where did you get them?” I question. “I got it on one of my journeys. I gave it to my Grandfather for safe keeping” Clarissa replied.

“So, what do you do for fun around this city?” She asks, I smile. Time to have some fun and even make trouble.

“How is your Grandfather, Clarissa? I am sorry to hear about him and for my behaviour last night.” She looks at me.

“Your apology is accepted. My Grandfather is feeling much better, now that I have returned. You may meet him one day.” She continues eating her chocolate cake.

“I am just going to get changed, then we can get ready to go shopping and have some fun today.” She nods. She is sitting like a lady, her legs together at an angle. Like the posh ladies from the Victorian time.

“Take your time Alice, I have all the time in the world.” She must have all the time in the world being a vampire. I wonder will Clarissa truly live forever?

What to wear? Some jeans, green stripped long sleeve t-shirt, black sneakers and some pilot sunglasses. Just need to brush my brunette hair, it’s so long and thick brushing it is a challenge some days. I like the way I look and the way I dress. My best features are my eyes they are hazel with a hint of emerald eyes and small nose. My mom says I have such lovely skin, it’s smooth and only has a few freckles. I do have some on my arms. But I do get acne sometimes which is annoying.

I just realise something different about what Clarissa’s wearing. “Clarissa, where did your red crystal necklace go.” She touches her neck.

“I put my engagement necklace in my room and replaced it with my wedding ring and my Grandmothers wedding ring on a chain. Now that I am a widow.” She shows me the chain, I touch her back she flinches a little then puts her back against my hand. She’s allowing me to touch her, I gently rub her back.

“I am sorry Clarissa, for everything that has happened to you. I hope to amend the errors of my Great Grandfather and the humans. I will make it my duty to help you in any way I can. That is a promise.” I give her my pinkie, she looks at it for a moment. She takes my pinkie in hers.

“I’ll hold you up to that promise, Alice.” Clarissa is just staring at me, she doesn’t smile put her eyes tell me she’s a little happy. There is so much to do today where should we start.

“Hey Midnight.” He walks into the kitchen.

Meow, “Do you want any new toys.” Midnight meows nodding his head. I still can’t get over that my cat Salem, I’ll call him Midnight now, can understand me. It’s amazing, the power that a vampire has and what they can do.

“Can you do me a favour. Kill that mouse, that has been running around the house.” He gives a long meow, I think Midnight gave me attitude.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Kim Murray

Young Australian woman, trying to build her writing profile to create a future from herself in writing. Living everyday to the fullest as I am, discovering old memories and new ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.