Fiction logo

Chance Meeting

Fated

By Liliana CresswellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A DND character I played.

“Damn it, I can’t hit anything tonight,” growled Lucille. The arrow that she aimed at the deer had missed. Alert to the fact that it was being hunted, the deer scurried off into the woods. Determined not to lose her target, Lucille pursued the deer.

As she was running, Lucille let a flurry of arrows fly from her bow. Unfortunately, the deer dodged every one of her arrows. This did not deter Lucille in the slightest. She was determined not to let the deer get away.

Moonlight seeping through the forest canopy lit the way. The sound of crunching leaves could be heard as Lucille’s feet hit the ground. Exertion from running was causing Lucille to breathe heavily, but she pushed through it. Only inches away from the deer, Lucille pulled out her sword from its sheath.

It was over in a second. Lucille got to her feet. She wiped the bloody blade on the grass. Saying a prayer to the deity above, Lucille began preparing the deer into smaller bits. Lucille was so engrossed in her task that she did not notice that she was no longer alone.

“You know, you could have nailed that deer much quicker if you were more focused.”

Lucille frowned. After all the trouble that she had gone through to catch this deer, Lucille didn’t want to hear hunting advice from a stranger. With every intention of telling the stranger off, Lucille looked up.

Her breath caught in her throat. Lucille was face to face with the most handsome man that she had ever seen. He had long, black hair that fell slightly past his shoulders, framed by a face that held the most hypnotic eyes she had ever gazed into. Despite the chill of the autumn air, Lucille could feel her cheeks growing heated.

“Are you okay?” asked the stranger, confusion lighting up his pale face.

Feeling slightly awkward for staring at the young man for so long, Lucille forced herself to speak.

“I’m alright. I wasn’t expecting anyone else to be out here at this hour,” Lucille explained. Then, she added, “Who are you anyway? I haven’t seen you around here.”

“My name is Nicolai,” replied the young man. “May I ask your name?”

“Lucille Stormwind.”

Lucille took in his peculiar clothes. He was wearing a white button up shirt with a pair of black pants. It was an odd choice for this time of the year. The material looked paper thin. A slight breeze from this early October night swept through her hair sending a chill down her spine.

“Aren’t you cold? I know I am and I'm wearing far warmer clothes than you.”

“Yes, but it’s not my choice of clothing that’s to blame,” replied Nicolai. The man smiled in a mysterious way. It was as if he was enjoying some private joke.He paused before speaking again. “About that thing that I told you earlier, I still want to help.”

“I’m the best shot in our village,” stated Lucille. She puffed out her chest and raised her chin before continuing, “I don’t need your help with my aim. I have been distracted lately. That’s why I was having difficulties hitting my target.”

“If you don’t mind me asking, what has been the source of your distraction?”

“My betrothal to a man that I don’t love nor have any desire to marry.”

“Why do you feel this way? Surely it can’t be as bad as it seems.”

Lucille froze. All of the word vomit seemed to stop.

“I don’t know why I am telling any of this to you,” she said, frustrated. “I just met you. Yet, for some reason, I feel comfortable with you. Like I have known you for years.”

Nicolai smirked. This time, his teeth were showing. Pearly white fangs glinted in the moonlight.

“I have that effect on people.”

Lucille’s emerald eyes grew to the size of dinner plates. Something clicked into place as she stared at Nicolai.

“Vampire,” gasped Lucille.

“Oh, yes. I am a vampire. Good to see that your observation skills are working,” joked Nicolai, rolling his eyes. “What’s next, are you going to kill me?”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Liliana Cresswell

Co author of the Shieldheart Series with Leotie Valhana.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.