Fiction logo

Broken Mirror

Broken Mirror

By Gasim Masaad AliPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

Staring back at me was a figure that was a distorted version of myself. He had my eyes, but they were sunken and dark, almost like he hadn't slept in days. His skin was pale, giving a ghostly appearance, and his lips were pulled into a tight line, strained with worry. I gasped, stumbling backwards, my heart pounding in my chest as I tried to fathom what I was seeing.

I had only been in this house for a few weeks, but something about the old mirror had drawn me to it. I had noticed it right away, the way it had seemed to call to me, and I had been captivated. It had been passed down to me from my great aunt, who had inherited it from her grandmother. She had warned me to never touch it, to never look into it, but I hadn't listened.

I was starting to regret that decision now.

I stepped back towards the mirror, my curiosity piqued despite my fear. I peered closer, trying to make out the figure in the reflection. He was wearing the same clothes I was, but his features had a strange, ethereal quality to them. His skin seemed to glow in the dim light of the room, and his eyes seemed to be looking right into my soul.

I quickly looked away, my heart racing. I had a feeling I was in for more than I bargained for.

I took a deep breath and steeled myself before turning back to look into the mirror. This time, I was greeted with a different reflection. Instead of my own face, I was looking into the eyes of a woman. She was wearing a long, white dress and had a gentle smile on her face.

My breath caught in my throat, and I felt a chill run down my spine. I had never seen this woman before, and yet I felt a deep sense of familiarity. I couldn't take my eyes off of her, and I felt my hand slowly reach out towards the glass.

Suddenly, the woman's smile faded and her eyes widened. She seemed to be looking right at me, as if she could see me through the reflection. I felt a wave of fear wash over me as I realized what was happening.

The woman spoke, her voice calm and serene. "You must not touch the mirror. It will show you a world you never knew was there. But you must be careful, for it will also open the door to an alternate reality that will slowly start to bleed into this one."

My hand hovered in midair, my mind spinning from the woman's words. I had no idea what she was talking about, but I felt a deep sense of dread wash over me. I slowly backed away from the mirror, my body trembling.

The woman's voice echoed in my head. "The mirror has the power to change your life, but you must be careful. Do not touch it."

I quickly ran out of the room, my heart pounding in my chest. I had no idea what I had just witnessed, but I knew one thing: I was never going to look into that mirror again.

From that day forward, I was always careful to stay away from the old mirror. I had no idea what lay beyond it, but I didn't want to find out. It was a reminder of what could happen if I wasn't careful, and it made me shudder to think of the consequences.

Little did I know, the alternate reality the woman had warned me of was slowly starting to bleed into my own. I began to have strange dreams that felt more like memories, and I started to have a feeling of déjà vu. I couldn't explain it, but I knew something was off.

It wasn't until I started to notice the eerie similarities between my life and the reflection in the mirror that I realized what was happening. I was slowly being drawn into an alternate reality, one that I was slowly becoming a part of.

The woman in the mirror had been right; I should have never touched the mirror. I was now trapped in a world I never knew existed, and I had no idea how to escape . All I could do was keep my distance from the mirror, and hope that I could survive this nightmare.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Gasim Masaad Ali

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.