Fiction logo

Broken Mirror or Broken Reality

a tale of horror

By DIYStudentPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or a strange optical illusion. But as I leaned in closer, I realized that the figure staring back at me was someone else entirely.

The reflection was a woman with dark hair and piercing green eyes. She was wearing a long, flowing dress that seemed to shimmer in the light. Her features were striking, and I couldn't help but be drawn in by her gaze.

I had never seen this mirror before. It had appeared in my bedroom overnight, and I couldn't explain how it got there. But something about it seemed off, like it was a gateway to another world.

As the days went by, I found myself drawn to the mirror more and more. Every time I looked into it, the woman's reflection seemed to become clearer and more defined. Her world, too, was becoming clearer. I could see mountains in the distance, a sprawling cityscape, and a strange mist that seemed to hover just beyond the horizon.

It wasn't until one night that things took a turn for the worse. I had been standing in front of the mirror, lost in thought, when I noticed something strange. The reflection of the woman was no longer standing alone. There were others with her now, shadows that seemed to flicker and dance around her feet.

I tried to pull away, but something held me in place. It was like the mirror had a grip on me, and I couldn't break free. The shadows grew larger and more distinct, and soon I could make out their forms. They were creatures, twisted and grotesque, with razor-sharp teeth and glowing eyes.

I felt a scream building in my throat, but it was stuck there. I couldn't move, couldn't speak, couldn't do anything but watch as the creatures emerged from the mirror and began to move towards me.

It wasn't until they were inches away from me that I finally snapped out of it. I stumbled backwards, tripping over my own feet, and crashed to the floor. When I looked back up, the mirror was empty. The creatures and the woman were gone.

For a while, I tried to convince myself that it was just my imagination, that I had been hallucinating or dreaming. But deep down, I knew that wasn't true. There was something wrong with that mirror, something sinister and dangerous.

Over the next few days, strange things began to happen. Objects in my room would move without explanation, doors would open and close on their own, and I would wake up in the middle of the night to find the woman's reflection staring back at me.

The mirror was becoming more powerful, and the alternate reality it showed was starting to bleed into my world. I could feel it, like a darkness creeping over everything.

I knew I had to do something. But what could I do? I tried covering the mirror with a blanket, but it didn't help. I tried moving it to another room, but it always seemed to find its way back to me.

In the end, I knew there was only one thing left to do. I had to destroy the mirror.

It wasn't easy. The mirror seemed to resist every attempt I made to break it. But finally, after hours of hammering and smashing, the glass shattered into a million pieces.

And that should have been the end of it. But it wasn't.

The fragments of the mirror seemed to take on a life of their own. They began to swirl and dance around the room, like a swarm of angry bees. And then they started to reform, piecing themselves back together, like a jigsaw puzzle.

I watched in horror as the mirror reformed itself, becoming whole again. And then I saw something move inside the mirror. It was the woman's reflection again, but she looked different this time. Her features were twisted and distorted, and her eyes glowed with an otherworldly light.

I tried to run, but it was too late. The mirror shattered once again, and this time, the fragments seemed to come to life. They swirled around me, cutting my skin and drawing blood. I screamed in agony, but no sound escaped my lips.

As the fragments continued to swirl around me, I felt myself being pulled towards the mirror. It was like a black hole, drawing me in with a force I couldn't resist. And then I was inside.

The world on the other side was nothing like I had ever seen before. It was a world of shadows and darkness, with twisted trees and jagged mountains. The air was thick with a noxious gas, and the ground was littered with bones.

And there was the woman, standing in the center of it all. She was taller now, and her features were even more distorted. But her eyes were the same, and they seemed to bore into my soul.

"You shouldn't have broken the mirror," she said, her voice echoing in my head. "Now you're stuck here with me."

I tried to back away, but there was nowhere to go. The world around me seemed to be closing in, like a cage. And then the woman started to change, her body twisting and contorting until she was something else entirely. Something far worse.

I won't describe what I saw. It's too terrible to put into words. But let's just say that I knew, in that moment, that I was going to die.

And then I woke up. I was back in my bedroom, lying on the floor. The mirror was gone, and everything was quiet. But I could still feel the darkness around me, like a presence that wouldn't go away.

I never spoke about what happened to anyone. I was too afraid, and I didn't want to be thought of as crazy. But I know what I saw, and I know that it was real.

Sometimes, late at night, I can still feel the darkness closing in. I can still hear the woman's voice, whispering to me from beyond the grave. And I know that the mirror is still out there, waiting for its next victim.

Years have passed since the terrifying incident with the haunted mirror, but the memory still haunts me. I moved to a new home, far away from that cursed mirror and the alternate reality it revealed.

But even in my new home, I can't escape the feeling of being watched. I sometimes catch glimpses of movement out of the corner of my eye, and strange noises in the middle of the night.

I fear that the mirror's influence is still with me, that the alternate reality it revealed is still trying to bleed into my world. And I worry that one day, it will succeed.

I've tried to warn others, to tell them of the dangers of that mirror. But nobody believes me, and I'm left to face this nightmare alone.

And so I live my life, constantly looking over my shoulder, waiting for the day when the darkness will come for me again.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.