Fiction logo

Broken Mirror

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was an alternate version of myself, one with dark circles under their eyes and a haunted expression that made me shiver. But it wasn't just the reflection that was different. It was the room beyond the mirror, too.

By Zulqarnain HaiderPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Broken Mirror
Photo by Ian Battaglia on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was an alternate version of myself, one with dark circles under their eyes and a haunted expression that made me shiver. But it wasn't just the reflection that was different. It was the room beyond the mirror, too.

I could see a world beyond the glass, one that was twisted and distorted. The colors were muted, and the air felt heavy and oppressive. It was a place that I didn't recognize, but it felt familiar in a way that made my skin crawl.

As I stared into the mirror, I felt a cold chill run down my spine. I knew that something was wrong, that the world beyond the glass was not just a figment of my imagination. It was real, and it was bleeding into my world.

Slowly, at first, I began to notice small changes. Objects would disappear and reappear in different places, and the colors of the world seemed to fade. But as time went on, the changes became more pronounced.

The air grew colder, and the light became dimmer. The sounds of the world beyond the glass began to seep into my world, and I could hear whispers and voices that I couldn't understand.

I tried to ignore it, to push the world beyond the glass out of my mind. But it was impossible. The world was bleeding into my reality, and there was nothing I could do to stop it.

As the days turned into weeks, the changes became more drastic. The world beyond the glass was becoming more real with each passing moment, and I could feel it consuming me.

And then, one day, I stepped through the mirror. I didn't even realize what I was doing until it was too late. I was in the alternate reality, and it was like nothing I had ever experienced before.

The air was thick and oppressive, and the colors were muted and dull. I could hear the whispers and voices more clearly now, and they were haunting and strange.

I tried to find my way back, but it was impossible. The mirror was gone, and I was trapped in this twisted world, slowly losing myself to its dark and haunted reality.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months as I wandered through the twisted and distorted reality that lay beyond the mirror. It was a world of shadows and darkness, where nothing was quite as it seemed.

I encountered strange creatures that seemed to be made of darkness and mist, and their whispers followed me wherever I went. I could feel their eyes on me, watching me as I stumbled through the desolate landscape.

As time went on, I began to realize that I was not alone in this world. There were others here, like me, who had been trapped in this alternate reality. They were lost souls, wandering aimlessly through the darkness.

We banded together, trying to find a way out of this twisted reality. But the more we searched, the more we realized that escape was impossible. The mirror had become a portal, a gateway between our worlds, and it had trapped us here.

As the days wore on, I began to feel as if I was losing my grip on reality. The whispers and voices grew louder, and I could feel them clawing at my mind, trying to pull me deeper into this world of shadows and darkness.

But then, one day, we stumbled upon a strange and ancient artifact. It was a talisman, a relic from a time long forgotten. It pulsed with a strange and otherworldly energy, and we knew that it held the key to our salvation.

We gathered together, holding hands and focusing our energy on the talisman. And then, in a blinding flash of light, we were pulled through the mirror and back into our world.

It was a relief to be back, to feel the warmth of the sun on our faces and the fresh air in our lungs. But we knew that we could never forget the horrors that lay beyond the mirror, and the twisted reality that we had been forced to endure.

We destroyed the mirror, hoping that no one else would ever have to endure what we had gone through. But we knew that the darkness that lay within it would always exist, waiting to ensnare another unsuspecting victim.

And as I looked back at the shattered pieces of the mirror, I knew that I would never be the same again. The world beyond the glass had changed me, leaving me with scars that would never fully heal.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Zulqarnain Haider

I write short stories and poetry. I hope you find yourself in between the spaces of my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.