Fiction logo

Broken Mirror

Broken Mirror a Horror Story

By Qamar malikPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Broken Mirror
Photo by Jilbert Ebrahimi on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light, but as I moved closer, I realized that something was very wrong. The person looking back at me had the same features as me, but their expression was twisted into a sinister grin. I shuddered and looked away, but when I turned back, the reflection was still there, taunting me.

I had inherited the mirror from my grandmother, who had always warned me to be careful around it. She had claimed that it was cursed, that it had the power to show you your darkest fears and desires. Of course, I had dismissed her warnings as the ramblings of an old woman, but now I wasn't so sure.

As the days went on, I found myself drawn to the mirror more and more. There was something hypnotic about the way the other me looked back at me, almost as if it was trying to communicate with me. At first, I resisted the urge to touch the glass, but eventually, I gave in.

The moment my fingers brushed against the surface of the mirror, I was plunged into an alternate reality. It was like nothing I had ever experienced before. The sky was a sickly shade of green, the trees were twisted and gnarled, and the air was thick with the stench of decay. In the distance, I could hear the sound of laughter, but it wasn't the kind of laughter that brings joy. It was a hollow, mocking sound that made my blood run cold.

I stumbled through the landscape, feeling like I was trapped in a nightmare. Every step I took seemed to take me deeper into the darkness, and I knew that I had to find a way out before it was too late. But no matter how hard I tried, I couldn't seem to escape the haunted mirror's grasp.

As the days turned into weeks, I began to notice strange things happening in my own world. Objects would move on their own, doors would open and close without explanation, and I would catch glimpses of shadowy figures out of the corner of my eye. At first, I tried to tell myself that it was just my imagination, but deep down, I knew that something wasn't right.

One night, as I was lying in bed, I heard a faint whisper coming from the direction of the mirror. At first, I thought I was imagining things, but then the whisper grew louder, until it was almost a scream. I sat up in bed, my heart pounding in my chest, and I knew that I had to confront the mirror once and for all.

I made my way to the mirror, my hands shaking with fear and anticipation. When I looked into the glass, I saw the other me staring back at me, its eyes filled with malevolent glee. I knew that I had to destroy the mirror, to break the curse that had been placed upon it.

With a shaking hand, I picked up a nearby hammer and brought it down on the mirror. The glass shattered into a million tiny pieces, and I felt a wave of relief wash over me. For a moment, I thought that everything was going to be okay, that I had won the battle against the haunted mirror.

But then I heard the sound of laughter, the same hollow, mocking laughter that I had heard in the alternate reality. And I knew that I had made a terrible mistake. The mirror wasn't cursed, it was a portal, a gateway to a world that I was never meant to see. And now that I had destroyed it, there was nothing to stop that world from bleeding into mine.

As I sat there, surrounded by the broken shards of glass, I realized that I had doomed myself. The haunted mirror had claimed me

Short StoryHorror
1

About the Creator

Qamar malik

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.