Fiction logo

Branches of Silence

by Alex Kelly

By Alex KellyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Branches of Silence
Photo by niko photos on Unsplash

My favorite part of the day is observing the deep emotions of those who pass by me. Occasionally, I will be ever so lucky to witness one who understands the importance of stillness, one who takes the time to be my companion, even if just for a moment. I admire people, I really do - their creativity, their ambition, their eyes who have seen so much. However, I do not envy them. I was made with a purpose and I’m proud of who I am. I’m proud of the care I get to show people. My branches bring shade on bright summer afternoons; my leaves bring art projects to imaginative children; and my massive trunk brings protection to the delicate.

One special soul in particular, Sarah Beth, found easement in my rooting. She was eight years old when I first met her. At first she was shy, only taking a few moments to catch glimpses of my intricate molding. As time moved on she began to turn these moments into visits – intentionally coming for me. She would sit underneath my shade, picking the marigolds that blossomed underneath me. The breeze would blow and my leaves would fall softly upon her head – my gift from me to her. She kept my gifts in a box as a reminder of my steadfastness throughout the seasons - something she was missing at home.

Sarah Beth had the most beautiful smile, one of those that could brighten any room. She had a heart of pure gold, one that cared not for her but for others. She had hands of silk that would brush upon my branches, reminding me of her innocence.

Despite the joy that radiated from her being, she had heartache. For hours she would lie under my shelter telling me of the daggered words of those she considered her friends. She would tell me of her times of loneliness. She would tell me of the hurt that came from those who should love her most – showing me the bruises of proof.

How one could ever do or say anything against Sarah Beth will always be a mystery to me. I think this is why we got along so well, all those days in the park. I did not speak out against her. I merely listened and comforted. Endearing silence was our bond.

After one of our visits, one that contained more tears than desired, and after Sarah Beth was long gone, my days in the park came to its conclusion. The humming of my enemy roared, and its teeth devoured my strength. I never realized the lack of control I had until this moment, as I crashed upon the earth. All I could think of was Sarah Beth. I thought about her face and the sadness in her eyes. I thought about the confusion that would take over when she realized I was gone. Who would listen to her? Who would protect her? Who would love her?

Years later, these questions still haunted my thoughts every second of everyday. As I sat on the shelf, surrounded by others just like me, I couldn’t help but wonder how many Sarah Beth’s they left behind. As I watched the people pass by, hardly glancing our way, I wondered how many of us they had lost.

I tried to find comfort in past memories, but I felt as if hope had disappeared...until one remarkable afternoon. There was nothing particularly special about this day. I was lost in my thoughts; thoughts that had begun to slowly kill me, when a pair of hands picked me up – hands all too familiar, hands of silk, hands of my Sarah Beth.

Sarah Beth still has the most beautiful smile. She still possesses a heart of pure gold, and while we no longer have our afternoon visits in the park, we have an eternity of memories and emotions forever on my pages. Memories and emotions now placed right upon my box of gifts. And while she no longer knows of my existence, I am able to love her in even more silence than before.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Alex Kelly

I love to write short stories bringing intimate objects to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.