Fiction logo

Birthday Treats

An American birthday in France

By J. LeePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Birthday Treats
Photo by Jordane Mathieu on Unsplash

"Bon anniversaire! Happy birthday!" I heard the call from just outside my bedroom door. The voice, my roommates, was cheerful, and I could just see that wonderfully goofy grin on the other side of the wooden portal, waiting for me to open it. Lumbering out of my cozy bed, I proved myself right. That smile, plastered to the face with cement, probably, was huge and reached the eyes. Happiness and joy oozed out of my roommate, quickly spreading to me.

I couldn't help but smile in return.

"Thank you! And happy not-birthday to you," I chuckled.

"Come on, get dressed! We must get you a cake. You must have a French cake for your birthday!" This was said as hands were clapped together excitedly, with a bit of a hop and bounce in step. As much as I agreed- I did need a French cake for my birthday- the pure joy and excitement radiated in that statement made me all the more motivated to make it happen.

"Okay, okay! Give me five minutes to get ready. I'll meet you in the kitchen."

"Oui, yes! Hurry, before the bakery is out of cakes!" My roommate then practically bounced off to the kitchen, already ready and waiting for me.

Closing my bedroom door, I quickly got changed out of my pajamas and into clothes for the day: dark jeans, grey t-shirt, and a dark blue pullover hoodie. After going to the toilet, I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth. It still befuddles me that the toilet and bathroom are separate rooms in France, but I'm sure it's just as confusing for French people in the United States to have it all in the same space. It's simply a different experience, is all.

While lacing up my shoes, my roommate came up to me. "There you are! It has been six minutes, let us go!"

"Alright, alright, just give me a second," I said through a light laugh. "I'm just putting on my shoes, then I'm ready to go. Do you have the keys?"

"Oh yes, right here!" The keys clinked in the hand in front of me, and, finishing my laces, I stood up and smiled.

"Then let's go!" And off we went.

The closest bakery that my roommate and I loved to go to was just down the street. Even if it weren't, there is no shortage of bakeries in France, so finding a different one wouldn't have been much longer of a walk. But, no matter which one you go to, they're always busy. The French love their bakeries, and I don't blame them for a second. After having fresh French pastries, I don't think I can ever go back to desserts in the States.

By Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

When we arrived a few minutes later, the line was already out the door. To be fair though, if you're not there before they even open, that's almost guaranteed to be the case- at least until after noon when all the best stuff is long since sold. Luckily for us, the 'out the door' line doesn't take long. You can fit 2, maybe three people inside before that's no longer an option. All told, we only really had about 5 or 6 people ahead of us, so the wait wouldn't be too bad.

In the meantime, we started talking about what kind of cake I wanted. In a perfect world, I'd want a fraisier- a delicate 2 layer sponge filled with cream and strawberries, then topped and surrounded by more cream and strawberries- but late January was still far too early to wish for such delicacies. Perhaps I could get an almond or chestnut galette, and get the piece with the hidden item to wear the crown. That would really make my birthday one to remember!

At long last, we were inside the shop. The smell of freshly baked bread and goodies was abundant, instantly making my mouth water and stomach growl. As predicted, there were no fraisiers, or any strawberry base dessert, in sight. While there was a nice looking chocolate cake, coated in a beautiful layer of chocolate mousse, topped with dark chocolate shavings, and a single raspberry, it was far too large for my roommate and I to eat ourselves. The galettes had already gone, and there weren't any other cakes that called my name.

By amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

We could have attempted going to another bakery, but the result could easily be the same, as we'd have to wait in those lines and the shops would begin to become combed through the goodies. Making a quick decision, we opted for a nice selection of smaller goods to munch on: a six flavor six pack of macarons, a chocolate éclair, a vanilla éclair, a paris-brest, lemon madeleines, and chocolate-filled croissants. None of these could possibly be a letdown, and allowed me the opportunity to taste even more mouth-wateringly perfect treats.

By Heather Barnes on Unsplash

After eating a few of these wonderfully fluffy and melt-in-your-mouth delicate sweets, we decided to take a nice stroll down the path by the river. It wasn’t overly warm for late January, but the sun was definitely shining, keeping us warm enough as long as we didn’t stay in the same position for too long. It seemed as if many other people had the same idea as we did, as we crossed paths with a few dozen others on their own journeys.

To think, everyone out there lives their own lives, oblivious to the simple joys in another’s life. What good things must these people experience? What woes are they running from, or towards? Is everyone out here enjoying a birthday the same as I? Who out there decided to get that chocolate cake, and are they enjoying it? Living in our own worlds, our own experiences, who’s slice of life will come forth, or end, today, of all days?

Happy birthday to me, let’s have an existential crisis on a nice walk, why don’t we? Nevertheless, the journey down the river and back passed pleasantly, as did the rest of the day. Naturally, it ended sweetly, with a few of our captured sweets left for the next morning.

By Razvan Mirel on Unsplash

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

J. Lee

French enthusiast, non-binary trans person, artist, writer, lover of animals, space, and the right for every living thing to experience their existence authentically.

Pronouns: they/them (English) iel (French)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.