Fiction logo

Beautiful in my eyes…

*tiiit-tiiit-tiiit*

By Sid MarkPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

Tess’ cellphone signaled an incoming text message, “Happy Birthday Tess! I hope you have no plans for your birthday, can I invite you for dinner?” the message read.

It was Arnold. It’s been a long time since she talked to him, nor replied to his text messages. She didn’t understand why she replied now, “Thank you Arnold. But I don’t celebrate my birthday and you know why.”

Arnold’s reply to her didn’t take long, “I know Tess, that’s why I am asking you out. We should remove the sad memories attached to your birthday. Please Tess, just this once?”

Irritated, but a smile managed to escape from Tess’ lips. Still the same old persistent Arnold, she thought. But she knows he’s right, she should be happy on her birthday.

“I guess you’re right. Okay, pick me up at 7 tonight,” she texted to him.

“Thank you very much Tess. See you tonight” was Arnold’s reply.

Thirty minutes before the appointed time, Arnold was already ringing the doorbell of Tess’ house. After seeing her mother, and asking permission to take Tess out for dinner, the two went on their way.

“So, where are you going to take me for dinner?” Tess asked.

“You’ll see,” was Arnold’s brief reply.

As Arnold was driving, Tess noticed the place where they were going. “I don’t know of any restaurants here,” she said.

“Because we’re not going to any restaurants!” said Arnold.

“So, where are we going?” asked Tess again.

“Here,” said Arnold as he stopped the car and quickly got off, and went around to open Tess’ door to help her alight from the car.

“Where’s this?” as she handed her hands to Arnold and got off the car.

“Welcome to my place,” he said.

“Your place? You live here? Alone?” came Tess’ series of questions.

“Yes, I live here, and yes, I am alone. Come inside. Make yourself comfortable,” as he guided her inside the house.

“So, you’re alone… and I am here with you, alone…” Tess said, while still standing near the doorway.

“Why? Is there a problem with that?” asked a puzzled Arnold.

“Hello! Just in case you didn’t notice, I’m a woman, and I am here with you alone!” exclaimed Tess.

“Haha!” Arnold laugh, “Have you forgotten who I am? You know you’re safe with me, Tess. We’re here to celebrate your birthday, remember?” he continued, “now, why don’t you be a good girl and sit on the sofa while I go prepare our dinner,” winks Arnold, and disappeared in the kitchen.

A relieved Tess went in and sat on the sofa. She knows she is safe with Arnold. He never tried anything… which she felt makes him kind of boring sometimes, actually. “Oh well, at least I’m safe,” she murmured to herself.

Then, suddenly it became dark.

“Arnold, why did you turn off the lights?” Tess asked, although she cannot see where Arnold was.

“I didn’t turn off the lights, Tess. I dimmed them,” he replied, and lighted the candles on the table.

Arnold emerges from the dining room, bringing a bouquet of flowers, and approached where Tess was seated.

“Happy birthday Tess,” and hands her the flowers as he kissed her on the cheek.

“Thank you Arnold,” replied a smiling Tess.

“Come on,” Arnold gestured to Tess, and offered his hands again to assist her. “I hope you like what I prepared for you.”

Tess gave her hand to Arnold and followed him to the dining table, where he prepared a simple table setting for two, complete with candlelight.

“Hmm… Dinner by candlelight. How romantic!” exclaimed Tess.

Arnold assisted Tess to her chair and he sat opposite her. As if on cue, a sweet, soft music played on the background, while Arnold poured red wine on Tess’ glass.

“Red wine, just what the doctor ordered!” said Arnold.

Tess was smiling as she looked at Arnold and asked, “Arnold, are you trying to seduce me?”

“Seduce you?! No Tess. Seduction is hardly my game. That’s too childish and short lived. The only thing that I want to do right now Tess, is to make you feel special… because, you are special,” as he raised his glass and said, “Happy birthday to a very special lady.”

All she can reply was a smile.

She noticed Arnold to be different today. More composed and relaxed. He seems to be more confident and secure. A far cry from the intense and excited Arnold he knew just a few weeks back.

“And thanks to you, Tess” her thought was interrupted by Arnold’s voice, “I now know that not all pasta are called spaghetti.”

Soft laughter filled the air.

“I don’t suppose you were the one who cooked this fettuccine, right?” Tess asked Arnold.

“Tess,” Arnold replied, “I did say I want this to be special, right? What would make it more special than everything here being prepared personally by yours truly? Just don’t expect five-star standard please, I’m not a chef.”

“Not bad, really” said Tess, as she took a sample of Arnold’s cooking. “You really surprised me, Arnold… all these efforts, I am really elated. Thank you.”

“Anything to make this day special for you, Tess.”

“You’re my peace of mind, in this crazy world…”

Arnold looked at Tess, as the song Beautiful in My Eyes started to play… and he saw the sweetest smile and the most angelic face he has seen in his entire life.

A wordsmith just a few minutes ago, Arnold was suddenly lost for words. He didn’t know what to say, as he gazed at the beauty in front of him.

His hesitation however, was just brief. Arnold stood up and approached Tess, and once again offered his hands and said, “May I have this dance?”

Tess smiled, held Arnold’s hand as she stood up… and they dance to the beautiful song…

“You’re my Monalisa,

you’re my rainbow skies,

and my only prayer is that you realize… “

“Happy birthday Tess,” said Arnold who’s now facing her so close as they dance. “Thank you for giving me this opportunity.”

“Thank you very much, Arnold… thank you for everything,” replied Tess, as she looked Arnold in the eyes…

“You will always be, beautiful in my eyes,

and the passing years will show

that you will always grow

ever more beautiful… in my eyes”

Barely two years after her separation from a failed marriage, the scars are still fresh and the doubts in her heart yet undiminished. But that night, Tess feels calmer… relaxed. In the arms of Arnold, she felt safe… she felt special… she felt loved.

Arnold was just happy, holding in his arms… and so close, the woman of his dream. He knows there are no guarantees… she’s not yet ready. Tomorrow may be a different story. But it really does not matter to him now.

What matters is at that very moment, he is holding her so close to him while they dance.

All he wants is for Tess to be happy, to make her feel that she is special… and with Tess resting her head on his shoulder while they danced, he knew he was able to make her feel that… even just for that very special moment…

…and it’s all that matters to him.

“and the passing years will show

that you will always grow

ever more beautiful… in my eyes…”

Love
Like

About the Creator

Sid Mark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.