Fiction logo

As Long as the Marigold Lives

A beauty and the beast retelling.

By Quinn DoylePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
As Long as the Marigold Lives
Photo by Yash Garg on Unsplash

The petals on the marigold flower are starting to fall off. The edges are turning brown and crispy to the touch. The flower’s death means that Fabien should be arriving any day.

Marigolds can stay alive up to two weeks. I take care of the flower Fabien brings me to the best of my ability. I know that if I try to force the dying process, Fabien can’t come to see me.

His visits are linked to the life force of the marigold. Fabien is a florist, but he uses magic to accelerate growth. He also uses magic to connect himself to the marigolds.

He can sense when one is about to die, and as long as there is one alive in the castle, he can visit me. Somehow, his magic counteracts the spell that keeps me locked inside the property.

The King banished me to live the rest of my life in this abandoned fortress. He was not pleased to find out his youngest daughter was courting a commoner.

Magic keeps me stuck on the property. If I try to leave, even one step outside of the gates, I will die. The curse will kill me instantly. The King has always been one for drastic measures.

The idea is tempting sometimes. The loneliness is almost unbearable, room after empty room reminds me I am utterly alone. Then I think of my next visit with Fabien, and the dark thoughts drift away. I live for him, to see him again. He makes this life worth it.

Fabien doesn’t stay long, usually only one night. The spell he uses to enter the castle is physically draining to him. It doesn’t help that he uses magic on a daily basis for his work. He’s constantly magically exhausted.

I walk through the dimly lit hallways, dragging my fingertips along the cold, hard stones that make up the walls. I spend my nights staring at the entrance gates, waiting for Fabien to ride up on his horse.

I open the front door, the old wood creaking as I push on it. I leave it open as I wander onto the porch. No need to close it since I’m the only person going in or out of it.

I sit on one of the two chairs I have out front. The fabric is faded in the center of my chair. The other is much brighter; Fabien uses his chair much less.

I close my eyes and tilt my head back, letting the cool breeze dance over my face. The fresh air is much more pleasant than the stuffiness inside. Fabien doesn’t get the same feelings as me, but he would if he were here constantly.

Suddenly, I hear the clopping of hooves against dirt. My eyes fly open and the chair creaks as I push myself from it.

Fabien rides towards me, dismounting his horse at the gate. He wears a rucksack, which is unusual for him, and carries another singular marigold.

My grin grows, stretching far onto my cheeks. I rush down the steps and throw my arms around him. His hands grip my waist and he spins me around, lifting my feet off the ground.

“I missed you,” I say into his shoulder, hugging him tightly as we stop spinning.

Fabien kisses me atop the head. “I missed you too, my love.”

Being with Fabien has been the most rewarding and difficult experience of my life. Our courtship began before my banishment. I expected him to find someone better when I was sent away, but he remained faithful and loyal, visiting as often as possible.

At first, we could only communicate by letters. Then, he figured out a way to use his magic to allow him onto the property. He’s a genius. His persistence and love for me drove him to create bypassing spells.

“I have a surprise for you,” Fabien exclaims, a cheeky smile on his face.

“What is it?” I can’t contain my excitement.

Gifts are something I don’t get often. I don’t ask for them, and I don’t need them, but they’re always nice. More things to remember Fabien by when we aren’t together.

Fabien grabs my hand and starts walking toward the castle. “Let’s go inside.”

We climb the steps, each one creaking beneath our feet. I squeeze his hand as he leads me inside. When I don’t close the door behind us, he releases my hand to do so.

I raise a brow at him. “I didn’t realize we needed to close the door for the surprise.”

Due to the banishment curse, nothing living can enter the property, or the castle. I never worry about closing the door, besides during the winter to keep the cold out.

“Okay, are you ready? This one has been in the works for a while.” Fabien shoots me a wild grin, something I rarely get from him.

Usually, he’s very calm and collected. Even his smiles are controlled, not tainted with mischief, like this one.

“I’m ready.” I smile back, clasping my hands together.

Fabien slides the rucksack off, setting it gently on the floor between us. The rucksack moves, and my smile falters. There’s something wriggling around in there.

Fabien looks up at me, a smile still plastered on his face. Slowly, he opens the rucksack. I can feel my heartbeat everywhere in my body, growing faster, the closer Fabien gets to revealing the surprise.

A creature leaps out of the bag at me. I fall back and yelp in shock, throwing my hands up to cover my face. Something wets my hands, and my eyes fly open.

There’s a small dog in front of me, a bright yellow bow tied around its neck. I cover my mouth as I gasp. My vision blurs as tears well up.

“I got you a puppy, so you won’t be as lonely,” Fabien says, his voice soft. “I can’t always be here with you, but this little one can. I devised a spell that will allow her to stay here safely, forever, with you.”

“This is amazing, Fabien. I never expected this.” Tears stream down my cheeks.

I pet the puppy gently, running my hands over its small body. Its fur is soft and short, a mixture of browns and beiges. It stares up at me with golden-hazel eyes, as it tries to lick my face.

“What’s its name?” I ask, smiling at the puppy.

“Her name is Marigold, like the flowers I bring you. I thought it was fitting, especially with those eyes,” Fabien answers me excitedly.

“She’s perfect,” I exclaim, picking her up and hugging her close.

Marigold licks my chin, tickling me. I laugh and look at Fabien. He has a huge smile on his face, but there’s something else in his eyes. He’s hiding his sadness.

“What’s wrong?” I ask, gesturing for him to join my puppy hug.

He slides over, wrapping his arms around us. “One day I’ll figure out a way to stay here with you. Without it being attached to the lifespan of a flower, that is.”

“We will figure it out, don’t worry.” I squeeze him tightly, the puppy now licking his face. “Until then, we will make the most of our small visits together.”

Fabien kisses my forehead. I can feel him nodding into my hair, agreeing with me. The puppy is the most amazing gift I could have been given, especially from the love of my life.

I won’t be lonely anymore, and I’ll constantly be reminded of Fabien when he’s not here. I have the marigold flowers he brings me, and I have Marigold the puppy.

The temptations of walking off the grounds of the castle fade away from my mind. For the first time in a long time, I’m excited for the future head of me.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.