Fiction logo

As a woman walked

Impressnal

By mintooPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a woman walked down the streets one day, she spotted a beggar. The man looked pretty old, unshaven and ill-dressed. Every passerby looked at him with contempt; Not like they had anything against him, but merely because of who he was- a filthy beggar.

But when this particular woman saw him, she was filled with compassion.

The beggar was improperly dressed for a weather so cold. Precisely, he wasn’t dressed by wrapped up in what looked like a coat from a very old and not-so-warm suit. She kindly asked the man “Sir? Are you all right?”

The man looked at the women, who, clearly by her appearance was a demonstration of what people from a wealthy background looked like. The old beggar thought that she, like every other person, was mocking him. “Leave me alone,” he growled.

The women did not move. Instead, to his surprise, she smiled at him and gently asked if he was hungry.

“No, I’ve just come from dining with the president. Now go away.”-the beggar replied with a notable sarcasm. The woman’s smile did not fade. She slid her hands under the beggar’s arm and tried to pick him up.

“Woman, what do you think you are doing?” the beggar sounded annoyed.

“Is there a problem ma’am?” a policeman shouted, walking towards the lady and the beggar.

“Not at all officer. I’m just trying to get this man to his feet. Will you help me?”-the women replied

The policeman looked at her with surprise- “that man is old jack and has been here for years. What have you got to do with him anyway?”

“I am taking him to a cafeteria to eat something and to get him out of the cold for a while”- The women answered.

“Are you crazy, lady?” the homeless man resisted. “I don’t want to go in there!” Then he felt strong hands grab his other arm and lift him up. “Let me go, officer. I didn’t do anything.”

“It’s a good chance to feed yourself jack. Don’t blow it.”- The officer advised.

After a lot of difficulty, the woman and the officer managed to drag jack into the cafeteria. It was past breakfast and too early for lunch hour of the day. The manager strode towards the table and asked “What’s going on here, officer?” he asked. “Is this man in trouble?”

“She brought old jack in here to be fed,” the policeman answered.

“Not in my cafeteria! People like him are bad for business.”-the manager angrily retorted.

“Now you know why I didn’t want to come in here woman.”- Jack said to the lady-“now let me go. I never wanted to be here in the first place.”

The woman turned to the cafeteria manager and smiled. “Sir, I reckon you know Eddy and Associates, the banking firm down the street?”

“Of course I do, ” the manager answered impatiently. “They hold their weekly meetings in one of my banquet rooms.”

“And I guess you make a good amount of money through those meetings.”

“Why does it concern you, I anyway?”

“Because I am the CEO of the company” the women replied, showing no sign of pride in her statement. “Oh.”- it was all that the manager managed to say.

She looked at the officer- “Would you like to join us in a cup of coffee and a meal, officer?”

“No thanks, ma’am,” the officer replied. “I’m on duty.”

“Then, perhaps, a cup of coffee to go?”

“Yes, ma’am. That would be very nice.”

“I’ll get your coffee for you right away, officer.”-the manager immediately replied.

“You served him right,” he said.

“Oh, believe me officer, that was not what I intended. I have a reason behind all this.” She stared at Jack intently, and asked “Jack, do you remember me?”

Old Jack examined her face- “well you do look familiar.”- He thoughtfully added.

“Do you remember a cold and hungry girl who frequently visited this place when you worked here?” the women asked – “she has perhaps grown old hasn’t she?”

The officer looked surprised. He couldn’t imagine this fine looking woman as a poor and hungry woman

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

mintoo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.