Fiction logo

Arcade Hack and Slash

A Short Horror Story

By Timberly PricePublished about a year ago 13 min read
Like
Image created by the author using Stable Diffusion and Krita.

I sat at my computer desk, typing away on my laptop. I leaned back in my cheap plastic chair as I looked over the lone paragraph on my screen. My research paper was due in two days, but I had no energy to finish it. It didn’t help that spring break was right around the corner and I was looking forward to having that week off. Not that I could do much, I had no money to return home for that short period or go to the latest spring break hotspots, but at least I get a few days to catch up on rest.

I decided a nice cup of vanilla-flavored coffee would get me through another hour of writing. So, I walked the small distance to my kitchen from my bedroom in the tiny student apartment I was renting and started my coffee machine. While I waited for it to brew, I checked the social media apps on my phone and liked some of the pictures I scrolled by. It looked like a lot of people were starting their spring break early, going to amusement parks, chilling at the beach, and traveling to foreign countries. I couldn’t deny it, I was a bit jealous, but maybe someday I’ll have that luxury. For now, I just want to focus on my studies and make those dreams possible.

My coffee maker finished its process, and I grabbed the handle of my mug which was now filled to the top with light brown liquid. I blew on the steaming drink before taking a sip from it. It was the perfect pick-me-up, and I carried it back to my desk, carefully setting it on the dedicated coaster.

I went back to diligently typing out more of my paper, taking a quick swig from my mug every so often. After an hour, half of my paper was finished, and my coffee was gone. I looked out the window next to my desk, noticing a slight drizzle outside as small rain droplets hit the glass. It was starting to get dark outside, and I felt my stomach start to grumble.

I didn’t want to go out in this weather, and I’ve been trying to conserve my money, but I didn’t have much left in my fridge. I did have some ramen noodles in the cupboard, but four days in a row was pushing it. I hit save on my document before shutting down my computer. I grabbed my hoodie and handbag before heading out of my third-story apartment.

I made the trek a few blocks away to a local cafe and grabbed a ham and cheese sandwich along with a bottle of water. It was nice being out of the apartment for more than just classes. I watched the people from the window I was seated by, thinking about where their journey was taking them.

After I finished, I took my time getting back home. I meandered down the sidewalk, checking out all the little shops and restaurants that lined the streets. That’s when I spotted an arcade center. I had never seen one in this area before, and I wondered when they had moved in. It must have been recent because they still had a red and white, ‘Grand Opening,’ sign in the window.

I looked at the time on my phone, and it was only going on seven-thirty. I still had a day to complete the paper, and I was already halfway done. I could easily finish it after my last class tomorrow, so why not enjoy myself tonight? It may not be a trip to the Bahamas or Disney World, but it was the best I could do for spring break.

I walked into the arcade center, checking out all the different games lined around the place. It wasn’t a massive arcade, maybe about 30 different games total, but it had variety. An older woman with a slight bit of wrinkles on her aging face came over to me and said, “Hello, dear. Welcome to Astro Arcade. Can I help you out?”

I smiled politely at the woman and said, “I think I can manage.”

“Okay. If you need anything I’d be happy to help.” She held out a thin hand for me to shake and said, “I’m Nadia and I run this place with my husband, Sergio. He’s behind the prize counter.”

I shook her hand and said, “I’m Maya.”

“Well, have fun Maya. All games are half off this week since we just opened, so play as much as you want.”

“I’ll play what I can.”

Another customer came in, a mom and her son, so Nadia quickly went over to greet them. I gave a lighthearted chuckle as I walked over to the change machine. I checked my purse and found a few five-dollar bills and a twenty-dollar bill in there. I didn’t want to spend much, so I hoped a couple of fives would give me enough coins to play most of the games here.

I took my handful of coins from the machine, before perusing the arcade once again. I played a couple of rounds of skeeball before I moved on to newer arcade games. I netted a few hundred tickets from the games and decided to cash them in for a prize. I went with a miniature lava lamp and some sweets for when I’m writing my paper.

Before I left, I had about five more quarters to spend, so I played two of the six crane machines in the back. The machines didn’t seem to have been played much. They were still stocked pretty well. Sure they weren’t the best prizes, a couple of unbranded teddy bears and plush animals, but they were still cute nonetheless.

I used up my five quarters and wound up winning a gray cat stuffed animal that seemed to be blushing. Since I was out of coins, I knew it was my time to go home. I grabbed my winnings, giving a friendly wave goodbye to the owners, before heading back to my apartment.

When I returned, I set up my new lava lamp next to my laptop on my desk. I also grabbed a little plate for my sweets to put by the lava lamp. I wasn’t sure what to do with the cat plush, but I stuck it in the bottom corner of my bed for now.

Feeling tired, I got ready for bed and tried my best to get some shut-eye.

***

I was back at my computer, desperately trying to finish my research paper. I happened to have a restless night of sleep since all I could think about was this stupid assignment. I had about five more hours to turn it in, and the faster I did that, then the less time I have to worry. Plus, I could start my spring break.

Pushing all my anxiety aside, I decided to power through it the best I could. I trudged up three more paragraphs and my conclusion before rereading the lengthy paper. It seemed good enough, so I saved it and sent it off to be graded. Hopefully, the professor wasn’t too hard on it, but at least I was already at a steady A, so a lower grade wouldn’t hurt me much.

To reward myself for a job well done, I checked out the arcade once again. When I arrived, I noticed a flyer hanging in the window, Now Hiring. They had applications on a table underneath it, being weighted down by a business card holder. I took one before I headed inside, and Nadia bounded over to me. The older woman was so chipper, but it was a nice contrast to most people I encounter in this city.

“I see you grabbed an application,” Nadia mentioned as she pointed at the paper in my hand. “We were unsure if we wanted the help, but after being open for two weeks, a little bit of help is needed.”

“I understand,” I nod. “I could use the extra income while going to school.”

“We’d be happy to have you.” She smiled. “It’ll only be part-time too. A few times a week and the shift would be from five to ten at night.”

“That’d be great for me.”

“Fantastic! Fill out the application and return it when you can. Then we’ll talk more, okay?”

“Yes. Thank you, Nadia.”

She placed a delicate hand on my shoulder and said, “You’re welcome. Have fun.”

I folded the application carefully, placing it in my jacket pocket once it was a nice little square. I grabbed some coins with the money I had and started playing some of my favorite games from the last time I was there. I played until I ran out of coins and went back to my dorm to fill out the application I had received.

***

Two weeks later, I was now working the night shift at the local arcade. Some nights, Nadia even let me stay after closing to play some games if I wanted. Today was no different, we were closing up, and Nadia came to me as I cleaned the glass of the prize area.

“Are you staying tonight?” she asked.

I nodded as I dropped the rag into the bucket beside me. “I was thinking about playing a few of the claw machines before I head out.”

“Okay. Don’t forget to refill and fluff it before you leave.” She hitched a thumb toward the front entrance. “I also locked the front door like usual, so use the back entrance when you’re leaving.”

“Right. And flip the deadbolt as I exit, right?”

“You got it.” She patted my hand. “Have a good night, and we’ll see you on Friday.”

“See you then,” I smiled.

Nadia went upstairs to where her and Sergio’s apartment was, and I finished my jobs before playing with the claws in the back. Since most of the lights were off, it was quite dim in the arcade, the only lights illuminating the room were the games themselves and a few neon light strips around the ceiling’s edges. I had about five dollars worth of quarters, hoping it’d be enough to win the stuffed blue rabbit that was close to the prize chute. I popped a few quarters into the machine to load up a couple of credits. My time started counting down, so I grabbed the black joystick and moved it into position over the bunny. The claw dropped, grabbing the bunny below, but as it lifted it, the bunny fell back to his starting position. I knew this claw was one of the weaker ones out of the bunch, so I wasn’t too disappointed when the bunny fell out on my first try.

I played my next turn, bringing the rabbit closer to the chute. However, the glass was positioned right next to it, making it a difficult task. As I inserted my next two credits into the machine, I heard a creaking sound coming from the back entrance. I assumed it was just the old building settling, so I focused on the game. But, just as I thought I had it, the rabbit slid out from under the claw and landed on the edge of the chute. The bunny teetered on the glass, but gravity took over and it fell back into the machine.

I groaned, feeling defeated. I lifted my head to start my next turn, but what I saw in the reflection of the plexiglass stopped me in my tracks. I was not alone. There was a figure in all black, looming behind me. His heavy footsteps grew closer and closer. My heartbeat raced, seemingly in sync with the countdown on the claw machine.

Just as the claw descended from my time running out, the figure swung a large knife toward me in one swift motion. I jumped out of the way, narrowly avoiding the sharp blade. The figure advanced on me, and I realized I was in grave danger.

I scrambled to my feet, narrowly avoiding his next attack. Panic surged through me as I tried to come up with a plan. Should I run out the back door and risk him following me up to my employer’s apartment? Or should I try to reach them and get help? My mind was racing.

But I didn’t have time to think as he closed in, circling the group of hunting games I had taken refuge behind. He was relentless, and I knew it was either life or death at this moment. Every thought of escape seemed hopeless, and I was paralyzed by fear. Without a moment’s hesitation, I spun around and sprinted towards the stairs. My focus was solely on the man chasing me, and I didn’t pay attention to anything else in front of me. As I reached the bottom step, I ran into a pair of hands. I looked up and saw Sergio.

“Get upstairs and hide with Nadia,” he said urgently. “The cops are on their way.”

I obeyed and raced up the stairs, with Nadia pulling me inside and locking the door. She fastened the chain, then turned to me. Cupping my face in her hands, she asked, “Are you okay? Are you hurt?”

I shook my head, still catching my breath. “No, I’m fine.”

“I’m so sorry,” she whispered, pulling me into a comforting embrace. “I shouldn’t have left you alone.”

“No one could have predicted this,” I replied, looking down at the carpeted floor. “I just hope Sergio is okay.”

Just then, a loud crash echoed from downstairs, making Nadia and I freeze in fear. We held our breaths, hoping that Sergio had overpowered the killer and not the other way around. The minutes passed, and we waited in complete silence. Suddenly, a loud knock came from the door, making us jump. They banged again, and we heard Sergio’s voice yell, “It’s me! Open up!”

Nadia ran to the door, unlocking it to let her husband in. Sergio stumbled inside, holding his stomach which was covered in blood. He leaned against the kitchen island, then slowly slid down to the floor. Nadia knelt beside him, and asked with concern, “Sergio, what happened?”

“We got into a scuffle,” he groaned, wincing as he moved. “He sliced me, but I was able to overpower him and throw him into one of the games.”

“Is he still down there?”

“He should be,” Sergio replied, his voice weaker. “He was out cold before I came up here.”

As the sound of sirens filled the air, I let out a sigh of relief. “At least the police are on their way.”

***

The night of the attack still haunts me to this day, even though I’ve tried to put it behind me. Every time I close my eyes, I see the looming figure in black, brandishing his knife as he chased me. The fear that gripped me that night still sends shivers down my spine, even now.

The authorities never caught the killer, and the thought of him still being out there, hidden in the shadows, haunts me to this day. Despite taking measures to protect myself, the fear of him returning never fully goes away. The thought of him targeting me, or anyone else, keeps me on edge, and awake at night.

Thankfully, Sergio made a full recovery and was released from the hospital in just a few days. The three of us, bonded by the traumatic experience, grew even closer as we navigated our emotions and dealt with the aftermath of being targeted by a serial killer. As a precaution, I stopped staying late at the arcade and we all agreed to close a few hours earlier.

Though the killer remains at large, I hold onto hope that one day he will be caught and brought to justice. In the meantime, I try to live each day with gratitude, cherishing every moment and appreciating the value of life.

Short StoryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Timberly Price

Fiction writer and self-published author.

Follow me on Instagram: @timberlyprice_author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.