Fiction logo

Almost Time for the Rain

Time flows on, like most things.

By synriePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Almost Time for the Rain
Photo by Jay Shah on Unsplash

Marbaum’s, the local grocery store, opened at six in the morning.

When she arrived, it was still dark outside, the faintest stretches of sunrise slowly becoming visible. It was a quick trip since all she needed were ingredients, but it still felt like the morning had lasted an eternity by the time she made it home and preheated her oven.

She wasn’t a skilled baker and would never claim to know the first thing about cooking, but she took her time this morning, wanting to get it right.

This was for someone important, someone who loved chocolate cake.

“Done…I think,” she sighed over the slightly warped cake as she pulled it from the oven, letting it cool before slathering on the frosting.

It could’ve been better, but it could’ve been worse, she reasoned.

She knew her mom would understand.

Taking a slice of cake and wrapping it on an antique plate, she placed it in a basket along with other food she’d already prepared and carried it to her car. She switched on the radio, listening to the ’60s and tapping her fingers on the wheel to each song.

And then, she arrived. Far too soon, she realized, her fingers shaking as she reached for the door handle. Taking a moment to compose herself, she gathered the basket in her arms, holding it tight against her chest as she swung her door open.

The walk to the hill was longer today than it had ever felt, but then again, she thinks that every time she makes the trek. The sun had long since risen, the pink and orange of the sky giving way to blue. It was overcast, and storms were looking par for the course today.

Her mother loved rainy weather, so maybe it was just as well.

She climbed the hill and rested for a moment, enjoying the view from the top. After spreading out a blanket, she finally let herself rest on the ground, the thick material blocking tiny blades of grass from poking her legs. The tree that usually stood in full bloom on top of the hill was only now beginning to flower, recovering from a harsh winter.

“Hi, Mom.”

Talking as she finished pulling everything out of the basket, she took a strawberry and popped it in her mouth, humming at the taste.

“I was listening to your music on the way up. I think the Stones are growing on me.”

Raising metal to her lips, she sipped at ice-cold water, shivering a bit as it tickled her gums.

“I finished my degree a few months ago. I decided to take extra classes so it’d be a semester early. Graduating in the winter is so much better than the spring. I mean, by then, it’s basically summer, and everyone is hot and sweaty, so when I had the chance to go early, I did. Oh, where did I put the granola…?”

She found it, and when she did, she crushed it in her hands, pouring the crumbs onto yogurt.

“Finn still thinks I was ridiculous for going to college; what with that internship I got right out of high school? But I told him if I had to look at that company building again, I’d gouge my own eyes out. They just offered it because of you, and I didn’t feel like taking charity. I don’t think he would’ve taken it either if it had been him. He got his doctorate, finally. They’re expecting a kid, too, can you believe it? Finn called me last week freaking out; I mean, I’ve never seen him like that. It was kind of refreshing, actually,” she laughed as she admitted it, relishing in any chance to see her calm and collected brother show his true colors.

She finished the last of her yogurt, leaning back and enjoying the breeze. The sky was growing darker by the minute, and suddenly she felt something cold hit the top of her forehead.

“Ah, it’s raining. I know you loved the rain. I think I love it, too, but I think for a different reason.” She winced as another drop hit her face before concluding that this tree wouldn’t do much for cover in an actual storm.

A couple of drops became a drizzle, and a drizzle became a shower, and soon her frizzy hair was wet to the touch.

“I’m actually moving to Seattle next month. I got a job, believe it or not—a good one, right there in the city. I had no choice, really. How could I not take it? It was like you were telling me to go.”

Something wet and hot and not rain fell down her cheek, stopped by the sides of her nose. She wiped it away with her sleeve as soon as she felt it.

“You know, Dad was asking me about my plans for today as if he doesn’t already know. I’m going to visit him after this, and he’ll probably make your favorite again. I don’t have the heart to tell him I already did.”

She took a bite of chocolate cake.

“Mom…it’s really good this time.”

Short Story
2

About the Creator

synrie

a creative

lover

definitely not a fighter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.