Fiction logo

A Trip of a Lifetime

Life is a journey that can change in the blink of an eye.

By Carrie Ann AlexisPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
1
Photo by Sebastian Beck from Pexels

“1.2 million dollars? Did you actually say one. Point. Two. Million. Dollars?” Michael scoots to the edge of his chair as if getting closer will allow him to hear better. One hand is clutching his chest and the other resting on the desk in front of him. With an eyebrow raised, he looks at the lawyer waiting for his reply.

“Yes, Mr. Alexander that is correct. Your Aunt Hazel instructed me to tell you the amount of your inheritance, and to give you this.”The lawyer hands him a sealed envelope.

Michael struggles to open the envelope. He alternates from fanning himself to dabbing his brow with one hand, as the other shaky hand holds onto the envelope. He finally manages to get it open; he takes a deep breath as he unfolds the paper, recognizing his aunt’s handwriting, he is overcome with emotion his hand involuntarily covers his mouth as he reads to himself.

My Dearest Michael –

Surprised? I can just picture you now, you frantically fanning yourself like you are about to pass out. Breathe dear, calm down, no need getting all verklempt.

Let me explain. I’ve spent my whole life trying to make everyone happy by doing what was expected of me, and what was right. I have decided that in my passing, I will finally do what I want. You and your mother are the only family I have left. Well…the only family by blood. There is actually someone else. There always has been someone else, but I think you already knew that. She, along with your mother are the other beneficiaries.

Being neighbors for so many years, and then young widowers for many more, Rose and I formed a bond that went beyond friendship. Our husband’s life insurance policies paid off our houses and left us enough money to raise our kids and live a comfortable life. Together we invested wisely and multiplied what we had. We had a good life together, and we were very happy.

Michael, she adores you, she remembers the conversations we all had talking about traveling and seeing the world. That is what I want for you Michael. I have watched you live your life to the fullest, not caring what anyone thinks of you or the choices you make. I want you to use this inheritance to travel and see the world. I want you to be happy. Please resist the urge to put this money into the hair salon. You’re smart as a whip and a damn good hairstylist, the salon will be just fine. Go. See the world!!

One final request. Please look after Rose for me and be sure to send her a postcard from all the faraway lands you visit.

Love-

Aunt Hazel

With a smile on his face, Michael carefully folds the letter, and places it back in the envelope, and whispers more to himself, “Wow.”

With pen in hand, the lawyer says, “I just need you to sign these papers. I’ve known your aunt for many years, she was an exceptional woman, she will be missed by a lot of people.”

Michael signs the paperwork, albeit in a bit of shock. He thanks the lawyer by shaking his hand and leaves the office.

The top was still down on his Beemer, the sun was still shining, as he started the car. As he pulled out of the parking lot, he didn’t turn the music on, instead, he let the wind wash over him as the memories flooded his mind, as he made the short trip to Rose’s house.

He has so many fond memories of long summer evenings spent with his Aunt Hazel and Rose. No topic was off-limits with the three of them. They would sit on the back porch talking and laughing until the lightning bugs came out. Even on the hottest of days, they sat and drank coffee, and snacked on Sara Lee Coffee Cake. Aunt Hazel would bring out the flavored coffee creamers whenever she had company, calling herself fancy.

He smiles at the memories and continues his drive. It’s unbelievable how drastically life can change in the blink of an eye.

As he pulls into the cul-de-sac, he sees the two familiar houses standing side by side. Even the house itself displays a loss all of its own. A house once so warm and inviting, seems to have lost its fervor without a life residing within it. Even the neighborhood has seemed to have lost its sparkle. He sees Rose, sitting on her porch swing, the slow-motion not unlike a pendulum of a clock that is just biding its time. As he walks up to the front porch, she sees him and smiles. They greet each other with a hug, as Michael says, “Hello there Doll Face.” This time with a little less enthusiasm, and a lot more melancholy.

Rose can only muster a single-word response, “Michael.” As she holds back tears and leans into his much-needed embrace, knowing this once joyous reunion has quickly turned bittersweet.

She reluctantly steps back and quickly wipes her eyes. “Let’s go inside. Hazel would have a fit if she knew we were standing out here blubbering all over the sidewalk.”

Michael follows her into a well-kept house. “Make yourself comfortable hon, the coffee is already on, I’ll be back in a minute.”

“I can help you.” Michael insists.

“It’s no trouble, you sit, relax, you’ve been driving all day.”

Michael stops and looks at all the beautiful pictures of Rose’s family displayed proudly on the mantel. Children, grandchildren, and a few great-grandchildren. Many include his Aunt Hazel, with that fabulous smile of hers. She did live a happy life.

Rose enters the dining room and sets a tray on the table. Michael takes a seat as she pours coffee. The Sara Lee coffee cake is already sliced, he grins as he takes a piece. “You know I had to do it, kind of feels like she’s here with us.” Rose takes a slice for herself.

“Ok Missy, spill it! Did you know about my inheritance?” He eyeballs her as he prepares his coffee with cream and sugar.

“Yes. Yes I did.” She says nodding her head. “Hazel was so practical that way. You know, my Frank passed away first. She saw how difficult it was for me to make all the arrangements and decisions at such a vulnerable time, but she helped me through it then. Shortly afterward, she sat your uncle down, and they got all their affairs in order, not knowing she would be burying him just a year later.” She pauses and solemnly shakes her head in disbelief. “Then once she and I started investing together and sharing more of our lives together, she sat me down too. I hated having to think about all that stuff, but that was Hazel, she was the planner, and she wanted the final say for her life.”

Michael quietly takes it all in as he sips his coffee. “So, Lovie, we have all this money to see the world, where to first?”

“Oh, Michael dear, those were just silly pipe dreams from a couple of old biddies. We were trying to live vicariously through you. Besides, I don’t think I’d want to travel alone at this point in my life.”

“First of all, you are not an old biddy Sugar. But I do understand your apprehension.” He reassures as he reaches over to lay his hand over hers. “But I tell you what, if ever you get a bug in your bonnet and you just need to get away, you call me, and I’ll be your travel companion. Belize . . . France . . . Switzerland . . . Wisconsin, skies the limit Chica, you let me know.”

“Oh, I couldn’t possibly ask you to do that Michael.”

“Rose. Look at me.” Michael says with a dramatic point towards himself, and an eyebrow raised. “I’m serious.”

“Well . . .If you are serious . . .there is some place . . .”

He clasps his hands in front of him and leans forward. “Really? Where?”

“My granddaughter is having one of those destination weddings in Hawaii in December, I wasn’t sure how I was going to get there alone, everyone is so busy preparing for the wedding I didn’t want to bother anyone to travel with me.”

“It’s done Darlin’, I’ll be your plus one. After the nuptials, we’ll get ourselves a place on the beach, hire us a cabana boy, and we’ll be sipping margaritas as we watch the sunset. Give me all the info and leave the details to me. You just worry about looking like the fabulous grandma that you are.” He takes her hand and kisses it with a loud “muah” sealing the deal.

“Oh Michael, thank you so much, I’m excited now.” She reaches over and gives him a hug.

Mumbling more to himself in silent outrage, “Hmpf . . .missing your grandbaby’s wedding . . .no siree . . .not on my watch!!”

Michael stays overnight and heads home in the morning. He genuinely enjoyed his visit; he makes a mental note to do this more often.

Before he gets on the road, he calls Nita, his business partner, and best friend. He knows she’ll want to hear all about his trip, and he’d rather talk with her without the interruptions of a busy day at the salon.

“Hey, I’m on my way back, let’s meet somewhere for lunch. I have so much to tell you!!”

“Ok great, I just found this wonderful new sub shop, called Firehouse Subs, it’s decorated like a firehouse, and was actually founded by firemen.”

“Oooo . . . sounds delicious.”

“Michael, they’re just subs. It’s in the strip mall on 119th Street. What time should I meet you there?”

“I can be there in about an hour and a half. Oh, and Nita, I wasn’t talking about the subs. Byee!!” he disconnects the call with a mischievous grin.

As they walk up to the sub shop, Michael reads the sign on the door aloud, “Founded by Fireman, Oooo now that’s fun, I hope we run into some. I mean literally . . .run into them.” He turns his head and nods as he looks at Nita and opens the door.

Giving him a playful push through the entrance, “Oh my god Michael, behave.” Nita says shaking her head.

After taking far too long to decide what he wanted to order, they finally get their food and find a table and sit down.

“So, tell me all about your trip.”

“Well. The ride down is always nice, the weather was gorgeous, I was cruising in my Beemer with the top down, and the tunes cranked up, the wind in my hair and not a care in the world.” He dramatically says as he looks off into the distance.

“Michael!!” Nita snaps her fingers and startles him out of his reverie. “How about you get to the part about meeting the lawyer.” She nods her head with a smile as she takes a bite of her sandwich.

He clutches his chest and laments, “You wound me with your harshness.”

With a dramatic eye roll, Nita takes another bite of her sandwich.

“Fine. I was getting to that part anyway. It seems that dear Aunt Hazel had a secret. Pfsh, like I didn’t already know.” He gave a dismissive wave of his hand.

“Really?” With eyes wide and eyebrows raised.

Michael nods his head and hands her an envelope, “The lawyer said he was instructed by my aunt to tell me the amount of my inheritance, and then give me this letter to read. Here, read it for yourself.”

Nita wipes her hands on a napkin and reaches for the envelope. She pulls a folded letter from it and reads it to herself.

“Wow Michael, that is wonderful!! When is your first trip? Where is your first trip?” truly excited for him.

“I’ll get to all that. Don’t you want to know how much?”

“Sure, if you want to tell me.” She replies as she reaches for her Coke.

Michael looks to his left then to his right. He leans forward and whispers, “One point two million.”

She almost spits out her drink, but instead starts coughing, but manages to say, “Are you freakin’ kidding me?”

“Nope.”

“Oh. My. God . . .Michael!!”

“I know right?” He says with his hand splayed across his chest. “But anyhow . . .before I left, I went to visit Rose. We had a very nice visit. Turns out, her granddaughter is having one of those destination weddings in Hawaii. Rose didn’t want to travel alone, so she thought she would miss it.” He lifted his shoulder in a half shrug, “I suggested that I be her plus one. The wedding is in December.” Thinking nothing of it, he takes a bite of his sandwich, then looks up at Nita.

She is just staring at him with a huge smile on her face.

“What?” He picks up a napkin and wipes his mouth.

“Michael!! You are simply the best.” She says with admiration.

“Yeah, I know. . .it is a gift.” He smirks as he drinks his iced tea.

Nita wads up a napkin and throws it at him. “Shut-up.” Laughing she shakes her head.

Love
1

About the Creator

Carrie Ann Alexis

Just me sharing my passion for writing through fictional stories as I do life as a single mom while building a business as a virtual bookkeeper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.