Fiction logo

A Tricky Trek

1-4 Weekly Story

By T.S. CranstonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

The warmth of sunlight had been erased and in it's place was the chill of fear that had settled into my legs and chest. I felt the light tremor of my body shake in the towering presence of the massive creature in front of me. My head was tilted back to its farthest point as I stared up to the shimmer of silver and blue scales that loomed high above. My breathing was short and frantic and I hated myself for it as I thought on the idea that animals could sense fear. If this titan could sense my terror then how would it react to my presence?

"He won't do anything to you. He can see me and he can tell my intent here is peace." Loki said.

His words were little comfort to me. In the presence of such a massive and commanding being I couldn't help but feel the large eyes above sizing me up as garnish to a larger meal it might seek out after crushing me in its jaws. I could feel the damp heat of its breath as the pressed lines of its scaled lips parted slightly. From out of the wide mouth came a large forked tongue, licking at whipping at the air around me as it summed me up.

The seas around the creature began to writhe and swirl as the wide body of the beast moved within the water. It lowered its head to my level, relieving the kink in my neck as I brought my head down to meet it's gold, sparkling eyes that were cut in the center by the black and red iris' it had. I focused only on one of the eyes as I waited for the beast to make its next move.

"Faatherrr?"

In my head I could hear the long and breathy sounds of speech that I knew had come from the beast. My brow raised at the sensation ahead of me and I felt the push of Loki as he began to speak with his son.

"Hail Jörmungandr. How fair the seas of late?" Loki asked.

"Empty of late. I had been asleep for so long but upon my awakening I had found myself hungry for any living things I could consume. Creatures large and small of the Midgardian seas were the first to sate my needs but after so long and with nothing to replenish the seas I am becoming reacquainted with that old hunger once more."

As the creature sneered and groaned I could smell the decay of lingering meals that were caught in the gaps of large fangs. I choked back a cough at the scent and raised my hand to my sleeve to offer my senses a reprieve from the aged assault of death.

"Tell me father. how did you come to be ensnared in this human? I had thought you still bound in the deep caverns below Asgard." The snake asked.

"That is part of the journey I am on currently. I cannot recall the actions that led to the strange circumstances you see me in currently. I come to you now in hopes that you can assist me in the matter."

The large beast moved closer to the edge of the building and spoke with a humble eagerness.

"Of course father. You are key in gaining our revenge against the lords of Asgard. You need only ask and I will do as you desire."

"I require a small amount of the venom you carry and a simple sliver of the ivory that your fangs are made of."

The snake parted his mouth open and from the top of its large mouth came the deep fangs that would release their deadly secretion. I reluctantly felt into the bag on my back and felt the empty jar I had taken from one of the small houses I had been at in the week past. With the lid removed I carefully extended the jar to the edge of the fang and was surprised to see the small amount that was released to the container. I had expected an overwhelming amount to have poured out but it was perfectly enough to have filled the jar completely.

"Carve gently at the lower fang here Virgil. You needn't press deep as the ivory will release the outline of scored lines that you make. Cut it at the same length of your arm." Loki said.

I had wanted to ask why we needed these items but knew I would not receive an answer and if by chance I had it wouldn't actually have been a straightforward one. I pulled an old pocket knife from my back pocket and approached the lower tooth of the animal. Pressing carefully at the large white pylon I saw the light mark of the blade as it pressed at the ivory. As I finished the outline I watched as the shape shook and pressed at the outline until finally dropping from the housing it had to the floor of the roof.

"Wrap it in your jacket before grasping it. It's sharp enough to slice your fingers clean off."

As I wrapped the new addition I heard the conversation continue between the serpent and Loki.

"I thank you Jörmungandr. Tell me, have you seen your brother Fenrir? I'll need his help in getting to the Bifrost."

The snake pulled back from the building and I watched the face of scales twist in thought at the question it was asked. For a long moment, he said nothing before turning his head down the south side of the harbor.

"I can sense him further down in the land. He is a decent distance farther inland as well. It will take you a long while before reaching him. He rests in deep caverns and canyons. Gold sunlight beats down upon his black fur, warming his hateful heart as he waits for the call." It said.

I felt the urge of Loki forcing me into a low bow at the beast.

"You have been a great help to me. I urge you now to return to your slumber. Soon the twilight shall begin and we will have our day of great success." Loki said.

Jörmungandr nodded slowly at me and turned to face the vast horizon of sea behind him. His body twisted and slithered into the depths and I watched as he sunk himself lower and lower until finally vanishing from eyesight all together.

"Well, I'm never going in the water again." I said.

I felt the small chuckle of Loki at the side of my lips as he spoke.

"He is the last thing you should be worried about. There are much graver dangers ahead of us still but to counter those I'll need to do some work on that sliver we obtained. Let us set up a small camp inside and I can fashion this into a proper weapon."

I grasped with care at the jacket clad tooth as I turned to the doorway to descend the stairs below.

"So who is Fenrir?" I asked.

"He is the great wolf that had the greatest betrayal laid upon him. his being in Midgard means his bonds have been broken which means he is searching for a way back to Asgard to have his revenge. If anyone will know of a way to get back, it'll be him." Loki said.

As I set the tooth on the floor I heard from the low heights below the faint crackle of feathers and cawing.

"Strange. I didn't think any wildlife would have stuck around after seeing that massive creature."

I heard no reply but instead felt the concern for the sounds outside. However it wasn't me that was feeling it. It was Loki. He urged me to the cracks of the window sill and we peered out into the crippled city below. My eyes narrowed and scanned around as I felt him searching for the source of the sound. When they finally stopped in place at a dark ledge several streets away I spotted the source of noise.

A large black crow had spread its wings and launched from the shallow perch it was resting on. It soared towards us and as it came closer I had realized that this was a much larger crow than what I had been used to seeing. Then I felt the correction of Loki.

"It's not a crow. It's a raven. One of Odin's all seeing creatures. Munin."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

T.S. Cranston

A self-published Author who looks to expand outside of his craft. With experience writing short-stories and novels for Romance, Fiction, and Non-fiction I have crafted numerous tales over the years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.