Fiction logo

A Teamwork Play

A school's football match

By ProductifyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
A Teamwork Play
Photo by Md Mahdi on Unsplash

My and my friends were going back to my house, it was the month of March. "The sports weeks are about to start, how we are going to prepare?" Zach asked, "I... I don't know" I replied. Zach after giving me a stony look continue to amble on the sloppy road. When me and my friends reached my house my mother gave us a warm welcome and made a tempting lunch for my friends. After the lunch Zach and I played some football in our small patchy lawn, "Bring it on" Zach shouted, trying to stop the ball penetrating through him into the net.

After we played some football we sat under the shadow of the mango tree in my lawn. "Are you not worried about the football match we have with the big boys?" Zach questioned, "I mean I am but, where we are gonna practice" I asked. "My uncle have a small football field nearby, maybe we can practice there", Zach said. "Yeah, may be" I added.

Me and my friends were not worried about the football match we had with the senior class until the principal told us that he had arranged a practice match with the senior class tomorrow. From this point a lot of questioned sparked in my head. How we are gonna win?, What if we lose?, Where we can practice for the match? There were a lot of questions but, no answers.

The day had come when me and my friends had to play a friendly football match with the senior class. As the game started they began to rush towards our goal and scored their first in just three minutes, by the end of the match they had scored five goals and won a match with 5-0. I can see that there was no teamwork, no sportsmen spirits and the true sense of professionality was lacking in our team. On Sunday me and my friends gathered in Zach's Uncle's Football field to do some running, "we have 4 months we can prepare a lot" Mark said, from that day till this week we progressed a lot. We played friendly matches, tried to score penalties, corners, free kicks and much more. The team progressed sufficiently and I was sure that we can give tough time to our opponents, the boys also learned that teamwork was important to win a game of football

It was the time of the the final match. Me and my friends reached the school's football field early to warm up till 10:00 am. "you think we can beat the senior-" Zach said. "Sure we can, don't even think of losing when we are fully prepared, just play the cards right" I added. At the time of the match the stadium was packed with parents and other student cheering up their teams. The match had already started, in the early minutes Zach got the ball near the goal with the perfect first touch he passed it to me and I swung the ball in to the nets. "here goes nothing" I shouted with excitement. But as soon as I scored they rushed towards our goal and scored their first just after twenty seconds. When the clock reached 90 minutes both team had 1 goal so the referee has to move towards penalty shoot outs. I had to score first penalty. I ran towards the ball kicked it hard but, it was stopped by the goalkeeper. The match had reached a point where the penalty score was 3-3 and it was our turn to shoot. Zach with immense pressure ran towards the ball but instead of hitting the ball he passed it towards me and I scored moreover, we won the match. Everyone cheered our names and on that day I understood, that teamwork is priceless.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Productify

We are a company that provide free poems and short stories about fiction, imagination and reality

Check out our Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/productifylife/

Subscribe to newsletter: https://liaquatkhn.wixsite.com/designify/subscribe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.