Fiction logo

A Monster’s Demise

When A God Begs

By Lala QuetzalyPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1

Orochi waits for the last part of the song, so he can begin to ignore Hotaru’s crying. He takes a long inhale of his kiseru and blows out a large cloud of smoke. He stares out into the forest, finding anything to distract himself with. It’s always impossible, her voice pierces through his thoughts as easy as through the wind. Her beautiful voice replaces the breeze passing by his ears, and now he can’t ignore her. He puts out the pipe before following the direction of the song:

If there’s a day when I am not the same,

Not human anymore,

Would you still love me as you did before?

Her whimpers follow soon after. His heart aches and he wishes he could go to that room and comfort her, but he can’t. Hotaru made him promise to leave her be when she shuts herself in that place. There is no way for him to check on her, there are no windows in that room. Every time she comes out for them to sit on the terrace together, he worries more.

The first month in the new house, her hair stayed white and she couldn’t reverse it to her usual black locks. The fifth month, her skin paled and dulled. A year in the house, she got eyebags and her fake smile came back. Her fangs don’t appear when she smiles now, that’s how Orochi realized it wasn’t genuine. Recently, the past few weeks, she’s been keeping a distance when he tries to embrace her. They haven’t been intimate and he’s starting to wonder why the sudden change.

Yet, she pretends nothing is wrong as much as he tries to pretend too. Each night he asks what’s wrong, Hotaru changes the subject in a heartbeat. Not tonight though, he won’t let her even if it will cause a fight. He’s prepared himself for it, but he still has fear lingering in his stomach. It’s quite silly, a God being afraid of his partner.

Orochi knocks on the door, “My love?”

He hears her cries stop abrupt with a small gasp. Hotaru slides the door open and peeks her head out. Orochi smiles and she does too while stepping out and closing the door behind her. She ties her obi tight and pulls the hems of her kimono. He knows she had it open because she tied the obi backward in a hurry to open the door.

“You scared me, you never come to this side of the house,” she says, glancing down the hallway.

“I know, you told me not to,” he chuckles, “I wanted to see your lovely face sooner than usual.”

Hotaru takes his outstretched hand and Orochi guides her to their favorite spot. She sits on the edge to dip her feet in the pond, then leans her head against Orochi’s shoulder. They talk about their day’s activities and what they wish to dream about once they fall asleep. It’s always the same dreams with her; complete and peaceful darkness. He took the opportunity to finally bring up what he’s been waiting for.

Orochi took a strand of her stark white hair, giving it a light kiss, “I dream of knowing what you do in that room every night.”

“Hmph, you will not be able to seduce me into telling you,” she teases, elbowing him.

He pulls her by the shoulder and kisses her cheek, “I seduced you into being mine, now didn’t I?”

Hotaru rolls her eyes, “I think you mean begged, Orochi-sama. Do you not remember almost crying the first time we made love?”

Orochi bites her cheek, leaving teeth marks. She responds by pulling on his bangs to try and make him fall in the water. They wrestle one another, careful not to use so much strength and destroy a part of the house. She falls on top of him and kisses the tip of his nose. Before getting off, Orochi grabs her face and pulls her for a better kiss.

They laugh and stare at the pond. The koi swim by Hotaru’s feet but keep away from Orochi. His green glowing eyes resemble a predator that makes them flee. They’re attracted to Hotaru’s amber eyes because they’re the same as fireflies. Orochi faces her, he brushes her messy hair away from her face, and thinks how he’s able to touch her freely when at first she threatened to rip his throat out.

“What are you staring at?” she laughs, shying away from his touch.

He smiles, “Just remembering our first encounter. It feels great to caress you without being jabbed in the gut.”

I hope at least that’s the only thing I’ll get after the conversation Orochi thought.

Hotaru stares at the koi while Orochi tries not to have his words come out as vomit, “Why do you always sing the same song?” he blurts out like a fool.

She sits ups and looks at him wide-eyed. Shame appears on her face and she looks down at her feet. “I thought you couldn’t hear me,” she mumbled.

“With your beautiful voice how could I?” he smiles, “But why always the same song, my love?’”

She shrugs, “I just think it’s a lovely song.”

He wants to ask, “A song that makes you cry?” but he can’t push her too early. If he pushes too hard she’s going to shut down on him. It didn’t work the first time when he met her, and she had built up various walls around herself. His hands tremble, knowing that this conversation won’t go as he planned.

“Tell me about the song. It must be from a God of poetry.”

“It’s a folktale. Humans created it.”

Orochi raised an eyebrow, “Humans? You treat them more of a disease than I do. Are you trying to deceive me, the God of Lies, dearest?”

Hotaru rolls her eyes, “You are the God of other things too, Orochi. But, I know it’s odd. Even creatures as destructive and selfish like humans know how to write songs about love.”

“Then, what is the song about?”

“It doesn’t matter. It’s a bit difficult to explain.”

They stay quiet, letting the noise of the forest fill their silence. Orochi overthinks everything. Hotaru made it clear to end the conversation, but how could he? There is meaning behind her tears every night. She lies straight to him when he has always been honest with her, despite his true nature. He’s stopped being a monster that demanded sacrifices for his amusement, to be with her.

Am I not enough? Am I not giving her the love she desires? These thoughts circle and circle in his head with no intention to stop.

“My love, do you not trust that I love you?” he murmurs, balling up his hands.

“What? Orochi, what are you-”

“I can hear your heart break every time you sing that song.”

Stunned, she says, “It’s a sad song. Anyone who will sing or listen to it will be sad.”

“No, not you, I know you. It’s a human song, there’s no reason for you to feel so strongly about some humans’ love.”

Hotaru narrows her eyes, “That’s not for you to decide, Orochi.”

“I know that, but you show more emotion to such a thing than to me.”

Orochi opens up his yukata to show his chest. He grabs her hand and places it over his heart. His heartbeat raced at her warm touch. “This represents my everlasting and never-changing love for you. We’re destined to be together as the outcasts of Takamagahara. We are bound for a reason,” he says.

“I love you too, and I’m so happy that I have you. Eternity finally means something now that I can share it with you. But forgive me, I’m not ready to speak of it.”

She kisses him before heading inside, lingering on his lips for a moment. Unhappy, Orochi follows behind her, regret creeps up but he pushes it away by thinking back at her previous words. She gave the same excuse when he opened up his heart to her. He accepted it and gave her space until she came to him on her own. They’re together now, and he still feels the emptiness from her words of affection.

He grabs her wrist. She turns and sees Orochi lowering his head. His grip tightens as she sees his scales appear on his arm. “Orochi?’ she says.

“Tell me again, please,” he whispers.

“Tell you what?”

“Tell me you do love me.”

He looks up. His sclera turned black and the scales appeared on his temples. Tears are running down his face as he pulls Hotaru towards him. She lets him, and he hugs her to feel the warmth he always lacked. As he tried to pull tighter, he feels her tense up and inch away from him. He breaks the hug and holds her by the shoulders; she coils.

“Don’t,” he shakes his head, “Don’t be afraid of me!”

He threw her on the floor, not knowing he did so until he heard a thump. His scales and black sclera recede, and he ran towards her, ready to apologize. Hotaru turns on her back, and Orochi stops at what he sees in her hand. Blood turning almost black made a small puddle in her hand. It ran from her mouth, down to her throat and staining the tatami.

Orochi’s heart stops and he falls on his knees next to her. “You’re bleeding…but how? That’s impossible.”

He tries to hold her, but he’s too afraid. Instead, with his sleeve, he wipes her mouth and hand. “Oh my love, my dear, my life, please forgive me. I didn’t mean to use my strength on you. I’m sorry. I’m so sorry,” he cried as he wipes away the blood.

She coughs and out came more blood in a thicker quantity. Hotaru pushes his hand away to try to get up. She staggers while trying to lean against the wall, coughing some more. Orochi looks at her with tears in his eyes, feeling rejection down to his core. Despite this, he goes to her because a God bleeding…something can’t be right.

Hotaru heads towards that room, leaving a trail of blood. She stumbles inside, ready to slide the door closed. Orochi put his foot in before she could do it. She fought to push his foot out, but the fit of her bloody coughs didn’t let her. For the first time in months, Orochi steps inside the room. There’s no right reaction for what he sees.

On the left side of the room, hidden from the doorway, there’s piles of broken mirrors. The shards sprawled everywhere tinted with blood. Below the mirror that faced the entry, there are large bloodstains on the tatami. A bloody handprint stained across the wall next to the mirror, that was the only one intact. Orochi looks over at Hotaru, who is still coughing, and sees healing scars on the soles of her feet.

“What is it that you do inside this place?” he whispers.

“Please, le-”

“Hotaru!”

Hotaru slides herself up against the wall. She wipes her hand on her kimono and combs her hair back, staining her white hair red. Her bloody face and hands look like she devoured somebody. She looks exactly as when Orochi found her in a desolate forest years ago. Her eyes are different, they show fear instead of emptiness.

“I don’t want to tell you,” she says.

“I deserve to know. I never kept anything from you, not even the virgin sacrifices.”

She shakes her head, “I still accepted you, but you won’t accept me after I tell you.”

Orochi slams the wall, “Tell me what!? Tell. Me. What!?”

Tears run down her cheeks, “You could never understand what I went through before I was banished from the heavens. Everyone in Takamagahara was convinced that I am a beast that belongs with the humans. I was still a celestial.”

“Do you think I don’t know what humiliation is? The Storm God Susanoo came into my domain and almost left me for dead.”

“You chose to be a monster, I never did! I was seen as impure because my father fell in love with my mother, a kitsune. What fault do I have?”

Orochi grabs her wrists, gritting his teeth and glaring, “I changed. I changed for you but you…you also chose to be cruel. You hunted humans as revenge.”

She pushes him off, “I know I did. I regret it deeply now, but it still won’t change my hatred for them.”

“That still doesn’t explain what happens here, Hotaru.”

She glares and unties her obi. She opens up her kimono to show her torso. She’s covered in black splotches with bloody linings. Her veins turned black from them and Orochi saw the faintest trace of scars in each mark. Hotaru coughs again, not bothering to cover her mouth from the blood.

She shakes as she holds her kimono open to him. “They don’t go away. No matter how many times I cut, they stay.”

Orochi jerks his head, “Hotaru, don’t tell me all these shards, you use them to-”

“Look at me! Look at what has happened to me! Every mirror I look in, all I see is a grotesque deformity. I try to replace the black masses by dragging a glass across my skin to see if my blood will cover them. It doesn’t work. Nothing ever works,” she cries as she sat down on the floor.

“How did this happen?”

She coughs, “I’m ill.”

“That can’t be, you’re not human.”

“I’m turning human!” she cries.

Orochi’s eyes widen, unable to process her words. Hotaru cries covering her face and Orochi tries to figure out what to do. The person he’s supposed to share his eternal life with, is turning into a mortal being. It doesn’t make sense and it’s not natural. He just stares at her in disbelief with a blank state in mind.

“In my banishment, I’ve been cursed to poison myself with my hatred. My immortality is being cut short by going through every pain a human has felt,” she admits, unable to look at him.

“I’ve seen humans through every sickness, and they don’t always survive,” Orochi’s voice trembles as he sees her weakened state. Her bright eyes are dim, and the black veins spread faster than the first time he saw them.

“Even so, I can survive this…I still have some of my strength.”

He cups her cheeks while shaking his head, “My love, we’re outcasts, incomplete deities. Why didn’t you say anything? We could’ve figured out something together.”

Hotaru looks up at him, “How could I tell you something like this when you took human sacrifices?”

He looks down, understanding her. Before, he couldn’t even stand to look at them for a second. This is different though, this is the woman who he tied his life to. It’s impossible for him to hate her. This is just another obstacle they have to go through, they have to. He wants to be with her, but he still needs to know the whole truth.

“That song you sing, it has to do with this doesn’t it?” he asks quietly.

She nods, “Would you still love me the same as a human?”

Before he could answer the obvious, he stops himself.

“What about you, Hotaru? If I ever turned human…would you still be able to love me?”

“I’m sorry,” she whispers, “But I couldn’t.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Lala Quetzaly

I outgrew my Wattpad phase a while ago and decided to try to be a little more professional :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.