Fiction logo

A Candle in the Cabin

My Last night in my hometown!

By Elijah DavisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Candle in the Cabin
Photo by m wrona on Unsplash

The Cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window. Even though I had seen it myself, I did not want to believe it.

I slapped myself, pinched myself, and even bit my own tongue, Then with hesitance, I confirmed I was not dreaming.

I could not completely rule out that I was dreaming, maybe in the traditional sense but, some hallucination or drug/alcohol-induced delusion was always a possibility in my life. Any moment really.

I slapped, pinched, and bit myself once again. No waking up in my comfy bed. The worst argument for a dream was I knew how I had gotten here to the end of the forbidden road. I tried to think through the situation as if it were a dream, I figured that would give me my best chance to make brave, courageous, and ultimately successful choices.

The first problem that I faced was that if I were dreaming, at that moment it would not be a dream but actually a nightmare. It had been a very long time since I had a nightmare.

I sat in my 2001 silver Buick regal at the end of the forbidden road staring wide-eyed at the candle in the window of the cabin. I was frozen I could not even remember the last nightmare I had, let alone how I acted. I was frozen just staring.

Everything about this cabin and property was allegedly cursed. That's why no one ever came up FORBIDDEN road, except for me. I have, of course, never been a particularly superstitious person. But I am a very practical person and I don't have to believe in or understand any mystical dark magic stuff to be aware that when several terribly bad unexplained things happen at one place, you could practically be afraid of that place.

Everyone in town is afraid of this cabin and all assume that it is a good practice to stay away from a place that you can only travel to by the road named forbidden road.

The cabin was large, or maybe it just appeared large, it was at the end of a long narrow dirt road. The tall expansive forest that stretched out on both sides of the road gave the whole property a very spooky vibe.

The miles of tall trees and forest guranteed that no one would hear any screams or calls for help that came from the end of forbiden road. The cabin had a large pond behind it . It extended several miles behind the cabin and the edges connected back to the forest lands.

On the edges of the pond, were swamp-like conditions. Floating foilage and aqua-based plants, weeds, and brushes grew rapidly along the banks of the pond. The place already had the location and geography of an eerie place but, that is before hearing any of the twisted strories.

Before we get into any twisted stories, you must be wondering, like myself while I was in the situation: How did I find myself at the end of this road forbidden road?

Specifcally, the spookiest time to be at such a place is late at night.

The truth of how I found myself at the spookiest location at the spookiest of times is quite simple, but very few will understand. I can do my best to put the reason into words, but I doubt words could even begin to express my reasons for driving the forbidden path.

The only reason I drove 66 miles away from evertthing and everyone I knew, was to get space to process my desires. My heart desrired, no yearned for an expression so large and so vibrant that it terrified me to let it out. A had such a big dream. A dream that I knew no one would understand, and I knew that my dreams were special and unique to you.

The small, simple-minded individuals from my town could never comprehend my huge dreams. The entire time was my prison, I had so much potential that thick headed country hicks weren't even worthy of my gifts.

My dreams were so big that I drove miles and miles away to think about them. But that candle in the spooky cabin had ruined everything...

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.