Fiction logo

8 days, Lost in space

I scream and scream. Yet no one hears me!

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
3
8 days, Lost in space
Photo by Cash Macanaya on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say! Yet I have been screaming for days, depleting my oxygen supply. Where is everybody? Anyone? Can you hear me? I know that I should try to conserve my energy, but I am so scared.

The silence is deafening.

You need to hear me. Or I die alone!

How long can I survive, my oxygen is running so low. It has been seven long days with no rescue in sight, one can survive for eight days drifting in space. I am now death!

How long can I survive in outer space without a space suit, I will lose consciousness in about 15 seconds, die after 90 seconds and freeze solid within 12 to 26 hours. I will drift away in space with no one knowing.

The faces of the dead are floating around in my head, even when I close my eyes I see them.

Day 1.

The International Space Station on planet Iczar has come under attack by unknown forces. It is terrible, we cannot visibly see our attackers, they are either cloaked or invisible.

The communications system on the station crackled on. We could all hear the screams.

"Help, we can't see them, but something is in here with us. They have killed Ben and Siri, oh my God, please hel........". There was a cracking sound and a soft moan. Then silence..........That had been the science lab.

Panic ensued. No one knew what had happened or what to do.

From the command desk Captain Tang grabbed the microphone, "Security one, two and three, check the entire station on the east and west sides as best you can. Security four and five, with me now"! Being the youngest person on the station, I was ordered to remain locked in the control room and await orders. The screens were all on. I watched in horror as people fell, section by section, it was as if I were seeing death in slow motion, but with no apparent or visible reason why.

The science laboratories, space medicine, weather, human research, astrobiology, department by department fell to the unseen predators. Oh the sorrow as the security details were ripped apart one by one as if giant claws were severing limbs and equipment into shreds. Weapons were sent flying in all directions.

"Fall back, fall back, to the control deck everyone, now"! Yelled the captain.

There was so much blood.

Five bloodied warriors made it to the control room where I stood shaking from sheer and utter fear and helplessness. We scanned the entire station, there was no sign of life. Drones were deployed to double check and search for visible heartbeats. We found none. Everyone had been torn apart totally and viciously. The drones were tracked and destroyed by the invisible enemy.

Day 2.

We spent the night locked in the room. Luckily there were bottled water and dried snacks which are our emergency rations here in the room. There is also a bathroom which was frequented a lot by all of us. Fear does things to one's insides.

All the while, something on the outside is trying to get in. They gave up after two or three hours. We knew they would be back.

"Guys, we have to try to get to the spacesuits. Juno, lock the door behind us. It is made from pure titanium alloy, it is hard to breach, don't worry too much, we will grab the suits and be right back".

I waited, barely breathing. Fear knotted my stomach so badly, I was doubled over. I watched the crew in the utilities room as they procured the suits, including one for me. Suddenly I spied movement in the passageway outside the room. I switched to a private channel.

"Captain, there is movement outside, do not leave the room, do you copy"!

"Copy that"! He replied quietly.

Day 3.

They are trapped in the room. I have to do something, but what. At least I now know what the ugly space things looked like, they were no longer hiding.

I was now more Angry than scared. How dare they! What did we ever do to you to deserve this. I now had the nerve to act.

By Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

Cautiously, I opened to huge protective door. I screamed as loud as I could running from one side of the corridor to the other. I raced back inside and closed the door. They were moving towards the noise.

"Captain, get out now, they are headed back to the control room. Run now"!

"We are on our way, sit tight"!

From my secure post I watched, again feeling helpless. The men stopped in a room close to the control section and caused a great commotion, duping the alien force into retracing their steps, they ran out the opposite door, trying their best to make it to the door before being detected. They had almost made it when three of them were grabbed and ripped apart. I started to scream in anger. With bitter tears streaming down my face, I wrenched the door open. The fourth man grabbed the captain and shoved him towards me, flinging the spacesuit after him, we both stumbled backwards into the room just as he was grabbed from behind. Regaining a foothold we shoved the door shut just as one ugly being rammed into it with great violence and strength.

Day 4.

We have not slept much in four days. A few nods here and there were all we could manage. The beings have been trying to breach the door. They will be inside in no time now. The captain and I have donned our suits. He opens the small escape hatch and tells me to get inside. I do, expecting him to follow close behind me. He does not. He shuts and secures the inner latches.

"No"! I yell, even though he cannot hear me, but he can certainly see me. I pound my fist against the security glass. To no avail. He closes his eyes, opens then and points beyond me.

"Go, he mouths. Live to tell the tale"!

"What. I can't hear you"? I said pointing to my ear. He turns and writes it on a slip of paper and holds it up for me to read.

I watch him as he prepares to detonate the self destruct. The automatic function had been disabled in the melee. It had to be done manually. Why does this always happen, I shouted. But he could not hear me.

The door had been breached. He looked at me "GO NOW"! I went.

The blast spit me out of the tube so violently I went spinning out into space. Everyone and everything on the station were dead for sure now.

Why am I the only one to survive?

It is now the beginning of day eight since I was ejected from the now destroyed space station. Something is happening.

A ship is approaching. It looks strange, alien-like. It pulls closer, I can see a form in the window.

Thankfully, it seems someone did hear my screams!

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

My heart stopped for a few moments as terror again seized my soul.

"Oh God, no...."! I gasp as the air in my suit is beginning to dissipate.

The ugly alien beings have found me. I will live it appears.

What will become of me.

Everything has gone black.

My future is a great question mark?

N.A.

Horror
3

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Awesome story I, I loved reading it. It’s so creative and well written. Glad you are honing your talent on this site.

  • Signe Paige2 years ago

    The tension was real with this one! It's always more horrifying, to me, when there's nothing you can do about a situation and are forced to watch. "Yet I have been screaming for days" Hooked me right away! "The faces of the dead are floating around in my head, even when I close my eyes I see them." I really like this visual and how it ties into the title picture! "You need to hear me. Or I die alone!" I really liked this is a way to grip the reader and keep them reading. It was also a good way to immediately feel an attachment to the character.

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    There is so much huge potential to build on this Novlet. I loved every second of reading it. It is a very sound storyline.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.