Feast logo

Waffles vs Pancakes

My opinion on the topic of what’s better, waffles or pancakes? Hmm..

By Tenia ParkerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

Waffles or pancakes?, pancakes or waffles?

In my opinion waffles are better, yes pancake lovers I can hear you viciously disagreeing with me. But I am a child, so please behave or I’ll have no other choice but to tell my mom and we both know my mom doesn’t know your mom so we will in fact have some issues. Now that you’ve calmed down due to my humorous threat, I’ll continue to explain myself.

First off, let’s talk about the cooking of both waffles and the ugly sister known as pancakes. When cooking waffles you just have to pour the batter in the waffle maker and close it, that’s all. Now it’s probably not that easy if it spills on the sides, but I see that as a you problem and not a waffle problem so moving on. When cooking pancakes you have you pour the batter- I’m sorry, scoop the batter in the pan to your desired size and god forbid you make it too big or burn it. Whew, nevertheless I’ll can assume you know how to make good sized pancakes, now here comes the flip, if you fail this flip you might as well not even eat breakfast today. The flip of the delicate, half cooked pancake could make or break it..literally. See how tense you got just thinking about it?, I bet you couldn’t be so traumatized if you were making waffles. Yes, I am going to keep making little comments for comedic purposes because it’s fun, there I said it. Now I’ll once again assume you are a pro flipper therefore you have no flipping problems. You’ve safely and carefully delivered one of your five or so pancakes to your plate, yes I did say one of five and that leads me to my next point.

No one eats just one pancake, there’s just no way. You have to make enough of them to use all the batter you made by accident and if you don’t eat all those lopsided pancakes you made you’ll feel like you’ve wasted food. You also absolutely have to eat them in one sitting, because who eats reheated pancakes? Exactly. Now when it comes to waffles, you are likely to use up all your batter naturally because the shape and size of the waffle is already made in the mold of the waffle maker. So, you’ll probably make two and move on.

However, I do want to admit what’s not easy about waffles. Yep, you guessed it.

The clean up, when cleaning a waffle maker, it can be quite challenging due to the indents in the mold that create those wonderful, magnificent, emasculate, beautiful, perfect holes in the waffle which we’ll get to later. Cleaning those holes with a cloth or even sponge can be challenging but you know the saying. “A waffle eater can do anything specifically cleaning a waffle maker because if they don’t, how will they eat waffles tomorrow?” And now here’s the part where I talk about how pancakes are easy to clean because all you have to do it is wash the pan that’s a smooth, flat surface or whatever.

Hey, you remember when I said I’d talk about the irresistible, pure, flawless, holes in waffles? You do?, great because later is now.

The holes in waffles serve as perfect pockets for the syrup to sit in and marinate further into all four corners of the waffle, delivering sweetness to all other parts of the waffle all while the outside stays crisp. Meanwhile, with pancakes there’s no holes which causes the syrup to go all over the pancakes but neglecting the pancakes at the bottom. Which leaves the pancake at the top drenched in syrup to the point where it falls apart and almost is just too sweet to consume. But pancake eaters don’t experience that because none of you eat it in its purest form, you all break them apart in bite sized pieces because deep down inside you know how imperfect pancakes are when oozing with sticky syrup. Just thinking about it is making my teeth ache, dentist here I come. Oh don’t worry, I’ll see you there after you finish your pancakes bathed in syrup.

I’d like to talk about the process of eat waffles and pancakes. I want to start off with asking you a question. Do you know anyone who eats other foods on top of pancakes?, if you answered yes please unfriend them immediately, you’ll thank me later.

I don’t know a soul that eats other food such as fruit or chicken on waffles, but I know hundreds, thousands, even millions of people who will in a heartbeat eat fruit and or chicken with waffles. That’s because pancakes on there own is enough, they’re so heavy and result in food comas after eaten. But, waffles are a whole different story. Waffles are light, therefore you can eat them with other foods and be full without the additional food coma. Delicious and functional, what a creation.

I’m going to conclude this statement by saying one thing. If you like pancakes, this wasn’t intended to offend you but it was intended to make those who read it to laugh. So I hope I made you chuckle before rolling your eyes and clicking off, thank you.

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Tenia Parker

sharing thoughts through poetry

Ig : ambivert.aura

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.