Feast logo

Sushi

How I made Sushi

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Home-Made Sushi

I wanted to share a special photo with all my readers, it is sushi. Looking at the photo you would think not too much of it other than the fact that it is sushi. But, let me tell you the story behind this picture of sushi. I do not like seafood. As a matter of fact lobsters and crabs scare me, it started from the day my dad would leave me alone in the shopping cart at Superstore staring at the creepy crawlers and to this day just the thought of a lobster gets me squirming in my seat. I never tried sushi before, when my sister convinced me to go with her to celebrate the end of school and the fact that neither of us had stable jobs. She took me to Kinjo and we sat down and I said to her straight "Look, I am not going to try anything weird" I told her. Reluctantly she agreed, but she ordered one of those party platters with different types of sushi from squid to eel to raw smoked salmon. I had no idea what was in each roll until we got 3/4 done and she turned to me and said. "You just ate octopus, squid, eel, fish, tuna, crab, and shrimp" my face just about went white. How could that be possible? I hate seafood and I knew that, but yet. I was liking all of that in a sushi roll? It changed my life forever. Later, that month my fiance (at the time boyfriend) and me went together for a date. I told him, "do not do what my sister did to me by not telling me what we are getting". I like to know what I am eating as I am sure a lot of people do. He looked across the table to meet my eyes and winked. "Don't worry you can trust me," he told me and he judged the expression on my face "Have I ever given you anything icky to eat?" he asked me and I shook my head no. "Exactly." Then he ordered this magical thing called "The dynamite roll" it sounded weird, but I agreed and I tried it and since then, we order it every time we go out for sushi. It started a love for me, which I still like eating and have not been sick from it. Now, the picture above is from neither of those experiences. You see my other sister and her husband hold these fun parties once in a while, where we get to pig out and chat with people that I do not see very often and there is usually some fun activity involved at these parties. This time she was hosting a make your own sushi party and I was nervous about going, but they reassured me the food was bought fresh, so no food poisoning would be happening. They bought imitation crab, carrots, cucumber, smoked tuna, salmon and a lot of other ingredients that I have forgotten, but there was a choice for everyone even for the people who do not like fish. I do not remember where in my sushi timeline this event occurred, but I am 84.5% sure that it happened before me liking sushi. Anyways, we got to make our own sushi. I chose good ingredients my first one was carrot, cucumber and avocado and that was it and it was surprisingly tasty. The next one I made had imitation crab mix and avocado, and cucumber. Which I am 95% sure it is the one in the above picture. Getting the hang of the rolling took me some time to understand how it works, when it comes to learning hands-on stuff it takes me a while, but I become a pro after I get the hang of it. I had to unroll it and look at everyone else's rolling skills and then try it again and then getting frustrated because I am not sure what my fingers were doing and I tried again and made the beautiful ones that are displayed in the picture. That is the story behind the sushi picture. It was a mobile moment because I took it with my IPhone, when I had an IPhone 3G this was three years ago. I was a little behind the trend because it was when everyone was carrying a 5C IPhone. This was even my last photo I took before getting my new phone, so it was much more than just sushi picture to me, it was a way of saying goodbye to the best shaped IPhone that was every created.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.