Feast logo

Mom's Christmas Cinnamon Roll Morning

The best thing to wake up to is not the presents, it's the warm smell of cinnamon and sugar.

By Rich BurtonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Christmas is just around the corner. This year I am not sure if that's a good or bad thing, but the one thing that will never change is my mother's cooking. She goes all out for holiday meals and I mean why wouldn't you?

Every Christmas season my mom makes many batches of cinnamon rolls and my siblings and I have to watch patiently as we can't even have the beaters to lick. Our mom puts time and effort all month to give our neighbors a taste of our Christmas morning. Her christmas rolls have been coveted in our neighborhood and are known as Becky's Bun's. We just have to wait until the day to get a taste of the sugary deliciousness.

Christmas morning is the only morning my mom goes out for breakfast. She makes a breakfast casserole with eggs, sausage, and tater tots, freshly squeezed orange juice, and her famous cinnamon rolls.

The recipe and frosting are honestly nothing special, but food always tastes better when someone else makes it for you. Especially your mom. The reason I say it's nothing special is because you can easily find these recipes online, on Pinterest, another influencer blog, etc. But the recipe is not what matters most. It matters who made it, how it tastes to you, and who you eat it with. But I will share the process, nonethless.

She starts off with the dough. She lets it raise overnight in a huge bowl resulting in a giant mass of dough. She then rolls it out and when it's at the right thickness and length, she smears at least two cubes of butter on it. Time for the cinnamon, brown sugar, and white sugar. She never uses a measuring cup, at least for when I've watched her bake these. She grabs a handful of each spice and crumbles it on. Then she rolls the dough to give it's curly face and cuts the dough into the rolls they are going to cook as. I'm not sure how long they cook for, but I know it's awhile, because we have to wait for them. Every. Time.

Then the frosting. Powder sugar (more sugar, I know) and milk. The classic frosting for almost any baked good. She leaves it watery though and then drizzles it on to cover the entirety of the cooking sheet full of the rolls.

Waking up for Christmas is the best part because not only do we have the presents under the tree, but the well-awaited cinnamon rolls we have all been drooling over for the whole month. As we wait patiently to see what Santa brought us, we are welcomed by a smell. The sweet smell of breakfast that is almost in our grasp.

The smell is intoxicating and just warms the house of cinnamon and sugar that tickles our noses.

But we have to wait.

The cinnamon rolls aren't done yet. As we are opening our presents from Santa (aka mom and dad), we smell the rolls as their aroma gets stronger and stronger. Mom leaves the festivities to check on the rolls to let us know if they are done or not and we can have breakfast. We are left in anticipation, hoping that we are going to eat soon and have the breakfast we wait for so patiently for, for the whole month.

When the rolls are done, we leave out presents on the floor and don't get anything else on the kitchen counter other than the roll. Eating the roll just quenches the taste buds and leaves you wanting to scarf down the rest of it, leaving no trace of dough or crystallized sugar. Once it's over it's hard to believe we have to wait another year for mom's cinnamon rolls.

But to tell you a secret, I don't like the frosting. I eat the middle first and work my way out. I know, save the best for last. I just can't help myself.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rich Burton

I’m a work from home mom with 2 crazy kids. I write for fun with the hopes of finishing my unfinished book!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.