Feast logo

Lucy in the Rye

The Best Breakfast in the Country

By Mollie HarrisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Babylon Benedict with Seasoned Fries

That's right! I deem Lucy in the Rye as the best breakfast joint in the USA! Found in the small mountain town of Sylva, North Carolina Lucy in the Rye recently opened its doors for the first time, introducing the world to the best combinations of flavor. I have been on many road trips across this country and what that means for me is I have tried many breakfast joints! Is there really anything better than a big plate of eggs benedict or waffles before heading out on an all day adventure? the answer is no. When I was younger my travels were fueled by Denny's and Red Arrow but as I grew older I found more enjoyment picking out the small town diners along the back roads of my journey. From New Hampshire's River House café, Pennsylvania's Squeaky Rail , Urban Egg in Colorado or California's Black Bear Diner there is always a good breakfast to be found... But none are like Lucy in the Rye.

When I first saw this place I was drawn in by the happy customers on the front patio raving to the passing public about how amazing their waffles were. I hadn't eaten yet and decided to give this place a try. I was quickly seated by a very charming young lady who had stellar customer service skills and the first thing I ordered was orange juice. You can tell a lot about a restaurant by their orange juice, if you are served fountain juice or Tang you simply cannot expect the food to be anything but mediocre. This was the best type of orange juice, fresh squeezed and perfectly sweet! When I looked at the menu I was elated by the completely affordable prices. Lucy in the Rye uses all local eggs, meats, produce, breads and sauces, their biscuits are made from scratch each morning as well as their corned beef hash and hollandaise sauce. In my experience, local costs more but not here. A large serving of biscuits and sausage gravy totals out to under $6 closely followed by the two egg breakfast that comes with two sides for under $7 and a huge breakfast sandwich that features a blackened fried egg, cheddar jack, slice of tomato, avocado and bacon, sausage or vegan chorizo for only $6.50! If you are more into a sweet breakfast they have huge Belgian Waffles starting at $7.50 including a variety of toppings.

Fresh Biscuits!

The first meal I tried was the Babylon Benedict. It is probably the most expensive thing on the menu at $12.95 but, without a second thought, I would be willing to pay more for the quality of food in this meal. The Babylon Benedict consists of a fresh buttery biscuit topped with fresh avocado, sliced crispy bacon, a beautifully cooked panko crusted tomato slice, two perfectly poached eggs and creamy smooth hollandaise sauce with a choice of one side, I recommend the rosemary potatoes! The portions are perfect, no mountain of food to conquer but plenty to fill your stomach and start your day right. The homemade corned beef hash is fantastic, with large cut corned beef chunks that are full of flavor and paired perfectly with potatoes and scrambled eggs. They even manage to fill the garden greens with flavor by searing them with caramelized onions and garlic in sunflower oil. Not one leaf will be left on your plate, I guarantee it!

Omelet with charred greens and rosemary potatoes

I will be moving on from this small town soon and I am sad to say goodbye to this gem of a restaurant but when I come back east I will be sure to take the time to swing by Lucy in the Rye and once again enjoy the best breakfast in the USA. If you find yourself near Sylva NC, take the detour into town and try it for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Mollie Harrison

Almost thirty and I think I have finally found myself. In the past few years I have gone through a crazy variety of experiences. Between getting married, divorced, The Appalachian trail and hitchhiking the US, I have stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.