Feast logo

How cooking with my partner has become my favourite time of the day

My life was dominated by takeout food and ready-meals, with the constant excuse that I needed to save more time when in fact, the time was there all along. Since I began cooking with my partner, preparing our own meals has become our favourite time of day.

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Before the pandemic struck, I found that I seemed never to have the time to create a substantial, healthy meal for myself and my partner. Food deliveries were a common sight at my home, alongside frozen ready-meals and packed produce. The less time it took to make, the better. Now that I’ve found myself inside more, I decided to pick myself up and move my time to the cutting board. For the first time in my life, I began taking notice of what I was putting into my body and spending more quality time with my partner. By combining the two, I feel that I had found something that was missing before the world stopped spinning.

Pre-Pandemic Life

Before March 2020, I would usually be found either at the theatre I work at or travelling between various destinations in London. This lifestyle brought many lunchtimes meal deals, packed lunches and a lack of nutritious meals and time spent with my loved ones. It became too comfortable to change and, despite my wallet taking a big hit from the constant buying on the go, I was not ready to reflect on where I was at that time. It’s a shame that it took a pandemic to make me realise that the life I was living is not the life I want to aim for.

From the Theatre to the Kitchen

As a creative, the pandemic has been a challenging period to take onboard. Work dried up, and I could not return to the theatre, and thus, an empty void has emerged that needed filling. I soon became restless and searched for outlets to let out my inner creative needs. Once I became comfortable cooking for myself, I began exploring how I can make my food turn from food to pieces of art. I explored different ways of making bread, used exotic ingredients to add flavour and colour, and began taking care in how the plate would look as a finished product. I am shocked at how much fun I was having. I finally understood the difference between cooking and culinary arts. My creativity soon flourished into something I never knew was possible. The plate became flooded with colour. The fresh produce allowed me to build recipes that not only tasted great but saved me cash along the way. Not to mention that I began seeing substantial savings in my bank account. My health also improved. I lost significant weight, began to gain the energy I previously lacked and found myself more focused on tasks I would struggle with before. The benefits soon became visible. The only thing left was to have someone there beside me, and once my partner stepped into the kitchen, it quickly became something special.

There is always time to spend with the ones you love

I will be the first to admit that my directorial side came out when cooking with someone else. There was a common goal to achieve, and with it came precise instructions. I had to learn to let go and enjoy the process of failing rather than aiming for perfection each time. This took a couple of tries, alongside some telling off from my partner before I mellowed out and focused on her rather than the plate. Smiles and laughter filled the kitchen as we explored our pallets and spent some quality time together. We discovered our strengths and weaknesses in the process. She is a fantastic baker and can create amazing cakes, loaves of bread and other delicious pastries. I, on the other hand, thrived with vegetables, pasta dishes and meats. Together we make a fantastic team and provide a 3-course meal worthy of any restaurant. But that did not matter anymore. Just having her by my side was enough to make the day worthwhile. Soon after that, I found myself looking at the time, awaiting the reasonable time to begin cooking again. We would go and pick out the best ingredients from the supermarkets, prep everything before cooking, take our time during the process, and end up eating at a much healthier time of the day. Not only did we achieve a well-balanced diet, but our fridge was also filled with the freshest of ingredients, ready to make much more complex dishes. This is something I will not be dropping once the pandemic is over.

I can honestly say that I did not think this was possible before the pandemic hit. Being young and always on the go, it was too easy to fall into the trap of ordering takeaway foods and already made products. Now, I know better. The health benefits are too great to drop, and once our busy lifestyles return, I now will have something to look forward to when I return home. As long as she is right there beside me, I know I will have a great time.

Thank you for taking the time to read our blog! If you enjoyed the content or learnt something along the way, please consider leaving a ‘<3’ below! We would appreciate it if you could leave a small tip to support us in our mission to provide free, weekly infotainment for you to enjoy!

If you wish to begin your Vocal journey, join the Vocal+ programme to get more for your work! Earn more per view, withdraw your profits quicker, and gain access to Vocal+ Challenges with prizes to be won every week!

Use the link below and begin your Blogging career today!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=dawid

You’re the reason we can continue doing what we love and making all of this possible. We are forever grateful for your support!

- The People!JSS! Team

diy
2

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.