Feast logo

Freeze your Brain

Let it Snow

By ImperfectlyPerfectPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

By Thomas Park on Unsplash

As the summer heat beats down on my back, and sweat rolls profusely down my shirt, I eat my snow cone in hopes that it will regulate my body temperature as I write this story. ICE ICE BABY pops in my head, and I do a little victory dance! I reminisce about the days before the mass production of the tiny machines currently sold in homes, when my only means of indulging in the iced treat would be through attending a carnival or some other commercialized event. Oh, the beauty and convenience of modernization! I am grateful however, that the mass production of products now allows me and others to dabble in things consistently, that we once had to wait for. Every spoonful causes a different memory to resurface, and I am hit with a longing and a nostalgic feeling towards things that once were. Things lost. A petite frame for one. Oh, how I miss overindulging in sweet treats without a single thought towards my waistline. Thank goodness for sugar free syrup nowadays, because just like 90's, my very high metabolism is now also history. Speaking of history, let me tell you a little about why I feel the snow cone deserves the title of " the true summer treat."

By Denisse Leon on Unsplash

My very first trip to a carnival was in the early 90's, Augusta, Ga with my older male cousins. It was a warm night, so everyone wanted to stand in a line to order either a cold drink, or a cold treat. They served the typical snacks: candy, popcorn, pretzels, etc., all things I could get any day of the week in essence. That's when I saw it, the snow cone machine headed in my direction on wheels. It had the little paper cups placed on the side and so many bottles of syrup, it made my head spin. I walked up to the cart, my cousins in hot pursuit, and asked about my flavor options. When I found out I could have a mixture of them all, of course I asked for them all!! One of my cousin's had the bright idea (not so bright) to start a mini eating competition to see who could eat their snow cone the fastest. I quickly stuffed my face and OUCH!!!!!!

By Usman Yousaf on Unsplash

Everyone can call recall a moment in life when they ate something extremely cold too quickly, and immediately felt that throbbing "brain freeze" affect. You know exactly what I'm referring to, that moment as a child when you simply must speed eat every single thing that touches your plate/cup/ or spoon. You get overly anxious, and assume whatever you're about to consume, has "legs and it's going to walk away" so regardless of how much your mama has told you to not pack your mouth, you instead choose to live on the edge a little. The regret hits you instantaneously, and although the pain may only last a few seconds, the intensity makes it feel like a lifetime. As much as I enjoy occasionally living on the edge, that's one edge I have been more than careful to avoid over the years. When it comes to eating my snow cones nowadays however, I pop out my mini machine as soon as May flowers start to make an appearance and whip up my newest concoction. I now choose to slowly savor the flavors. Slow and steady does indeed win the race.

Still not convinced? Bare with me just a little longer. Snow cones allow variety after production, unlike ice cream or other chilled treats. The flavor combination is endless, and product doesn't end up wasted, because set flavors don't have to be prepackaged, or pre-determined. True, some yogurt shops offer mix-ins, but that's just what they are, a MIX-IN not an actual combination. The fact that ice itself is pretty much flavorless, allows the syrup or syrups of choice, to be added and become the headliner for flavor. Even children with dairy, or nut allergies can enjoy this treat because they either eat it unflavored, or they can add their own personal "juice" . The versatility of this treat, has contributed to it's popularity because it involves way less prep time and it even comes with it's own container and wooden spoon. In addition, talk about some serious hydration!! Water is the basis of all life, and with this treat, you and your children will not only "cool down", but you will also be nourishing your body with the main essential liquid.

By Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

For all you ice fanatics, the people like me who love nothing more than grabbing a cub of ice and just crunching on it, a snow cone fulfills that urge. Not only do you get to hear that satisfying crunch, but you also get that little extra "umph" added in from the flavor. You're probably thinking to yourself "I can eat ice all year long, so what makes this treat so special"? You can eat ice all year long, but snow cones are not available for purchase all year long. During the colder seasons, all of the snow cone dessert shops are closed in my city. They make it abundantly clear that they are only available seasonally for purchase, versus year-round like other so called "summer desserts", i.e., ice cream, bowls of fruit, etc. Business owners recognize that snow cones are indeed the true summer treat, and now you my dear, should also give a snow cone the appreciation it deserves.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

ImperfectlyPerfect

My favorite well known saying: An amateur does it until they get it right, while a professional does it until they can't get it wrong. Don't work to get it right, work to not get it wrong!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

ImperfectlyPerfect is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.