Feast logo

Five & Dime?

The Purple People Eater

By Tina MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Mallory Corner Kitchen

Mallory Corner Kitchen which is located in the small town of Mallory, NY which is located about 15 miles north of Syracuse, NY is one of thee best places to get food! It’s not much of a place to look at, but the food that comes out of that place is sensational. The building has been around for a century.

If you are familiar with the seasoning, “Bucks Salt”, this is the town that invented the seasoning. The family who invented the seasoning is my sister-in-law's, husband's family and the recipe was given to everyone in that family. I now possess the recipe for Bucks Seasoning. It’s a great seasoning, but I change my recipe and tweak it here and there. The family who sells the product lives just down the street from the Mallory Corner Kitchen. They live in a small house, and they leave the seasoning on their front porch. You are allowed to walk into the porch and there you will find all sizes of bags of the seasoning. You just pick what you want and leave your money in a jar on the table. It is really a small old town and the people who live there have been there their whole lives. Buck's Seasoning | All Natural Spices | No Additives can be bought on the internet as well.

http://www.bucksseasoning.com/

Now, back to the Mallory Corner Kitchen. Like I said, it’s not really much of a place to look at. It’s a little purple building with large double glass doors, and on the one side of the glass door the glass is broken and has been broken for years now. The parking lot wraps around a corner of the building where two roads meet. I understand that they are expanding. This place has been around for as long as I can remember.

Mallory Corner Kitchen

I have been getting food from this place for a very long time. It used to be a little grocery store out in the middle of nowhere, as time went on, it turned into a restaurant for take-out food only, which is perfect for me. This isn't a restaurant where you can go in and sit to enjoy a meal, but I do not like being around people and going out to restaurants is very hard for me to do and to be able to enjoy it. I am very timid around people due to my history with people. So, I stay to myself as much as possible. I absolutely have tried many take out places and love to eat take-out food! But The Corner Kitchen beats all of the places that I have ever had take out.

I absolutely love their pizzas! This place has thee best pizza that I can find anywhere. The crust is crisp every time and there is something special about the sauce that they use on the pizza. They tried to change it once, but they took it right back to the original almost immediately. Their fish is phenomenal! You couldn’t find a better haddock anywhere. I don’t know what oil they use to deep fry it with, but that fish is thee best around. The fried mushrooms are excellent with a crisp outside and that first bite you get a squirt of the mushroom juice sealed nicely inside with the mushroom itself. So you get a bite of that delicious juice with the chewy mushroom that is enclosed inside the crisp breaded covering. The onion rings are out of this world! They are so crisp, and the onions are big, thickly cut and sweet!

The people who run The Corner Kitchen are a great group of people. The people who run this place take good care of their customers. They are kind and courteous. They work hard, long hours to please the people around them. They have expanded to delivery service, which a god send to me! This is one small business that has survived the Covid era! That means a lot today. People can still enjoy that one of a kind cooking that you will not find in any other place around.

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Tina Miller

I have always written. Since I can remember I have kept a diary. Now I just want to show my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.