Feast logo

Eating well underway

Keto friendly

By Trisha HochreiterPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I scroll through all the pictures in my phone it’s hard to pick just one subject. I am a photographer, so I have photos of my mom’s dog, landscapes, my friends, flights I have taken, you name it I probably have at least one picture of it. But right now, my favorite shots are my food preparation and meals. This is very important to me because I live on a sailboat and plan to sail around the world within the next couple of years with my boyfriend. When I think about actually leaving it makes me think that so many people have this dream, but how many people really do it and do it? It takes a lot of courage to up and leave a “normal” life doing the same thing every day or they have young kids. I think it’s the same idea of having kids “there is no perfect time,” you can only prepare as much as you can and just do it!

There are so many challenges to sailing around the world, money, will you get bored, things breaking in the middles of the ocean, but one my biggest ones are cooking and in small spaces! I worked on yachts and mega yachts for over 10 years with owners that have unlimited budgets and amazing chefs that can cook to every type of food tastes and diet restrictions! When I got home, I had to learn how to grocery shop for just me and prepare my own meals. I started cooking meals that were simple and tasted ok, but the problem was I started gaining weight and spending way too much money on products that I couldn’t even find just anywhere. After talking to a few people with the same issues they introduced me to the keto diet. At first, I thought this is just another fad diet, which in many ways it probably is. I started my research on what it was about and got excited that it was easy with mostly just taking out carbs and sugars. So, I made some meal plans, went to the grocery store pretty much every day because I always forgot something, and started cooking. It has been a great success! I love the foods with the different seasonings I can eat! My favorite so far is parmesan chicken with pork rinds vs breadcrumbs. To me it actually tastes better!

For the small area to for cooking problem I decided to ask many of my chef friends what I could do to solve this issue. With many great ideas, I ended up switching out the microwave to a convection oven/microwave that has made my baking a breeze while at the dock or on the generator, otherwise I use the propane oven that I have learned to use really well. The other great purchase is the other new fad the “pressure cooker.” I use this pretty much daily for breakfast bites, chicken for lunch, ribs for dinner, and keto raspberry bites for dessert. It’s so easy and fast to cook while I prep more meals. I would say so far, my favorite meal would be ribs! I start them in the pressure cooker and finish them off in the over and good to go!

There is so much more I can do and am still researching. So far, it’s been a huge success: I am saving money, losing weight, learning how to cook healthier on a budget, and I feel amazing!

First step down to preparing for sailing around the world! I really hope that everyone follows their dreams one day!

Trisha

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.