Feast logo

Dreamlike Sustenance

I haven’t got any choice over my 'perfect dinner party' guest selection whatsoever. They have decided to choose themselves.

By Tammy WakefordPublished 4 years ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
5

As I sit alone at the table wondering who I’ll have at my perfect dinner party, I wait with bated breathe for each and every person to arrive in my mind’s eye. They may well be just what I need. That this guest list is purely instinctive, means it may be a reflection of sorts upon my true nature, hopes and dreams, ambitions and values. Let the energies present themselves, the personas emerge. Let the perfectly serendipitous amalgamation begin. I cannot wait.

OF GENERATIONS

To my delight, both my grandmothers enter the room together, arm in arm. They smile down at me as they approach. Kissing me in turn, they take their seats either side of me.

I grew up with only one grandmother. She helped mould my upbringing, with her legacy always acting as a backdrop to familial context. She was beautiful, had ideas and opinions seemingly apart from her generation, and in her personal life she loved nothing better than being a socialite. I remember her having sparkling gold glitter wallpaper in her lounge, with a fabulous cream leather bar offset in the corner. She was in her prime during the 1950s and had the glamorous ‘movie-star’ qualities about her for sure. She always smelt delicious and dressed up for an occasion.

In contrast, my other grandmother had passed away the year before I was born. Throughout my life I heard many people talk about her. In a way I feel I absorbed her energies, even though I was never privileged enough to have met her. Being a slightly earlier generation, this grandmother had a 1940s vibe going on. She had served in WWII, had grown up on a farm, and every person who ever knew her only had positive things to say; describing her as warm, loving, kind, funny and generous. She loved Jazz music and adored Marzipan.

@thethatvirgomoon

SETTING THE STAGE

In walks Judy Garland. I catch my breath. Compose myself. I stand to greet her, inviting her to take a seat. She’s glamorous, in that perfectly vintage way; yet maintains that homely, sweetness; that gentle, girl-next-door persona I so love. I feel we could be friends. I see also a depth. Her heart, although sparkling, is heavy. Her soul, despite its palpable hope, is wise to the perils of this world. I feel she’ll have much to share. From her I’ll learn. And if I’m incredibly lucky, she’ll even offer to sing. She takes a sip of champagne and we begin chatting. I try to sound casual, whilst resisting the urge to show off my Wizard of Oz and Meet Me in St Louis quotes. I manage to hold myself together.

VINTAGE VIBE

With that, footsteps can be heard entering the room. We look up to see Edith Piaf at the door. I’m getting accustomed to all this surprise now. I laugh at the absurdity and invite her to take a seat. The mood darkens somewhat and I can’t help but feel a tad more sophisticated in her company. I’m reminded of life love battles fought and lost. In the melancholic air, I feel both sentimental and resigned to the bitter-sweet truth of a life lived in all its achingly exquisite glory. We turn the lights down low, softening the atmosphere; it becomes tender, nostalgic, intimate. I dig deep, finding the audacity, and tentatively suggest Judy and Edith might like to give us a duet. They exchange a knowing glance. We all know that this would be perfection.

ICON OF AN ERA

Despite the stars already gracing me with their presence, with that the stage is stolen by the entrance of Wonder Woman. We all turn to stare. I am dumbstruck and cannot move. She has been my icon since forever. I hold the hands of my grandmothers still sat either side of me. We look at one another in disbelief. Vintage glamour is most certainly the theme in full play here, yet this refreshingly powerful feminine energy has brightened the focus, completely. Imbuing a palpable feeling of excitement, of awe, of daring, she is sure to inspire some grand thinking amongst us all this evening. Instilling the idea that adventures are possible, she’ll be sure to break us out of any timidity, of any stagnancy, inspiring momentum and a belief in possibility. I am excited to see what will unfold.

ARTISTRY NOW

In light of this appreciation for individual creative energy, seizing the perfect moment, Bjork enters the room. I feel instantly that she will fit easily amongst us. I offer her a seat. She’ll merge fluidly with these minds I am sure, whilst bringing her distinctive edge of obscure expression, that which will be both accepted and allowed room to breathe. Here it is time to consider the epitome of abstract experimentation and its consequent cognitive adventure. For in the spirit of full circles, we can explore all manner of ideas, dreams, feelings within the cherished company of all these exceptionally open minds. Each creative; each complex; yet each sitting apart from, whilst embracing the thought that perhaps growth, improvement, evolution can only develop in conjunction with the similarly abstract mind of another. It is to be a mind-expanding evening.

COMPANIONABLE

It feels like there is surely room for one more. One more would make us eight. With that, I see a familiar face inching around the door. She smiles at me, and I get up to welcome her, a grounding familiarity appreciated amongst such otherworldly beauty and wonder. Here stands my best friend. I need her with me and I know she’ll relish the experience alongside me too. Not only to share the majesty of the ridiculous moment we've found ourselves in, but in also being someone to relive this glorious event with when it's done. She too enjoys random conversations with a length and breadth in keeping with our surreal company. She raises her eyebrows as if to say I’m just going with this ok? I shrug my shoulders. There's nothing else for it. She takes her seat and as I knew she’d do, she begins a conversation. What’s at the end of the universe? She asks. Perhaps we could all meet up there someday for dinner instead.

@thethatvirgomoon

Originally written for the 'Dinner Party' challenge 2021. ©

humanity
5

About the Creator

Tammy Wakeford

Mother to a teenager, three cats and a dog. I nurse by day; but writing is where my heart truly lives.

X, Instagram and Tripadvisor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.