Feast logo

Cake vs Pie

My opinion on whats better, cake or pie?

By Tenia ParkerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

What’s better cake or pie?

That’s an obvious answer it’s cake of course- oh look! I spy with my little eye a pie lover about to cry. Awe, that’s a shame. Oh well now I can’t make a bold statement like that and just leave it. I will continue by explaining myself and slowly trying to convince you that I’m right, which I am.

First let’s discuss what both of them have, variety.

I could get any flavor cake or I could get any flavor pie, and I guess the only problem with that would be you have so many options that it might become a tad too much when it comes to deciding. But, that’s why we have layered cakes so you could pick three or more layers to enjoy. Sadly there aren’t any layers pies.

Next is the frosting and or filling.

Cake can have many types of frosting to pair with its many layers of different cakes, that’s a basic that we all know but another thing that makes cake one of the elites is that, there can be fillings inside as well. Yeah yeah I hear you, frosting could be considered a filling but my grandma says other wise and she’s been alive longer than you so long story short. You’re wrong. I will say that fillings for cakes do seem somewhat limited, of course you don’t want a soggy cake so you have to make sure the filing is thick enough to stay in place but soft and airy enough that it’s blends in and melts in your mouth with the cake.

Now it’s obvious that the main appeal to a pie is the filling, because that’s all there is to it. It’s crust and pie, that’s it. However, pies do have more variety in filling options. And that’s basically all I have to say about that so, moving on.

The presentation of these foods- matter fact the presentation of all foods is very important because we eat with our eyes first.

Cake can be short or tall, have little or lots of frosting, it can even have a theme in which there’s fondant that creates the flowers or whatever you want. So the presentation of a cake can be generalized or personalized depending on the event.

Pie is just one shape, a circle. I will say though, it can have different pretty arrangements of dough on the top and that really does seal the deal. Did I meant ion that cake can be different shapes? I don’t think I did but that’s probably because I was so overwhelmed with all the beautiful wonders of cake that it slipped my mind.

The last thing I want to talk about is eating. Which is the best part.

When eating a cake you can have one slice and because it’s so thick and rich with flavor you won’t eat anymore or because it’s so light and fluffy you’ll eat more. You have two options here and both are pretty good if you ask me, who doesn’t want to eat a rich cake that satisfies their cravings? And who doesn’t want to eat a light cake that satisfies them but keeps them begging for more? Literally no one, you can’t point nor think about one single person that wouldn’t be delighted with either result including yourself. Because you may say that you’re a pie lover but when you get a whiff of that fresh baked chocolate cake, that pecan pie isn’t even a thought to keep you from staring at its glory. You my friend are no loyal, and that’s a crime but I won’t tell anyone..yet.

I’ve said many times before, pie is pie. You eat a slice and it pretty much depends on the bold flavor of the filling. If it’s tolerable you could eat another slice and if it’s too much you barely finish the first one. Now that I think about it pie is very simple so I suppose that’s a good thing for some people and oils be why they gravitate towards them.

To finish this up I would like to say it obviously doesn’t matter if you like cake or pie, but if you like both. You should be ashamed of yourself for not sharing that wonderful option to those who actually consider this topic to be something to get angry about.

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Tenia Parker

sharing thoughts through poetry

Ig : ambivert.aura

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.